Ginger

“Much Ado About Nothing”

I just sat and watched this movie. It is of course the Shakesperian Play adapted for screen by Kenneth Branagh. I beleive this movie was made when he and Emma Thompson were still married. Don’t quote me on that one…but I didn’t feel like going out and checking the facts……

It has an interesting cast of characters….Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Michael Keaton (of Beetlejuice fame), Robert Sean Leanard (currently acting in the Fox Show “House”..He is Dr. Wilson, oncoclogist),Keanu Reeves (Speed and Matrix) and Denzel Washington (first movie he agreed to do after doing Malcom X).

Branagh said one didn’t need a British accent to do Shakespeare….and they did a good job potraying the character’s in this comedy.

I was hoping to sit and watch it with my daughter until the first seen when the troops arrive….they proceeded to stip down and jump into the cistern or large pool….you saw a lot of naked buttocks then……so needless to say she was ushered out of the room.

I did enjoy the movie……Branagh did an outstanding job in adapting it to the screen. I think you might need to like Shakespeare to enjoy this movie though. The dialogue is fast paced in most parts…and you need to listen closely……

Maybe at a later date my daughter and I will watch the movie…..but not at present.

February 19, 2007 - Posted by | Movies

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds interesting. I may just see if Blockbusters has this and rent it. I’ll have to let the kids rent a movie for themselves as well or they’ll want to watch w/me….not at this time.

    Comment by Elaine | February 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. Maybe I could add this to the end of our Shakespeare class for fun. The kids are tired of the tragedies.

    Thanks for the review:)

    Comment by seeker86 | February 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

