Ginger

TEA

I love tea…. many who have spent any time with me can attest to this fact. I prefer loose tea’s. Once you have tried loose tea you will be loathe to ever go back to the traditional tea bag. There are a few tea bags that I will use though. I can’t resist the taste. The most popular tea that people drink is actually made up from the dregs of the tea barrel. It is not the good stuff!!

The teas I currently drink are a mix. If you do drink tea from a tea bag it should be big enough for the leaves to unfurl in order to release the flavor.

Zhena’s Gypsy Tea has a wonderfully flavored Raspberry Earl Grey. As soon as the hot water hits the tea it releases an aroma that is so pleasing to the senses, one must pick up the tea and inhale deeply. If I could get a candle that had the same aroma….It would be burning constantly. The blends of the raspberry and bergamot, which is the signature flavor of Earl Grey, is very pleasing and smooth to the palette. It can actually be found at most grocery stores. I can purchase this at Safeway, Giant, Bloom (old Foodlion) and Shopper’s Food Warehouse. You can check the website to see if any stores in your area carry this tea. It comes in a very nice decorative tin. If you happen to like nice decorative tins. It also comes in Black, Green, Herbal and White teas with other flavors in each group.

Adagio Tea is another favorite of mine. I have tried several but the one I lean toward the most is the Golden Yunnan black tea from China. It has a unique flavor….somewhat peppery and earthy. The Adagio teas are a wonderful tea. I have recently discovered a new Adagio that needs to be observed. It is a beautiful tea. The Red Bloom tea is one in a line of blossoming teas that are becoming quite popular. You should really have a glass teapot or clear glass cup if you are drinking a blooming tea. Of course…..I have both. I am spoiled and not ashamed to say it. My husband spoils me with tea.

The Tao of Tea is probably the first of the loose teas I tried. My husband was kind enough to bring home The Dragonwell Green Tea and Black Peony Hand Tied Black Tea. These are wonderful teas. I will drink the green plain or with a tiny bit of organic Demerara Cane Sugar. It is a very nice tea and I have found it quite soothing. It has been my tea of choice prior to bedtime. The Black Peony is a beautiful tea to watch steep. Its leaves are hand tied. When the tea is steeping, the leaves will unfurl into the shape of a peony. I can usually make one small pot or several cups out of one peony.

Paromi Tea is a new tea that I have aquired. I tried the Earl Grey Dolce. It’s a very nice tea with bergamot oil with a touch of orange. The orange is very suttle. I almost have to be looking for the taste to pick it up. It is not overpowering. It comes in an amber colored jar. This is supposed to protect the tea.

Teaism is actually a tea shop/restaurant located in Washington D.C. My husband works down by Dupont Circle. He is able to bring home a small selection of teas for me to try. Teaism boasts 52 flavors of tea from blacks,greens, whites, herbals and tisanes. All the teas are 100% organic. I have tried the Oolong, Guranse, Kenyan, Ceylon and the Earl Grey. I think I will work my way thru the entire compliment of teas.

I am posting pictures of the Adagio Red Blossom tea to show how beautiful the tea is as it opens……

tea07.jpg

The tea looks like a dried up hard ball when you open the package.

tea09.jpgtea15.jpg

Top view looking down into the pot…. Normally I do not leave the lid off…..The picture to the left shows the leaves starting to unfurl. The picture on the right shows the leaves fully open.

tea10.jpgtea11.jpg

A side view, looking thru the pot as the leaves unfurl…….

tea20.jpg

One ball makes a weaker tea done in the pot. It has a nice amber color and mild taste. If you want a stronger cup, which I usually do, you can make this in your mug or just add less water to your pot.

tea18.jpgtea17.jpg

If you look closely on the left, you can see where the tea leaves were tied. It makes a beautiful presentation….of course when you have kids they may prompt you to, “Oh cool Mom….Do it again!!!”

Here are links to preparing the proper cup of tea….

Tea Source

Planet Tea

Other Tea resources…..

