Ginger

Lifes Little Upheaval’s

It has been a few days since I have been here and written anything. It all started last Wednesday. We got a call from my FIL. He was home and by himself….which means he up and left my MIL in Florida. Okay…….

My MIL suffers from Bi-Polar disorder……I think that pretty much says it all.

My FIL left on Saturday to go back to Florida to pick her up……this fills me with fear and trepidation…..especially in the current mood she is in.

My husband spent Friday night at my FIL’s house talking with him about his mother. His dad asked if his mother has been asking for the vehicles back…and He replied yes. My FIL asked my husband to please just ignore that and know that the vehicles were given with no strings attached and they were ours to do with as we pleased.

First they gave us their 1984 Bronco…this was to replace the 1982 Cadillac Cimmaron that my husband was driving that was on it’s last legs. It was just a vehicle to get him back and forth to the commuter lot where he slugs in to work each day. WE caught so much grief over that car….our mechanic would glue a new caddy emblem on the car every time we had it in the shop. It became quite the joke around here……When you figure that we only paid $350 for the car and probably put in $1000. of maintenance over the four years we had it…….Well, that wasn’t too bad. It needed a break job and Jim the Mechanic called and told mu husband the break job that the “Caddy” would need was going to cost way more than the car was worth.

So we donated it to the local fire dept for demo and rescue practice. They are so funny when getting a car…they even invite you out to watch the rescue training and the demoing of said car. I will need to find a picture of that car and post it. It was definitely a classic……

Then my 1995 Buik Le Sabre blew up….we knew the tranny was going but it was the engine that went first much to our surprise. We had the car for 8 years. We are a single income family living in Northern VA and there was no way I was going to go out and incur another debt when we were so close to being debt free. His father called us and wanted my husband to bring us up to this dealer to try out some vans before he bought one. My FIL bought us our new van…well it is 4 years old and we’ve had it for 3 years. That was so awesome and generous of them…We were profusely thankful….His dad wanted us to know that it was ours, no strings attached….we didn’t owe them anything…..you get the idea.

Last year my FIL was trading in his truck. He had a 1999 Ford F150. The problem with it…was the leg room for his grandkids. He needed a little bigger truck. So he found one….we were sitting at dinner and I asked if he was trading the old truck in on the new one….He very nonchalantly replied that no…he was going to see if his son would like the truck….My husband, after stuttering said well of course.

That is how we got our vehicles…..and we know that it is an amazing blessing and evidence in how God has watched over us and met our needs….not that we needed 3 vehicles….Now his mother is always bringing up the fact that they gave us the vehicles and she would like one of them back since she was left in Florida with no vehicle….any way…..back to the conversation between hubby and FIL.

My hubby proceeds to tell his dad that he needed to tell him about the bronco. His dad said that wasn’t necessary. But my hubby said yes it was…It could have an impact on his life.

When his mother saw a friend of ours driving the bronco…she was taking her EMT classes for recertification. This was a requirement for her to run with the local Fire and Rescue. He told his dad that if he ever has to call 911 on a Sunday or Monday night…..well, that rescue squad is staffed thanks to our loaning of said bronco, and odds were he would get our friend as the lead EMT on scene….they would end up with Wendi.

His mom doesn’t like Wendi…….sooooo…..I would so love to be a fly on the wall if that happens. She would refuse transport. His dad thought it was priceless....My hubby is still chuckling over this.

On another note……My sister Peaches has helped her hubby start a blog on his race car. If you are so inclined to do so…go check it out and give him a pat on the back and wish him good luck.

Jeff’s race car blog…..Arrow Dynamix

I will be finishing a few things here this week……I haven’t been able to focus on some of the things I started here….and should be be able to complete them this week……Thanks for hanging around and coming back to visit.

April 8, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life, Marriage, Observances, Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Just know that there are many praying for you and this situation. (((hugs)))

    Comment by Elaine | April 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hey Ginger 🙂 Funny how things work out sometimes.

    Comment by Sheri | April 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. I know there must be some good that will come out of all this for your family, Ginger. You just need to continue to do what you need to do to protect the Dc from all the ugliness right now. Lean on your friends & the Lord for strength! I am praying for you and Randy & the kids. Also praying for wisdom for FIL. (((HUGS)))

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | April 9, 2007 | Reply

  4. just popping in to see if my picture works

    Comment by celticmuse | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

