Ginger

I’m starting a new Bible Study

I started a new Bible study today.  If you are interested, it is “Key Truths for Women…Essentials for Spiritual Growth” by Martha Tyler. There is a whole series of Women’s Studies series offered thru the Regular Baptist Press.

http://www.rbpstore.org/?sr=www.regularbaptistpress.org&a=RBPHome

Of course, wouldn’t you know…..the first lesson is on anger…..It’s funny how that works…..I didn’t think I was really angry about anything….until I really got into the lesson.  It amazes me how many things were brought to mind….I’m not just angry…..inside my heart there sits a raging inferno of anger….a volcano waiting for that final tectonic plate to move so the magma can rush upwards or explode outwards.

We have all seen the result of the kind of volcanic eruption that was exhibited when Mt. St. Helens blew out the side wall….we have read in history the destruction of Mt Vesuvious on Pompei….sometimes anger can feel that way…..

Is it any wonder God’s word is filled with so many warnings about anger,being angry and why God calls an angry man foolish and despised.

If you are really curious…and have a Naves Topical Bible(everyone should have Naves or access to E-Sword …it’s elctronic and free)or a Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance…..peruse the number of verses on those two lovely words.

Anger is not necessarily a bad thing….I’ve read that righteous anger can be good…but how many of us can honestly say that we are righteously angry? For the most part….anger has gotten a lot of people in trouble in the Bible.

The first murder in the Bible took place because one brother was angry with the other brother……..I think God was warning us….that is why there are so many verse in the Bible about being slow to anger.

Even when we try to justify our anger, our rationalization does not make it right. Consider, that the Bible teaches that unresolved anger and resentment are as serious as murder….again…anger is the root of many crimes, as well as the cause of alot of family problems.

Anger can show up in many forms….it doesn’t have to be blatantly red faced, spewing steam from the ears kind of anger….it can appear in the form of “smoldering resentment” or “covered hurt”. Anger takes our focus off of God…..”Anger comes with  high costs. It can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to the vessel on which it is poured.”

That is such a good quote….I like it so much I am going to say it again….”Anger comes with high costs. It can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to the vessel on which it is poured.”

That particular statement I learned thru my own life experiences….with all the abuse I grew up with…physically beaten, sexually abused, verbally abused….I was angry and bitter.  It took a missionary preaching at my little Bible College to get me to see that all that anger was only eating me up…I could not project any of that anger onto the people that hurt me…they could care less if I was angry with them….so I went back to my dorm room got down on my knees and knelt by my bedside….and cried out to God to take all of that hurt and anger and bitterness from my heart…..I asked God to help me to see those people and to love those people the way HIS SON loved them.  I didn’t have it in me to forgive or love….but God kept HIS word…and He gave me the forgiveness and the love for those people.

I am going to stop here and continue with this tomorrow….but I would like to leave you with some verses to look up and see just what God has to say about anger….write the verses down…go back later and read thru them….you may not be angry now….but if you have any hidden anger that you are harboring…..God will root it out….if you don’t want to know if you are angry….then keep your head buried and don’t peek….if you do it’s on you….don’t say I didn’t warn you….

  1. Ephesians 4:26-27
  2. Ephesians 4:29
  3. Ephesians 4:32
  4. Psalm 37:8
  5. Proverbs 14:29
  6. Proverbs 15:1,2,4
  7. Proverbs 19:11
  8. Proverbs 17:4
  9. Proverbs 19:19
  10. Proverbs 29:20
  11. Proverbs 15:18
  12. Proverbs 22:24,25
  13. Matthew 5:9
  14. Proverbs 12:16
  15. James 1:19-20
  16. Ecclesiastes 7:9
  17. Romans 12:17-21

These are verses that are used thru out the lesson….Happy reading…..Oh…anything that was in quotes, was quoted from the book…I wasn’t that smart to say it quite that eloquently…..give due credit where  credit is due…..Oh….and Yes…God has opened my eyes to the things that I have been harboring anger towards….and it wasn’t until I read one statement in this little book that I realized a great truth….I’m not going to say what it is yet….I am still digesting that little morsel….see ya later….

March 1, 2007 - Posted by | Bible Study

3 Comments »

  1. A study on anger? Why is it that just when you need something, the Lord says, “hey look over here….see this? No, I mean really look? KWIM? Okay, now go…do…why are you still looking?”

    Talk about the proverbial kick in the pants….

    I’d love to know what statement led to realisation. (I don’t want to know what it made you realise, that’s personal, just what passge caused the lightbulb moment?)

    Comment by Bekki | March 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’m getting there….I hope to finish it tonight…a friend needed to go shopping so I went with her instead of finishing…..Thank You….I am with you…I had no clue when I pulled that off my bookshelf that it would be on anger. I have really needed it myself.

    Rereading those verses…many of which I had memorized at one point…really gave me a kick in the pants.

    Comment by gingerporter | March 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. Anger is something that can be so ugly that it hurts to look at it. It is an emotion that if let go should not be looked at w/o the protection and direction of the Holy Spirit. It takes His love, mercy and grace to see anger for what it truly is and what it does..

    I’m glad that this study is helping you. God obviously wanted you to deal with this first.

    Comment by Elaine | March 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

