Ginger

Bread Making Marathon

It just so happens that a friend brought me 50lbs of flour…..20(wheat),20(white) and 10 in pastry….

I just got off the phone with another friend of mine…..they have no food….her husband hasn’t been paid since December…..and they need bread milk and eggs.  I have two boxes of powdered milk, 15 dozen eggs and of course all that flour…..So the kids and I are going to use Tresses bread recipe and make up several loaves of bread to take over.

My heart breaks for her…..her daughter was at Mary Baldwin College and finally quit…..apparently the harassment was so bad she had a nervous breakdown…she is now home and has refused to come out of her room for two weeks….she hasn’t eaten and her dad won’t come home due to the money problems. He drives a truck hauling cars around for auctions and dealerships…..Oh, did I mention this family has 8 kids?

Her family are telling her to kick her husband out and divorce him…. …he is working for a guy that is refusing to pay him…he has over $28,ooo.oo dollars in invoices that this guy owes them  and he keeps coming up with excuses not to pay him.  His wife has been telling him to stop working for this guy.He won’t hear anything bad about him and refused to quit working for free….. Her husband hasn’t wanted to come home because he doesn’t want to hear my friend yelling at him anymore….sooo, she asked if she could call and yell at me about her husband …She hasn’t wanted to call because she didn’t want to dump on me…..I told her that I truly believe that is why God put me here…..so that everyone else would have someone to dump on….My sister told me that I am easy to dump on because I listen so well. I don’t judge and don’t give advice or opinions unless it is requested. She said I always try to be encouraging and try to find something positive even if it seems like my positive is grasping for straws.I think I will have a hat made up that says “Hello, I am a dumpee…I have linebacker shoulders so they can take it.”

She is always trying to build her husband up and be positive but she has reached the bottom and cannot see any way out of this valley……She is working two jobs and is very sick.

I wish I could do more for them…..but this will have to do….and the bread will help.  If she didn’t have strep I would have her come over and help…teach her how to make bread…If anyone reads this…please pray for this family…….

March 16, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life

8 Comments »

  1. This is a rough situation but you are a light in the darkness. What a blessing it is to have friends who will bring food when times are tough and listen when we need to yell. May you be blessed richly for your willingness to be such a good friend.

    Comment by barbchan | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Yep, what barb said.
    You said you’re not the brightest bulb in the box,, well honey, you sure are the warmest.

    Comment by Bekki | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. Thanks Ladies…..but I found out after making wheat bread that they don’t eat wheat bread…….

    Comment by gingerporter | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. First, you are a wonderful friend. 🙂

    Second, If your friend’s family is hungry they should appreciate any food – that said I don’t know if they have allergies to wheat.

    Comment by Elaine | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hi Ginger…

    I was so happy to have some time to sit down tonight and read up on things!

    I’m missing ya!

    hugs,
    Roberta

    Comment by songbirdy | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. Hey Roberta….I know how you feel…..I have been absent and trying to catch up on everyones blogs…..You are on my list to visit next.

    I just open about half of them in new tabs…then go down the line.

    Thanks for stopping by….so….when are you ready for another marathon phone call…..lolol…?

    Comment by gingerporter | March 16, 2007 | Reply

  7. If you get this in time, call me on the 2oth in the evening… I’ll have been house shopping that morning 🙂

    I’m usually always ready for a phone call! I even got me a cushion by the phone now 🙂

    Hugs… I’ve been reading about the potential news. Prayers!

    Comment by songbirdy | March 19, 2007 | Reply

  8. I am so sorry I missed your calls!!!

    My father forgot to tell my mother he had to drive us home… and well, we didn’t leave their house until nearly 10 p.m.!!!

    I blogged about the house shopping so far!

    Do you have my personal e-mail? I can call you some time as well…

    Comment by songbirdy | March 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

