Ginger

A Rusty Reddish Looking Toad…….

Yep….that’s what the boys found. They came running into the house to show me the frog. I have never seen a frog that color before. It was really pretty cool!!!

The boys are aloud to bring me toads and frogs to peruse and maybe even touch. Other bugs of the 8 legged variety are not permitted in the house.

My daughter kept saying the toad/frog couldn’t be red…It must be the Virginia Red Clay. Well, I don’t know about that because I licked my finger and rubbed the toady/frogs back. I even rubbed his belly……I actually did this a couple of times.

Yes, I know gross!!

That’s what my kids thought also. But the color didn’t rub off, so it can’t be the clay.

It really is a cute little thing….I would have loved to set up another tank and aloud the kids to keep him, but we decided he would be much happier in the “real world.” That and he pooed on both Charlie and I.

Have you ever seen this guy? If so, his full name would be appreciated. There is no reward being offered for any evidence or tips on the trespasser, but we would like to watch out for him.

frog44.jpg

frog46.jpg

frog47.jpg

frog48.jpg

frog49.jpg

frog50.jpg

frog51.jpg

frog52.jpg

frog53.jpg

If you click on the above thumbnails, you may see a bigger picture. I would open in a new tab…but I like tabs…:-)

My daughter and son like this quote…..”All toads are frogs, but not all frogs are toads. Thus, toads do not exist.” Angela of Eragon (the book, not the movie).

EDITED for the answer:

We discovered what our little red friend is…..He is an Eastern American Toad.

The Mystery is solved!! Here is another helpful link if you are interested in toads.

Frogs and Toads of Virginia

May 6, 2007 - Posted by | Children, Critters, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Observances

15 Comments »

  1. Very interesting.

    It would have not been allowed in my house. Such critters are better in the yard than in my house – they’ll live longer outside than in.

    I’m sorry that I can’t help you with names or anything. By the way I love the final picture w/ the frog under the boy’s chin. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. That is quite an interesting specimen you have there. I have no idea about such things. I it a really cool color… I have never seen one like that before!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. That is a nice looking toad. He’s very cute sitting there on The Lawn Ranger’s shoulder. 8)

    It was very sweet of you to give the toad a spit bath then send it on its merry way. Perhaps it pooed in gratitude. 😆

    Comment by Donna | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. You said that you licked your finger and rubbed its back and belly a few times. I just thought I would clarify for people that I did ask, and you licked a DIFFERENT finger each time before rubbing the toad…

    Comment by capitalggeek | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. Toads are cool Elaine….we had a tank once with 21 tree frogs that we rescued. It was pretty cool watching them eat…:)
    Yep..Sleepymamma I thought it was pretty cool color once I “licked” him to make sure it didn’t come off.
    Donna..I love the Lawn Ranger t’shirt. I will have to take a close up photo for you..It’s pretty cool.CR was funny when the toad pooed and peed on him…

    My hubby was funny…He read that and asked me how many times I licked my finger…I said more than once..to which he went ewww…then I told him it was different fingers each time…:).

    Comment by gingerporter | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  6. Very cool!

    Comment by APuritanLady | May 6, 2007 | Reply

  7. The quote about toads made me laugh. Dd periodically asks if such and such exists. Whatever my answer is she will tell me she doesn’t believe it exists because she’s never seen one. The mind of a 5 year old! 🙂

    Comment by barbchan | May 8, 2007 | Reply

  8. Way cool. It is neat to find new things. 🙂

    Comment by appliejuice | May 8, 2007 | Reply

  9. How interesting. and neat. I used to love to
    play with frogs and or toads when I was a little
    one. Now, I don’t think you could get me near
    one.

    Comment by Siscaboo | May 9, 2007 | Reply

  10. Interesting toad there Ginger. I just wanted to say hello. I miss “seeing” you!

    Comment by teresab01 | May 23, 2007 | Reply

  11. Hay that is pretty neat an i just saw yesterday a bright red frog i stayed away cause i did not now if it would be poisoned an i came an i saw this an its preety neet well that was NASTY what u did lick your finger again EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW.

    Comment by Crystal | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  12. I was camping with my son and 3 yr old grandson last weekend off of Skyline Drive. We took a hike to the waterfalls at the South RIver Picnic Grounds and the 3 yr old came walking up to me with a red frog in his hands. None of us had ever seen anything like it in the 40 years we have been camping in that area. It was only about an inch long. He put it in the creek where he had found it and we watched it for 30 minutes as it swam and hopped, etc. We finished out hike to the water falls and on our way back up the mountain he found it again in the same water. When we got home we tried finding it on the internet and all we could find were red-eyed tree frogs and Mark Twains red-legged frog. It looked quite a bit like the red Toad in your pictures.

    Comment by Ken | June 8, 2009 | Reply

  13. Hi.We live in Partlow,Va. and just resently under the tractor shed sat a red frog.He was very interesting to see
    because in all my years I had never seen one.He sat there for a long time as thou he wanted to see what my
    husband was doing.I took pictures of him as I do all the critters we run across.he was quite pretty as frogs go.

    Comment by shirley Mcconnell | September 2, 2012 | Reply

  14. I am on this page only because my husband saw a rusty looking red frog today. He did not want to hit it with the lawn mower. I showed him your picture and it was what he saw. Does anyone know what type of frog this is? Does a frog change colors like certain bugs. All bugs look weird no a days and so did this frog.

    Comment by Anonymous | October 26, 2012 | Reply

    • LOL…Hi…yes, I edited the post at the bottom to give the name of the toad. It is called an Eastern American Toad. There is a link at the bottom for you to click on to identify Frogs of America.

      Comment by gingerporter | October 26, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

