Ginger

Congratulations to my Daughter…

My darling daughter, Colleen, entered a student poetry contest held by the “Poetry Society of Virginia.”

We were just notified that she received a second honorable mention for her poem “Orange Poetry.”

Congratulations Colleen…..Mom and Dad are very proud of you. Continue your writing……you did a great job!!!

~ Orange Poetry ~

by Colleen

Have you ever heard a poem;
A riddle or a rhyme,
That used a certain silly word in any of it’s lines?
What do you mean?
I hear you ask,
You think me quite absurd.
What else could it be but Orange,
That no-rhyme kind of word.

Do you remember eating an Orange,
On a sunny summers day,
Or when the red and Orange sun
Would give light so you could play?
You may not have realized yet-
But to me it’s plainly clear;
That though Orange is appreciated,
It’s not ‘held dear’.

Now Orange has a poem-
It can call it’s own.
Although it’s really not that good,
And a lack of knowledge is shown.
I must admit,
I am quite proud,
To have created such a rhyme
Why, I used Orange at least six times.

Here is the other poem she sent along with the Orange Poem.  I quite like this one also…but am not sure which one is my favorite.

~VISIONS~

by Colleen


Silver moonlight, silver sands,
The wind tossed ocean, gleaming and dark.
The murmur of ripples, the crashing of waves,
They leave on the shore their weaving mark.

Why must I share these visions,
With those who do not care?
Who see them as nothing but pretty words
Sent drifting through the air.

A deafening burst of thunder,
The constant, pattering of rain
A golden streak of lightening,
Illuminates a gray, dark plain.

What a cruel fate it is;
That I alone can see.
The meaning of these simple rhymes
And what they mean to me.

Majestic mountains rising
To meet a clear, blue sky.
The sunlight bathes their snow capped peaks
From below an eagle flies.

Stop and think for a moment,
On the meaning of each line.
To me these thoughts are breathing
For truly these thoughts are mine.

March 25, 2007 - Posted by | Homeschooling, Just Life, Observances, Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Wow thaose are really cool!!!! I’m so proud. I can remember my days as a poet. Keep up the great work!

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | March 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. I aam very proud of you Colleen, keep up the good work.

    Comment by celticmuse | March 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. Very good poems, Colleen! You did a great job.
    Congratulations!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | March 25, 2007 | Reply

  4. Congratulations, Colleen!!!

    Comment by apuritanlady | March 26, 2007 | Reply

  5. Congratulations Colleen! 🙂

    Comment by Sheri | March 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

