Ginger

HEAV Ho…..

No…This is not a journey on the high seas, sailing on a masted ship, raising sails to the wind.

It is that time of the year again…..off to the home school convention. H.E.A.V. (gotta love it)!!

Home Educators Association of Virginia

It is filled with Vendors from all over the country along with an impressive used curriculum sale.  There is a labyrinth of sessions to be navigated and decided upon.  It is the highlight of every homeschool  mom in Virginia.

There will be approximately 200 students in the graduating class of 2007.  If you venture over to the HEAV website and click on the Convention page, you can peruse the bios of these dedicated students.  It is always impressive to me to read what each of these young people have accomplished. The many activities and groups that they are participate in is always interesting to read.  Hmmmm……and the critics say socialization is an issue…..You certainly wouldn’t notice it in the accomplishments of these young people.

I have printed off the handouts for the seminars I wish to attend. I have my address labels to carry into the vendor hall so that I can be put on the many mailing lists that I am not all ready on….:). I have my overly large bag ready to fill with whatever goodies I can pick up. My clipboard has been filled with paper for the sessions that do not offer online handouts along with several writing implements and a couple of highlighters.

My comfortable shoes are sitting by the table along with my water bottle ready to fill in the morning.  I think I am prepared.

The only thing missing from this convention is the best homeschool resource I could think of……the revered and highly esteemed Donna Young, creator of the DonnaYoung.Org   Printables and Resources of Homeschools and Classrooms. If you are new to homeschooling or an old hand, this is the ultimate resource site on the web for homeschool forms of any kind you think you could possibly need.  You will also find a few added extra’s such as menu planning forms, grocery shopping lists of any flavor you could require. Planners and organizers galore….if you haven’t stumbled upon this gem on the web….check it out now. Quite a few of the items are on the website and are free to download.  I assure you, it would be to your best interests to purchase her CD.  The website doesn’t even come close to what’s on the CD.

Donna, I would be glad to set up a table at our convention next year and demo your CD’s. HEAV does invite people to come and present their valuable resources. If I submit your name, will you come? It would be a good place to the hold the DY Reunion we are all dying to attend!!  I am sure there would be any number of volunteers that would come visit me and tag along….We could have the Donna Young “Praise” Choir in attendance….:)  I can just see it now….there would be so many DYer’s in attendance none of the other people could get in…..Just think of the story Applie could weave over this adventure…….

I can dream, can’t I?

I will come back and tell you all the goodies I saw and bought!!!  🙂

“Congratulations to the Graduating Students and their families!”

To the H.E.A.V  Class of 2007………Hip,Hip,Hooray!!! 

May your journey of learning continue thru out the rest of your life.  Best Wishes…………..

June 8, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Growing up, Homeschooling, Just Life, Observances, Teenagers

8 Comments »

  1. Enjoy…and what was it again that you were looking for, for me?

    Comment by chocolatechic | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. Uhhhh….I don’t remember:(

    If you remember, please leave me a note. We will be home tonight and I will check on Saturday.

    Comment by gingerporter | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. Have a great time Ginger! I put Donna’s name in last year… keep writing it down….
    It took the Homeschool Tracker a few years to get in, but she will be there. You can tell Katie that Barbra-Sue says “HI!”

    Comment by TrustingGOD | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. I hope that you have a great time at the convention and get some great deals and info to boot.

    As for your dream….I’d love to see that come to reality. I would be hard pressed to beg hubby to allow that to be my Christmas, birthday, anniversary and such presents for a few years so that I could go. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. CC…We found it for the same price at one of the tables. Apologia’s price was $70. Let me know what you want me to do….:)

    Trusting God…Imagine my surprise when I realized that is was “THE Katie” giving the presentation…!!! I got in there about 5 minutes late. After she finished I told her it was my friend..(You) that introduced me to HST. She said, “Oh I love B(you)!!…and now she is in Florida!!” That is impressive when You are recognized and admired buy the owner and creator!!

    I found a couple of things Elaine that were really cool. I will have to post about two of the books I got. They would make a nice giftie for Mark.

    I am going to have to put her name in again……unless she would rather us not. If Donna is shy….there would be so many of us there she wouldn’t have to do any talking….especially is she brought John. David could bring his banjo and play. It was really nice this year. They had several of the kids who are in music playing thru out the convention center.

    It was so cool meeting up with Beth and Dan. We went out and had dinner together at the neatest little cafe. I had the best Jamaican Greens I have ever had in my life!! We are planning on meeting there tomorrow for lunch. We have all ready talked with the chef and waiter….so they will be looking out for us. It was only a block up from the convention center and is actually a ministry outreach. Pulling young men off the streets and training them in the culinary arts. I will save some of this for my blog….:)

    Comment by gingerporter | June 8, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thank you, thank you, thank you Ginger! 😀 It’s ok to put my name in. Your convention sounds so nice! I hope you have a wonderful day! I can’t wait to hear about the goodies you saw and bought.

    Congrats to the Class of 2007!

    Comment by Donna | June 9, 2007 | Reply

  7. The conference was awesome! My brain is so tired! Such a huge amount of information given in such a short time!

    It was great to meet up with Ginger & Randy! Lunch & Dinner were wonderful! We highly recommend the 2nd Street Cafe!

    Comment by Anonymous | June 9, 2007 | Reply

  8. Glad you had fun, Ginger. Hoping to be able to attend next year.

    Comment by APuritanLady | June 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