Harney and Sons

Divintea

Republic of Tea

Tea Sites

I am only lacking in the proper tea cozy. I am on a search for one. I found a pattern for a cozy that I fell in love with…but I can’t figure the pattern out…..I will have to visit a crocheting friend and have them show me how to make this tea cozy. You might have to sign into Lion Brand Yarn’s free patterns to view….but it’s worth it. Tea Cozy

Enjoy a cuppa tea…..especially with a friend.

**more photo’s have been uploaded into the photo blog**

Teaism is actually a tea shop/restaurant located in Washington D.C. It is the first of it’s kind in our nation’s capitol. The tea that is served here is 100% organic. They carry over 50 varieties of tea. I have only sampled 4 so far. They are the same 4 my husband conveniently purchases for me. Since the shop is within walking distance for him….He will frequently walk there during his lunch time and pick a small 2oz. bag of tea for me. I currently have Guranse (black tea from Nepal), Ceylon (black tea), Kenya (black tea), and last but not least Earl Grey. It is surprising that Earl Grey can have so many suttle flavors and nuances for a single tea. Every one has their version of this tea, which in my opinion, not that it is important, became more popular by the Star Trek Next Generation’s Captain Jean Luc Picard. Patrick Stewart, British Actor, could be seen in the show frequently going to the replicator and requesting a cup of “Earl Grey

May 27, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Food/Recipes, Friends, Just Life, Observances, Teas, Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. Ok, confession time…..I’m not a tea drinker and when I do drink it it’s probably the kind that you distain. 😦 Please don’t hate me for this failing in my makeup.

    At first the pot w/the unfurling tea leaves reminded me of something unpleasant. I sort of got over that but if I ever see it live and can smell the aroma that you testify about it I may not find it quite so…..eeewwwwwwe comes to mind.

    Thank you for the lesson on the different types of tea. Here in my house we mainly have….horrors…Lipton 😕 w/some Celestial Blends as well.

    As for having tea with a friend I feel the same way about coffee – better w/a good friend or sweetheart.

    Comment by Elaine | May 27, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks, Ginger. This was very informative! I love the links to all the tea places you provided.
    I enjoy a good cup of tea, especially with a friend! Right now I am looking for a glass tea pot. Yours is quite nice.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | May 27, 2007 | Reply

  3. Oh that’s okay Elaine….We still use Lipton for making Ice Tea….My favorite teas are a little expensive for me to want to mix a pitcher of ice tea with. I may give it a try one day.

    I have a special coffee post just you….I will post it in a day or too….:)

    You’re welcome Beth. I have actually found the glass tea pot along with the cups I use at Border’s and Barnes & Noble which also carries the Harney & Sons tea. The pot and cups I use are by a company called Bodum. If you can’t find one there we will probably be able to find you one here in June. I will be on the look out for you…..

    Comment by gingerporter | May 27, 2007 | Reply

  4. I look forward to reading your coffee entry when it comes up. 😆

    What I need to do is get my hands on hubby’s camera and mine to download pictures then upload to my blog. I’ll be able to take down some of those ones on the main page, maybe just archive it, and replace them w/some fresh shot. He got some great arctic fox pictures. One reminds me of Zues in miniture form.

    Comment by Elaine | May 27, 2007 | Reply

  5. great pictures! And yes, you have quite the collection of tea 😉

    Comment by apuritanlady | May 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. I love tea!!

    Comment by chocolatechic | May 28, 2007 | Reply

  7. Ginger we have been drinking the Black Peony Hand Tied Black Tea and it is excellent tea! 🙂 Yum Yum!!

    Comment by Donna | May 29, 2007 | Reply

  8. I love tea as well, but I have to say I have never tried the kind you are talking about… the loose leaf kind…maybe I will someday if it is as good as you say!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | May 30, 2007 | Reply

  9. Where did you find the beautiful glass teapot. I’ve tried the links you attached, but couldn’t find a similar one (at least from trying to compare.)

    Thanks so much,

    nj

    Comment by NJ | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  10. […] of tea, it is time to have another cup of hot tea in my Ginger cup. Today, I am drinking 100% organic black […]

    Pingback by Life and Garden | DonnaYoung.org | June 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

