Ginger

When your “Children” shop for Your Birthday, Be Careful where Hubby stops……

Tomorrow is my birthday. May 1st….I will be 43 years old!!! I have been told by many a friend that I do not look my age.( Happy Dance going on here…. What red blooded women wouldn’t like to hear that!! )I had this long sappy post on my 43 years of life consisting of where I’ve been and what I’ve done….my accomplishments and even my failures. I was contemplating my life goals which can always use a little dusting off.

My families birthday gift bumped that one…..I may still post it….AFTER discussing my birthday gift.

My children worked very hard today on a card for me…..They also wanted to go shopping for a gift. I would have been satisfied with just the cards. I am a simple kinda gal….I love receiving things my children have made for me. I will even accept a fistful of dandelions and exclaim on the beauty of their floral bouquet. A child’s simple token of love creates the long lasting memories that a mother will sit and pull out of her heart when reminiscing, until the grandchildren arrive. Then we can tattle on our children. I do have a while to wait for the grandchildren….mine are currently 13,11, and 9.

I did offer to run them up to the local WallyWorld….but they wanted to wait for their dad to get home and take them.

My hubby came in and I gave him the $60 that I had been saving…part of this was money due the kids with a little extra for doing some things I had asked ……..

They weren’t gone for very long…..which should have been my first clue…..

Did they make it to WallyWorld you ask? NOPE!!!

Pray tell, where did they go for my birthday gift you ask?


They stopped at a yard sale!!!

Yep, with $60 dollars in hand, they stopped at a yard sale. They told me this when they walked in the door but I didn’t believe them.

No way….I looked at my husband and said, “You’re joking, right!?” Ummm….No! They weren’t joking. In fact, they had the most wonderful time retelling the gentleman’s reaction when they told him that what they just purchased was to be their mother’s birthday gift. As my middle son so eloquently put it…”The man was laughing so hard he couldn’t breathe Mom! His face turned so red and he asked Daddy if we were serious!”Okay, even the gentleman running the yard sale could see the possible mistake in this particular venture.

I was just sitting there with my jaw open….My very dear friend was on the phone with me…..and she couldn’t believe what she heard….She made the kids take the phone out of the room and tell her what they managed to find at a yard sale. Then she offered to tell all of our mutual friends who are sitting back laughing their tales off at me. They are more anxious than I am I think. Three phone calls later, the kids have really gotten into this and have learned the value and some what hilarity of shocking their “poor aged” mother. (I actually think it is the first time they saw me with my jaw hanging down and speechless!)

Let’s not forget my Forum Friends who got pulled into this “Yard Sale” gift of mine. I think they are really sitting back waiting to see if they will get a view of the mushroom cloud they are expecting tomorrow evening when I get my gifts!!A few were brave enough to tell me they thought I would really like my gift despite the no return policy. There was also the disbelief at the audacity of my family. Shopping for MY Gift at a yard sale?!

My kids think they have really pulled one over on me. They are enjoying this so much.

They know that whatever it is, because it is from them, I will love it!!!

I am not, nor have I ever been a materialistic kind of person. Too me, it really is the thought that counts……that and I trust my husbands discernment on gifts. He is rather picky about what constitutes a gift.

The waiting game begins. My children will bring the gift out and place it on the dining room table so that I can sit and stare at it all day. When my husband comes home from work, the kids decided we should go out to dinner by ourselves. When we arrive back home the kids and the couple watching the kids will come over for cake and ice cream. I am going to have my famous “Almond Pound Cake” with home made whipped cream and/or ice cream. If I wanted to make my family happy it would be chocolate which is what I usually do. My husband has all ready informed the kids that they are making “what mommy likes.”

That means my gift and cards will sit there on the table till approximately 8:30-9:00 pm. Oh the agony, can I bare the the anticipation?

I think I can, but I am not too sure about my 9 year old son. He is bursting at the seams to tell someone, anyone!

