Ginger

So much for playing in the snow today……

The boys were told to clean up the kitchen last night….which they half did.

So I left the rest of the mess for them to clean up….I was going to keep them up doing it but Hubby said no, make them go to bed.  

When they got up, they ate breakfast then spent the morning and early afternoon “re-cleaning” the kitchen to the the specs that mommy likes.

The rest of the dishes were handwashed, then the counters were all wiped down and the floor swept. They now have the responsibility of doing the kitchen after each meal for this week.  DD will be responsible for unloading the dishwasher and they have to do the rest.

Onto DD….She was told to clean the bathroom…..everything got stufffed under the counter and in the closet….what she was told to do wasn’t done…she now has to do the bathroom everyday….She was told again today to do the bathroom and again it was half doneWhen they finish cleaning up from lunch, she and I will go back into the bathroom and while I sit on the tub I will direct her again to the proper cleaning of the bathroom.

I hate that we are even having to do this….it is such a waste of time….especially mine if I am having to stand over them directing. This is where my frustration comes in because there is so much more that I need to be doing. But this is all a part of their training to being responsible people.

These are skills they will carry with them into adulthood when they are living out on their own.  I want them to care  about their surroundings and how they live…..they may move out and live like slobs…but at least they will have the skills to manage and clean what they mess up.

The boys will also be preparing dinner this week under my supervision and guidance…….any one who knows me will know that the greater part of this lesson will be whether or not I can keep from taking over….I have been told that I have a tendency to micromanage projects…..

A fact that my children have even picked up on…..they have learned that if they can just frustrate me…I will take over sweeping the floor or wiping down the counters or cleaning the toilet.

You know it’s bad when they even tell people that come over….if mommy goes to show you how to do something….just go sit down because she will do it all…………….hmmmm

Mommy is trying to get out of that one…..but I did get my daughter back on that one….she was sweeping the floor with the broom and swishing everything up into the air….again I stopped her and showed her how to hold the broom down and sweep without spraying everything into the air in the kitchen.  She went and sat down at the table…..I knew what was running thru her head…so I took the broom and spread all the dirt back around the floor after just sweeping it into a nice pile…then looked at her and smiled…I handed her the broom and said now sweep it again…..The look on her face was priceless…..

What’s a mother to do when her children figure out how to use your little quirks to their advantage……definitely keep them off balance….that’s all you can do…….but I love them too much to not make sure they know how to take care of themselves and their future spouses and children.

I could write forever on this topic alone…..I am the only one that really cares how my children grow up…..so i guess I will write what I want….

One more thing then I will stop…..while the boys were getting the veggies cut up for the baked stew….CR starts to sing the song from the Swedish Chef from the Muppet show…they were having a ball in there…CR and RR singing the Swedish chef’s “Bork,Bork” song…….Okay…You would have to appreciate the Muppet’s to really get that one…….

Just in case someone else reads this and is wondering….My children are of an age to have and be responsible…..they are 10,11 and 13.  Sooooo

February 26, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life

6 Comments »

  1. The idea of you re-spreading the dirt for the Dd to sweep up after your demonstration is fabulous! Certainly made me giggle. Mine have responsibilities too. (age linked of course)
    My 8yr old Ds has to clean the main bathroom and toilet. Dd does my bathroom and toilet. (I still do the main part, they just wipe down bench surfaces, put things away, make sure towels are hung and bath mats picked up, and give the toilets a qucik going over.)

    The little one has less to do but he’s only 4. I ended up banning my kids from helping with the kitchen duties. (Guess I suffer from micromanagment too) I couldn’t stand the mess of my cupboards. I have very little spcae, so things have to go in a very particular place. Children just don’t get it. And since Dh decided the children had to go back to school, they now have to have all their chores done BEFORE they leave for school.
    Mean mother aren’t I?

    Comment by Bekki | February 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. I love your idea of spreading the mess back out for the Dd to tend to. That must have totally shocked her! Those kids think they have us all figured out….just gotta throw them for a loop every now and then!

    We have been dealing with a lot of the same issues lately with the Dc being lazy and doing their chores haphazardly! It is so very frustrating! We just keep revisiting the same issues!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | February 26, 2007 | Reply

  3. I can relate to this as well Ginger. I just love what you did w/ your dd and sweeping the kitchen. Show them exactly how to do it and then put the dirt all back for them to do properly.

    Keep up the great, you are an inspiration to me. 🙂

    Comment by Elaine | February 26, 2007 | Reply

  4. It was inspiring all right…:grin: I really need to have the camera ready if that happens again….today went well though…with the boys at least….DD will be doing the bathroom all week at this rate….:???:

    Comment by gingerporter | February 27, 2007 | Reply

  5. Oh Ginger it is to bad that you never got to come down so we could meet . We are so much alike. I am so bad to take over when the girls are not doing something up to my standards. I really need to work on that. They too have learned that if they do it wrong long enough that mom will complete the task.

    Comment by fourhisglory | February 27, 2007 | Reply

  6. there is absolutely nothing like doing it and showing them then going back and messing it up…..just so they can redo it….The look on their faces is beyond priceless……They don’t push that tactic so much anymore…..Colleen tried it again one time….and I had just refinished potting some plants….so..after showing her again how not to swish all the dirt into the air…I spread it back down then added some “Dirt”..aka potting soil to the floor….poor girl..stood there stuttering.

    But it did get my point across…….

    Comment by gingerporter | February 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

