Ginger

A Man and His Toys….

It is often said that men never out grow the need for toys…..it is just the cost and size that changes. Many a wife can vouch for this man and his toy fetish.

Some have cars….hmmm, yep, we have a ’57 Chevy, hardtop, two door Belair. We dated in this car and no I am not that old…!!! It’s one of the few cars my husband can fit in because of his height.

Some have their electronics….hmmmm, yep, we have that also. At one time, my husband had 21 computer systems in the downstairs. He went dumpster diving at our old Christian School and salvaged all of the computers. A man has to have a hobby. He fixed them up and donated the computers or gave them to a family that I might have heard about who could use one for their children. He is very generous in that respect.

Some have their guns…..Yes. I said guns. Not just any gun…..His pride and joy, I think. He bought this gun, refinished the stock. It has a match barrel….meaning firing competition type match.

With the exception of the computers, he owned the other items before we even met.

The gun is nice. I have fired this thing and let me tell you it is sweet. Weighs a ton…at least it feels that way after you’ve fired a few clips. As long as the rifle is locked firmly into the shoulder, there is little recoil. I have since had that explained to me….after shooting a shotgun. The shot gun being much lighter has a nasty recoil. You have to lean into the gun or lean forward to compensate for the recoil and boy does it hurt. Your shoulder knows that it has just been knocked into. The weight of the other rifle is such that the recoil is non existent. At least to this ole gal. (Old being figurative by the way….)

There is something to be said about a man and his M1 Garand.

randym102.jpg

gingerm183.jpg

Here I am….You gotta love cropping capability…:)

randym197.jpg

He is such a manly man….what with his “There are no stupid questions, just stupid people.” t’shirt, his M1, and those Raybans. What more could a wife possibly need in her man…:)

In case you don’t know the difference…….

rifles03.jpg

The silver gun is a shotgun. Mossberg Mariner (which I probably misspelled..) , with pistol grip attachment. It fires the the red shells.

The M1 is the nice looking brown wood stock semi automatic rifle. It fires those nice long brass looking shells. I believe they are called 30 aught 6….okay…I don’t know the proper way of typing that in, but hubby has gone to bed.

We went to visit my Adopted family and met up with some friends. They wanted to try their hand at a few guns and Hubby went thru the drill with them and then had them try the pistols and the two guns you see pictured above.

In case you are wondering…….My husband is more than qualified to teach gun safety and proper firing. He was on the pistol team at the Citadel for four years and is a certified NRA firearms instructor. You know, just your all around average guy. Is it obvious that I am proud of him? I hope so….He is such a blessing. He’s a keeper…..:)

We all had a blast!! Ahhh…sorry…no pun intended there.

I have more pictures to post so hang in there…..

June 13, 2007 - Posted by | Boys, Guns, Humor, Just Life, Marriage, Men, Observances, Toys

6 Comments »

  1. Nice firearms. 🙂

    Comment by Donna | June 13, 2007 | Reply

  2. I still don’t have any pictures to match yours. 😦

    And you would type that as .306 for the ammo for the M-Grande.

    Sounds like a great eveing/weekend.

    My hubby has several habits. We also have lots of computers…most waiting to go to the range to be “exercized” 😆

    Comment by Elaine | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  3. I am not going to let the husband see this entry….nope….no way…..no how!

    He will be begging me for another gun.

    Comment by chocolatechic | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  4. Mine’s been begging for awhile. One of these days.

    Comment by APuritanLady | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  5. Those pictures are great, Ginger!

    We had a great time visiting and shooting! Thanks so much for letting us join you and your family. We had a great time meeting your Adopted family, they are WONDERFUL!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | June 19, 2007 | Reply

  6. My husband loved your gun pictures!

    Comment by Sheri | June 24, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