I am now officially 43. “Happy Birthday” to me….to include my Uncle Buddy and my “Adopted Mom” Ellen.

My 9 year old son would have been born on my birthday but I was determined he was going to have his own day….but, that is another story all together.

You can read about that one on Thursday….He will be 10 on May 3rd.

Pictures will follow tomorrow’s festivities. I have been asked to have my husband take a picture of my yard sale birthday gift…….If you feel so inclined and are just a weee bit curious….You will have to come back tomorrow night…:)

***Edited to include the new song….Their version of “Happy Birthday”

“Happy Birthday to You,

You’ll never guess what we got!

We bought it at a Yard Sale!

And You can’t see the box!!”

My children are so enjoying pulling one over on Mom…..but hey a good mom will allow them to have some fun.  They now know what it is really like to surprise someone……LOLOL!!

I still sit here clueless…..even with the hints I have been given, I cannot figure this one out!

May 1, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Friends, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Marriage, Observances

14 Comments »

  1. I think this is totally cool and funny…of course this is because I know your family…

    …and I know what your present is (LOL!)

    Trust me…this beats WallyWorld 😉

    Comment by APuritanLady | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. I am sure it will at least be interesting and will be nice….It is just so funny. If you could have seen the looks on their faces when they began to tell me.

    So….is it glass,wood or metal…….? 🙂

    Comment by gingerporter | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. Yeah, like I’m even going to hint! I’m a person you can’t even show the size of the box to or I guess what it is…I’m not hinting to another MayBaby!

    Comment by APuritanLady | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. hmmmm….I wonder if that is why my poor daughter wouldn’t even let me see the box!!!

    Comment by gingerporter | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  5. Happy Birthday, Ginger!!!
    I will be back tonight to see pictures of your gift! I am more interested in your expression when you open the gift!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  6. Oh my kids are so funny this morning. That and all of my friends who are enjoying all the teasing!!!

    Yes the camera will be ready for the hubby to snap the picture…:)

    Comment by gingerporter | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  7. Well Ginger, at least you know they love you alot. To be honest they could have brought something back matter of factly. set it in front of you and then just walk away. See they care enough to build up anticipation and excitement. They’ve even shared all of this w/others who love you as well.

    I too will be back to see your blog, after soccer practice and dinner of course. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  8. I know Elaine….they are great kids and doing something like that would have never crossed their minds. Randy said to really drag it out for them because this has generated so much excitement for them. My “moaning” is all a ploy to see them laugh and say “na,na,na,na,na!”

    It is so sweet of them….but their anticipation level and dragging it out…is killing them…they are asking me who I can call so they can tell them…..

    My kids crack me up…..So…Do you know what I am getting….Inquiring minds would like to know?

    Comment by gingerporter | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  9. I know I know I know! ::jumping up and down::

    But I’m not tellin’. 😛

    Can’t wait to see the pics. 😀

    Comment by Tresses | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  10. Well, if you don’t like it I will give you $60, and take it home with me when I visit, I wish I could find one for $60!

    😀

    Happy Birtday Sweetie!

    Comment by Jessica(N) | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  11. Happy Birthday Ginger!! I cannot wait to see what your family got for you!!! What fun they must be having!! I love the song too!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | May 1, 2007 | Reply

  12. Well….what is it?? Huh? huh?>?? I found this blog from Heather’s blog…got involved reading…and now.. am totally curious!! And… may I just say…it is now May 3!! tap…tap…tap….. …Where is a picci??

    Comment by Veronica | May 3, 2007 | Reply

  13. ROFL…..Sorry Veronica….My son’s birthday is today and we’ve gotten a little behind.

    I will have the “giftie” pictures posted with all the details on it by 10ish tonight.

    Thanks for checking in…..I love Heather and Jessica….they are now a part of our family. She has become my adopted daughter/little sister..

    Comment by gingerporter | May 3, 2007 | Reply

  14. You are so sweet Ginger :), We love you too 🙂 .

    Comment by heathertopia | May 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

