Ginger

The Birthday Gift that wasn’t……

My family are stinkers…every last one of them. The surprise gift was a hoax to throw everyone else off of what they actually got me……..It progressed like this……..

I sent them out and they came back too early to have made it to Walmart .They would have stood in line as long as they were gone.

I was clueless. My imaginative children tricked everyone with the tale they told. When my husband walked in the door, I asked if they had actually made it to Walmart….the first thing that came to mind was, “We can’t tell her where we actually went..” So he said a yard sale. When I asked if he was kidding, he was going to say yes, but my son replied with a description of the owner finding it hilarious that my birthday gift was coming from a yard sale. My husband decided to let my children run with that story….and boy did they do an excellent job keeping the secret. My poor 9 year old was bursting at the seams though. He had to tell someone…anyone. So the next person that called, which was my sister, was informed of the gift and where it had been purchased.

The tale grew from there. It wasn’t until the gifts were brought in and piled on the piano that I found out where they actually went. My husband was correct. It would have been a dead give away. They went to “Cracker Barrel”. “Cracker Barrel” has the coolest items in their gift shops. Why, I could go to “Cracker Barrel” with out eating just to shop the gift shop.

bday16.jpgThis was the pile’o gifts from the children. Please note my little collection of frogs and butterflies on the back of the piano. (You don’t see the dust….it is invisible…riiiiggghhhtttt?)

It wasn’t until I actually started to open the gifts that I found out they did not come from a yard sale. It was also at that moment, I found out what my stinker of a husband and children had told all of my friends. It started with two of them and progressed from there. It was posted on the forums and they hinted that they would tell anyone who was willing to keep the secret. They just needed to send a private message. This was how so many of my friends ended up teasing me that they knew. They were AMAZED that my family could have purchased what they did at a yard sale. Many were envious and offered to buy it off of me if I didn’t like it……Did I mention what it was they had “bought” me?


I didn’t want to put this picture up….My husband said I had to show the look on my face. When he saw the picture , he told me I reminded him of the guy in one of the “James Bond” movies. You know, the metal mouth guy. You don’t realize how well the braces show up until you use a flash…..Probably wasn’t one of the smartest things he said, but I won’t hold it against him.

By the way, the gift I was rumored to have been given was the “Purple Dyson Vacuum Cleaner.” He did tell me he had better sense than to get me an appliance or household tool for my birthday. He has very strict guidelines on gifts. They are strictly for that person…it must qualify as a toy or a pretty for the gals. If a vacuum, new microwave or even clothes are needed they are to be purchased, not given as a gift.

He would never spend the money on a Dyson . The purple Dyson is the vacuum cleaner pet owners would purchase. It runs around $499.00. A coworker has a Dyson and she brought it in for my husband and his boss to work on…..They are rather handy. There is a glitch with the Dyson. If the handle is not all the way up and latched prior to changing the height, it breaks the clutch. It is a self contained system. You cannot even access the Dyson website for repairs unless you are a certified Dyson mechanic. My Geeky husband doesn’t like that. Picture Tim Allen from the show “Tool Time” but with out all the “issues” that cropped up when Tim tried to improve or repair things (argh,argh, argh). My husband can actually do it. He cut his teeth on vacuum cleaners…good training for a Network Engineer. He said,other than that, it is a very well designed vacuum cleaner. Oh, by the way, it is possible to purchase the instructions for repairing the Dyson clutch…..but it will cost you $60!

On to the rest of my story.…………..

I didn’t get a vacuum cleaner…..I got a lovely tea set. I am a tea drinker. I prefer loose teas to bagged tea. (Of course, any serious tea drinker would!) He also found the sugar and creamer dish that matched a tea pot we received as a gift 14 years ago on our wedding day. He was very pleased with himself over one of the gifts. He said it was very difficult to find but he managed. It is the two thermal glass tumblers that match my glass tea pot. WOO HOO!!! I was especially excited over those glasses. Since I am really into sushi (which is why I am known by some as Queen Wasabi, sort of), he bought me a lovely sushi set, in blue.

bday33.jpg

I made out like a bandit…..My kids loved rubbing it in….

bday41.jpg

Several of my friends were so anxious they called to see how I liked my gift. My husband really enjoyed telling them the truth………….There was a part I left out that he is insisting I edit back in. When my friend called, she wanted to know how I liked my “gift.” I described the tea set. She said, “AND?” I described the sugar and creamer dish. She said, “And?” I described the sushi set. She said, “And?” I replied, “Wasn’t that enough?” “Ohhhhhh,” She said,”GIVE ME A CHILD!!” It was at this point, my husband and children burst into hysterical laughter. We had the phone on speaker so everyone in the room could hear her end of the conversation……That was why my children got such a kick out of the joke. Everyone’s reaction was basically the same as the above. My husband and kids are still laughing today…..

bday30.jpg

My kids were so pleased that they were finally able to pull one over on mom. My daughter said that even the grandkids will be talking about this one……I am so happy that I was able to bring such laughter and joy to my family….I don’t think my friends will ever trust my husband or children. I wouldn’t…!!

May 3, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Friends, Humor, Just Life, Marriage, Observances

8 Comments »

  1. Man, they did tease us really badly! I am so glad they enjoyed all the fun with this Birthday Surprise. I am kind of curious what they will come up with for next year!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | May 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. That is a scary thought!!!!
    LOLOL

    Comment by gingerporter | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. They did an awesome job. This has made me laugh
    so hard. I love it. They are just toooo good. lol

    Comment by Siscaboo | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  4. I am so glad that it wasn’t a vacuum.

    Comment by chocolatechic | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hahahahhahahah ….too funny!!

    Great one kids! Wait one minute here… what am I saying@ This is all Dad’s doing to start with!!

    lol …boy oh, boy… your will really have to be on your toes now for other little surprises.

    thanks for looking at my Picturetrail Ginger…. let me know if you need any help or a steer in the right direction if you do start some dolls of any kind.

    Comment by Veronica | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  6. Love that picture of R turning bright red with laughter. They all really pulled one over on us! Couldn’t believe we had “been had”.

    Comment by APuritanLady | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  7. Lets see them top this next year. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | May 4, 2007 | Reply

  8. They even got me and mom!!!!!

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | May 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

