Ginger

A Homeschool Kid at Heart…..

A funny today……We have two dogs.  One is a Great Pyrenee and the other a Pomeranian….no offense…but Poms are dumb.  At least the one we have is lacking in intelligence.  His name is Dudley aka Rat Dog…..My husbands term of endearment. Then there is Zeus.  He is the great pyr.  He is too smart for his own good.  The stories I could tell on that dog….He is just as bad has having a permanent child in the house.

I took the dogs outside this afternoon.  As I stood on the deck watching them, Zeus went rooting into the compost pile in the back corner.  Next thing I see him running around in the yard with this thing swinging from his mouth.  Dudley of course being Dudley…is hopping around   Zeus.  Sort of like..”I wanna play!”

I am slightly nearsighted…….hence the need to go back in the house and retrieve my glasses.  At first I thought it was a rag….pre-glasses…..then I realized I was seeing a critter.  My overgrown puppy was walking around trying to find someplace to hide his new friend while it was dangling from his mouth.

I ran down the steps and cornered Zeus.  He was kind enough to drop his find at my feet….He walked around me several times trying to get to it but I managed to keep him at bay.  Now, I am not tall by any stretch. Zeus, standing up is taller than I am and if he really wanted to he could have pushed me out of the way.  He knows who the boss is.

I yelled for the kids.  All three came running along with  shovel in hand and a stick, which I requested.  I am trying to scoop said critter, which was a ground hog by the way… while my dog is trying to get at the critter.  He managed to knock him out of the shovel twice.

I finally scooped up the ground hog and placed him in a bucket.  What was the first thing out of my son’s mouth?

“Cool!!! Can we dissect it?”  

I hated telling him no….but alas the health department wanted  a full carcass intact.  It would have been cool to do…..it was fresh.  The odd thing is how did it get into our yard anyway.  Ever since we got Zeus the squirrels stay away….they will play chase with Zeus and run up and down the top of the fence but they dare not ever come into the yard. The dog considers air space his territory….he did eventually stop barking at the planes and helicopters that fly around here all the time……(hear  a small sigh of relief at this change in behavior) 

Since there was no obvious injury to the ground hog, Animal control picked it up to be “Processed.”  Okay, she was trying to be nice…but one of the boys looked at her and said…“You mean they will have to autopsy the GH to see what it died from right?”  She just looked at me…..with her brows furrowed. The other boy, my son, said, “Yeah…aren’t you going to have to cut his head off to see if he has rabies?”

Again..I get that look….all I said was “We homeschool.”

  All I heard was an “Oh.”

Now my dogs are in quarantine….anyone who has met Zeus….can appreciate the difficulty in this request.

He is only aloud out to go to the bathroom….he is not be left out at all….only for potty breaks……Yeah Right!!!

I am still cracking up at Robbie wanting to dissect the ground hog.  Which I am not averse to doing…I would just prefer a more cleanly prepared specimen.  My sister brought  some fetal pigs but the kids were to oogied over that. We can’t do a frog…this would send my other son into near hysterics.

I guess I am weird…..I enjoyed biology in high school.  Not wih buggies crawling thru the fur.  That I will have to draw the line at…….We will know in ten days if the dogs will be able to rejoin the great outdoors.  They are current on all shots.  Had it looked like another critter had gotten to it…they wouldn’t have been so concerned. 

Here we sit…………Day 1

May 24, 2007 - Posted by | Children, Critters, Growing up, Homeschooling, Humor, Just Life, Observances

7 Comments »

  1. What an interesting life you lead Ginger. 😆
    Hope that all is well and the dogs won’t have to be quaranteened to long.

    Comment by Elaine | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Oh noooo! 10 days of being a prison warden. A sentence for you too! Not fair…

    I bet the look on that woman’s face was worth seeing….lol ….

    Comment by Veronica | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. What a wonderful find for Zeus! How very nice of him to bring you such a nice present! And very funny that the kids wanted to dissect it. We would not have been near so excited about that prospect. Hope all is well for the dogs and they can return to the “wild” soonest.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. No I guess it’s not boring here Elaine….not as much as I would like sometimes, I think.

    Veronica….the look was priceless…it was just that “Oh”..short, staccato like….:)

    Wasn’t it such a wonderful gift Beth…..Trying to keep them both in side is going to be such a joy…..the only thing that will make it a little easier is that it is starting to warm up and Zeus doesn’t like being outside in the heat.

    My mom had a cat that would bring me mice all the time…..yuck!!!

    Comment by gingerporter | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. 😆

    Too funny! Err, I feel your pain about the dog and hope it goes fairly easily!

    Comment by songbirdy | May 24, 2007 | Reply

  6. yuck, try not to do that when we are there will you? another 7 people in your house with the dogs quarantined would be bad.

    Comment by celticmuse | May 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. It’s not like I could help it…..sorry….:)

    We will try to be on our utmost best behavior………

    Comment by gingerporter | May 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

