Ginger

Decluttering continues……

I am stiff and sore from all the work we’ve done in the basement.  But it feels wonderful to have accomplished so much.  There was no way I could have gotten that done by myself.  Weell…..I could have but it would have taken much longer.  I may not have been as inclined to eliminate as I was……

I think what really helped the most was that no one pushed me into it…..as far as discarding things.  Everyone was encouraging and didn’t quibble if I wanted to keep something.   I spoke to my friend Charlene who does organizing….(she is 800 miles away) she so desperately wanted to be here “Having all the fun” as she describes it….:)  I didn’t ask to save anything until we got to the kids baby things.

I paired down 10 boxes to 4.  She informed that was too much.  One box per child.  I explained that three boxes had special blankets that had been made for them.  A select number of outfits and such.  The fourth box has all the baby items like books, cards and some very special gifts.  I got the okay on that one.

We needed to move a big brown shelf that had been sitting in the toy room into the laundry room.  It has these very deep shelves and is perfect for storing blankets and sheets.  In order to do THAT….we had to empty the laundry room!!!  Yikes!!

The guys need to finish putting the toys away on the shelves.  Randy will then move the computers into the toy room.  We have a long table set up that will allow him to put in three work stations.  They also have their game table that was a gift(which Randy doesn’t like….).

The main part of the basement is almost completed.  There are several boxes of books that need to be sorted and put away.  All the school books have gotten mixed in with the regular reading books.  That can be done once everything else is finished.

Where the computers are now will be the sewing area.  All the material is being sorted and put into the shelf that has the perfect cubbies for storage.

The piano downstairs has moved next to the wall so it is no longer hogging up all the floor space.  I would like to create a little reading area which we will do once all the boxes of books are cleared out.

All that needs to done on the school side of the basement are the books sorted.  We need to pull the  curriculum that is no longer being used off the shelves.

We should be totally finished with the downstairs by tomorrow (I hope!).  Then I can get back to doing what I started upstairs.

Once this is all done and over with we will be on maintenance.  The kids have all been a big help lugging boxes and such.

I have some before and after pictures but am not sure that I will post the before.  I have been ashamed to even let anyone go downstairs.

I will think about it…..maybe it will be encouraging to someone else in our position to see that it can be done……just bring some of your close friends in to help.

I just thought I would put in an update on what we are doing and how it is been going……..

June 24, 2007 - Posted by | Books, Celebrations, Decluttering, Friends, Organization, Sanity

8 Comments »

  1. Ginger, I think it is awesome what you are doing. And you should not be ashamed of it to post pictures. You should be proud of your accomplishment!! I grew up with a mom who kept everything, not matter what. As time went on she got worse and worse about letting anything go. When she died… oh my goodness… I cannot tell you the process we had to go through to get rid of all of her stuff. It made me realize how much stuff I was holding on to that seemed senseless. It was hard but alot was gotten rid of. You go girl!!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | June 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’m so glad that you are getting this done and that you have help and no fighting. I have a few friends who’ve offered to help me do something similar here. I just may have one come over the week that I don’t have any of my family here – hubby at work, son in St. Louis, and daughter at camp.

    Comment by Elaine | June 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. Great job, Ginger! Keep up all the hard work so that you can reap the fruit of your labors. It will be so freeing to have all the cleaning and de-cluttering done. You can just enjoy your home and your family without all the stress the clutter brings. HUGS!!!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | June 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. Way to go!

    I find it fun too… crazy eh?

    I need to do some purging in our smaller house but will have to do it later. And I’m about ready to post pictures of my house. So if you are thinking you need to post for a photo fix… post a pic or two of young lady P… I haven’t seen her since the early days. I’ll watch the forum for that! 😀

    Oh, I am so excited for you! It sounds like it is going to be wonderful!

    Comment by songbirdy | June 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. Whoohoo! We just finished with the sewing area and realised that it’s 3am!!! Time flew and we were enjoying it 😀

    Charlene, you would be proud. Out of 2 long tubs and 4 small tubs of material…Ginger kept just enough to fill 1 long tub, if that (and it’s all neatly on shelves where it can be seen and insisted upon “sew me next!”)

    Comment by apuritanlady | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  6. Sleepymamma…..I just threw away the biggest yard sale…lol. But it would have never come to fruition. It is a daunting task to say the least. I may post some before and after…Thanks for the encouragement and the story. If we can keep this up, hopefully my kids won’t have to go thru this. On top of that…..It will all ready have been sorted in case my husband pursues his recently idea of moving to Alaska to look for a job….:)

    As long as they are respectful about this still being your things and having to part with it…it goes really well. It has been wonderful. Liberating actually. It has actually been lots of fun doing it with other people. I know there is no way we could have accomplished what we did with out the help. I didn’t ask any of these ladies to help. Colleen called the day before and said she was coming. Wendi and Margie just showed up…..those two are gangbusters….:)

    Comment by gingerporter | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. At this rate Beth, K3 and Robbie will have a hard time setting up store…:) They will have a blast when you come back up for a visit. The toy room has been set up with a computer area, plus the 60 gallons of legos. The art cabinet has been totally organized. It will be easy for them to pull out a drawer and go to town. We still have the school side to do….but that won’t take long….( I hope).

    Birdy…I have some of the cutest pictures of P going down the slide we have in our backyard. She giggled so hard…..Of course someone has to ride down the slide with her in their lap….this one is a big slide and has a little dip at the bottom that sends you sailing….:)

    Comment by gingerporter | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  8. I will have to post a picture of the tubs of material that I had. Mind you the majority of that was given to me by a lady in our church who was moving. Her husband didn’t want to pack any of that away and cart it to Florida…so she gave me all of her craft supplies.

    Then I will need to take a picture of exactly what I kept versus what C is taking back to PA with her…..Hmmmm…another shopper come to my house….

    I actually was glad to give it to her….I would give anything away if I thought someone could use it. Her hubbies car is going back packed with stuff and her van….She might have to leave P with me to get her stash home………;). I would keep M also…actually I would keep them all….I will have to post a story about the 6 year old I and what he said to me….You guys will crack up. I know my daughter loved it!!!!!!!

    It had something to do with my age…….

    Comment by gingerporter | June 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

