Ginger

Stress….the Ugly Side of Life…Part I

Some are aware of the stress our family has been undergoing….others are not…..I have a bipolar mother-in-law……need I say more.

Stress can do strange things to a person…..loss of sleep,appetite,make one edgy, cranky and hair loss….I am loosing my hair, strand by strand. So I joined the Long Hair Community to hopefully stem that problem. They are an informative bunch of people who are very serious about their hair. Worth checking out…..If you are interested and there are men on that board who happen to like long hair also…..just so you know.

Stress can apparently extend a women’s cycle…..at least that is what my husband is thinking. I was leaning more towards the perimenopause issue but he says not…for some reason he thinks to know this (go figure, only a man would be brave or foolish enough to make such a statement)…It would fit with the hair loss but I am not experiencing any other symptom. Which doesn’t mean that isn’t my current problem though.

I am going into my fourth….not hour, not day but week…..my fourth week of cycle!!!I am not happy about this…..no I am not!!! Nor is my husband…wink, wink…:).

My daughter heard me discussing this and her face blanched…..she just looked at me with her eyes wide. Her only comment was in question form….”Four Weeks??!!”…..and it was rather squeaky at that…..:)

I have never had any discomfort….none of the normal pains that most women experience with this “blessing” that was bestowed upon us due to Adam and Eve’s sin…..It has only been in that last few years (read 2-3) that I have had any discomfort, but even that was only my right leg. My right knee would start to bug me……maybe a little lower back discomfort. I was given some very ugly looks at Lamaze Class when pregnant with Daughter over this issue. When the coach tells you labor is extremely hard menstrual cramps that won’t let up and I am looking at you like dear caught in the headlights…..hmm….I wasn’t looked upon with favor that day………

I don’t know what happened today…..actually it started yesterday, but I had a problem with my right hip. Today I hurt from the hips down….It was so painful when I tried to get up and walk I could barely move. My daughter told the boys to leave me alone….”Mommy isn’t feeling well. She has been on her monthly cycle for 4 weeks !!”

I’m sure you can imagine the looks I received from my two sons who are 9 and 11…….one was slightly confused….the other one figured it out after a minute or two….His comment was based on the amount of bathroom trash that he noticed over the past 3 weeks. All he could say was …”Oh that’s why the trash can is being emptied everyday….Okay.”

He and I inadvertently had this conversation on the way to Wally World one evening, just the two of us. He needed to talk…..mostly that conversation was concerned with when “he would get hair on his chest” but soon digressed to what are those little pouches in the bathroom……I very maturely explained using the terms from the “Grey’s Anatomy ” book and physical process we gals must go thru each month in order to eliminate iron and dead cells…..very basic. His reply was “Thank you…that was probably more information than I needed to know…..and as long as he gets hair on his chest the other doesn’t really impact him”

Boy does he have another thing coming………:)

Anyway….My husband and I were sitting here discussing this issue….He very adamant that this is all stress…..He reminds me that it is probably going to get worse before it gets better if it ever does. It was his next comment though that ……well….wasn’t appreciated to say the least!!!

“So….how do you feel about having a monthly for the next four months!!??”

My reply to such a foolish comment uttered by my husband…….?

“Someone will have to die and it isn’t going to be me…..”

April 23, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life, Marriage, Observances

16 Comments »

  1. You never sieze to amaze me w/the way you put things. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. I try to keep it lighthearted….and really…what else is there to say when your husband is dumb enough to ask you how you feel about a four month cycle….Helloooo…..lolol

    I’m glad you enjoyed it….Thanks for visiting me…:)

    Comment by gingerporter | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Having had a 3 month cycle not once, not twice, but 3 times…..I can confidently say………..It stinks!!! and it is expensive…

    :hug:

    Oh…..and smack him for me! 😆

    Comment by chocolatechic | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. CC…I would gladly smack him for you…but since it is hard to reach his face, would a gut punch work….That I can do quite well….:)

    Comment by gingerporter | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. I know that you work to down play it. I even understand your doing it. I would probably do the same thing or I just a pool of goo. 🙂

    I’m w/CC smack him, do it when he’s sitting down or if it makes you feel better then by all means slug him. That was an uncalled for comment. How would he like to bleed for 4 month??? You could always remind him of the Biblical dealings with such stuff – you would not be able to share his bed, would probably leave the house and of course you can’t fix any of his meals because you are unclean.;)

    See what his reaction is to that……then slug him for all of your sisters. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  6. Oh that’s good Elaine…..I think I will just let him read the comments…..He should know not mess with the DYer’s…:)

    The funny thing I left out….when he said that…he actually covered his ribs and stomach…..I think he was expecting me to get up and elbow him….:)

    Comment by gingerporter | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  7. oh, my! Not fixing his dinner would do the poor man in for certain. G’s an excellent chef! No food, no attention…yeah…he’s done for!!!

    Call your doctor, hon!

    Comment by APuritanLady | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  8. did you not remember what i told you a couple of days ago? get your thyroid checked.

    Comment by celticmuse | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  9. I’m working on it Mother…..:smile:

    Comment by gingerporter | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  10. I can’t believe you haven’t been into see the Dr. yet, Ginger! And Randy, well…I hope you got him in the gut!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  11. Four months?!?! Remind him he hasn’t been happy about the four weeks ::wink wink:: and then add a smack (pinch, poke…whatever is convenient) from me, too. YEESH.

    You joined LHC! 😀 If there’s anything I can help you with over there, let me know. It’s gotten *huge* over the past few years. I’ve been there from the beginning and sometimes even I stumble across something I didn’t know we had. 😆

    Continued prayers for you and your family RE: MIL.

    Comment by Tresses | April 24, 2007 | Reply

  12. If I were you I would get checked out by a Dr. Sometimes it is best to know the real reason. I would defininately want to know what causes this.

    Comment by Teatime | April 25, 2007 | Reply

  13. I managed to save my hair with these 3 tips.
    Be Gentle: Give your hair some rest. Don’t color, straighten, pull or tie it more than needed.

    Keep a Balanced Diet: Feed the roots of the hairs with a balanced diet, rich in Proteins, Iron and Vitamin B. Foods such as fibers, sprouts, eggs, fish and liver will make your roots stronger.

    Avoid Bad Hair Food: High consumption of Alcohol, Coffee, Tea, Sweetened Drinks (especially Coke), High fat meals, Sugars and generally unhealthy foods are not recommended.

    Comment by Sam | April 25, 2007 | Reply

  14. That is funny that he covered his ribs after he said what he said.

    I’m sorry that you had so much pain with this long long cycle. I hope that it is nothing, but I do hope that you can see a doc soon.

    Comment by Donna | April 25, 2007 | Reply

  15. The appointment has been scheduled…..and I warned him that he has a few pokes,pinches,smacks and punches coming.

    Per request of the Ladies……:)

    Comment by gingerporter | April 25, 2007 | Reply

  16. Thank you for the hair tips Sam….I am going to have revisit my diet anyway…..but do I have to give up tea?

    i handle the other stuff…..but not my tea….:(

    Comment by gingerporter | April 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

