Ginger

Today’s Life Adventure

It didn’t start out well with the headache and neck pain I was having.  It was pretty bad….I had to cancel piano and layed down on the couch for a couple of hours.  Finally by around 12:30/1:00 it had stopped hurting. 

The kids quietly worked while I was on the couch…..The repair man for the AC/Heating showed up around 4:00….the poor guy didn’t leave until around 9:30 and he still has to come back tomorrow.  It has something to do with the dryer unit that is attached to the the AC/Heating unit.  It needed to be bidirectional…since heat pumps double as cooling when switched to AC.  The one given to him was one directional…..tomorrow he has to drain the system of all the freon he put in, remove that piece then recharge the sytem again……Randy says that AC/Heating is a black art….it is made for the laymen to not understand or to be able to repair…….

I believe the gentleman is Pakistani….so we he and I were talking about a possible mutal acquaintence….It would be pretty cool if this is the same family….I lost touch with them quite a few years ago and would love to see them again.

I had made a pot of loose leaf Darjeeling with Cardamon and offered him a cuppa tea….It was pretty chilly from the wind here….especially since th esun had gone down….and He was quite surpised at how good it was and how much like traditional Pakistani made tea….I told him that was due to Mrs Khan….the dear lady would make me pot after pot of tea when I would visit her.

He suggested trying the Halal or India market in Woodbridge to find some loose tea that I maight like…….I know that I can get fresh Cardamon much,much cheaper at the Halal Market then any American grocery.

Since I don’t have any fresh…I just used the crushed cardamon.  It adds such a heavenly taste to the tea…it is in the ginger famiy of spices and can be used the same way you would use cinnamon or cloves.  It looses it’s flavor quickly so should be used freshly ground each time.

Mrs Khan would always crack the pod open then just dump it into the boiling tea when she was making it.Don’t use alot…it is very strong.

February 22, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life

3 Comments »

  1. Sounds like an interesting day. Glad the headache passed.

    Comment by Elaine | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks….I am going to have to go to the doctor…all though I keep saying that….

    Comment by gingerporter | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  3. It sounds like you had a very good visit with the H/VAC repairman. I hope that he is able to help you re-aquaint with your friends. That would be really cool! Such a God Thing!

    The tea sounds good. I need to see if I can find a source for loose teas here!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | February 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

