Ginger

Cardamom/Cardamon

CARDAMON is a spice that can be used as you do cinnamon and cloves. It is excellent either alone or in combination with other spices. It is particularly good in recipes calling for honey. Cardamon loses flavor very quickly. Therefore it should be freshly ground each time it is used.

Elettaria cardamomum Maton
Cardamon (or cardamon), the dried fruit of a plant of the ginger family, is the world’s second-most-precious spice. It yields not more than 250 pounds of pods per acre and these capsules must be snipped from the plant with scissors. The pods are the size of a large pea and each contains from 17 to 20 tiiny aromatic black seeds.

Cardamon Seed is native to India and a favorite in that country. vikings discovered it in their travels a thousand years ago; that is why it has been a preferred spice in Scandinavian dishes for many centuries and why all genuine Danish pastry carries the faint aroma at Cardamon.

Cardamom seed is available either in the pod or decorticated (outer pods removed). Both pods and decorticated Cardamom can be obtained either whole or ground. Most Cardamom pods seem in this country are buff colored, meaning they have been bleached. Green colored pods are simply unbleached; the seeds inside are the same. Cardamom Seeds (with outer pods removed) should be used sparingly. They give delightful flavor to baked goods, apple and pumpkin pies and are one of the important spices in an authentic Indian curry.

This infromation was obtained from the folowing website…….

http://food.oregonstate.edu/spiceherb/cardamon.html

February 22, 2007 - Posted by | Food/Recipes

4 Comments »

  1. I really didn’t know that much about this spice. Thanks for the info…I think that I have some that I was going to use over the holidays but didn’t. I need to use it before it isn’t usable.

    Comment by Elaine | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. If it has all ready been ground up as a spice….I think you should be okay….I have had mine awhile and it didn’t seem to loose any of it’s potency….I do prefer the fresh but it has been hard to come by and I am not paying the ridiculous price in the grocery store now that I know I can pick it up at the Halal Market….I love the way it taste.
    I didn’t know about the Vikings…I did notice it in several Scandinavian recipes I had come across…I thought that was cool….

    Comment by gingerporter | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. That is interesting Ginger. I thought cardamon was nutmeg. I love nutmeg and put a bit of it in my pot of navy beans.
    OK…once you have cracked the pod open, you just put the little seed or seeds in your pot of tea?
    I’ve been looking into juniper berries (yes,the one they make gin with…but believe me that is not why I am looking!) Juniper berry is a spice used more in Europe than here…so hard to find as well.

    Comment by Sheri | February 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. Online link for buying Cardamon…..not bad price wise…lasts a long time….
    http://www.mothernature.com/search/index.cfm?query=cardamon&Type=Products

    Comment by gingerporter | February 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

