Ginger

We found a Whopper or I should say a Hopper!!!

It’s so funny to me. Every time we find a frog, the chorus to a song I learned in2nd or 3rd grade pops into my head.  The only part to that song I can remember is this one line…..

Way down south in the yankety-yank, a bull frog jumped from bank to bank, just because he’d nothing better for to do! He stubbed his toe and fell in the water; you could hear him yell for a mile and a quarter, just because he’d nothing better for to do.”

We found another frog…..not just any frog.  A HUGE frog!!!  I thought at first that it was snake.  It was buried in a pile of leaves under the fence next to a cinder block.  We had to put cinder blocks there in order to “Zeus” proof the fence.  There were some saplings that had taken root so the kids and I removed them.  That froggie had a wonderful eating spot.  There were crickets galore hopping around and a few other bugs I didn’t know.

The way his leg was curled up under him, he looked like a snake who had just had his morning meal.  The kids and I all got down on the ground to get a closer look and I was corrected by the boys.  I was told that was a frog.  In my disbelief….I poked and prodded some more until frog decided to hop out of his hole, which of course sent everyone scrambling to catch him.

Which we did…….:)

froggroundcover20.jpgfrog21.jpg

frog22.jpgfrog25.jpg

frog27.jpgfrog28.jpg

Charlie said…”Hey Mom, see the family resemblance!!”

frog29.jpg

frog30.jpgfrog32.jpg

That was our frog…..We let him go after Daddy got to see him…..He was missing one foot though.

June 16, 2007 - Posted by | Boys, Children, Critters, Gardening, Humor, Just Life, Toys

4 Comments »

  1. Poor guy to lose a foot. 😦 And I don’t even like frogs (not live ones anyway :lol:)

    Comment by Elaine | June 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Looks like a happy frog, if not a full one as well! Reminds me of Mississippi jumping frog contests (meaning Mississippi River, not necessarily the state 😉 )

    Comment by APuritanLady | June 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. Wow, I wish we could find one that size. How cool!! The picture of your son holding the “smiling” frog is so cute. 😀

    Comment by appliejuice | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. OH boy! Frog!

    ugh! I’d pick it up just to show the kids I was brave but, ugh!

    Comment by songbirdy | June 22, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

