Ginger

Decluttering Funny…….

I have alot of people who came to help…none of which I asked for…..they were friends who were willing to give of their time.  This was the hugest blessing for me.

Feeding that many people has been fun….the thing is we would be busy sorting and such so my daughter would start dinner.  It was simple fare for the kids so things like hot dogs and mac-n cheese kinda stuff.  Homemade burritos.

Sunday night I fixed a special dinner….It sounds weird but the combo of seasonings actually works with this.  I took a pork loin roast and cubed it.  Stir fried it with Sazon, Mrs Dashes Garlic and herb seasoning, some chicken base, worcestershire sauce and apple butter.

An Aside…apple butter can be uses as a substitute for Hoi Sin sauce if you don’t have any on hand.   It is also a great compliment with Pork.

I then thru in a couple cartons of broth and a huge bag of California blend veggies (broccoli,cauliflower,carrots and mushrooms).  We had this over rice.

6 year old “I”, who is a boy, is standing there telling me how he likes to cook….Conversation went something like this……(I) is the 6 year old boy. (G) is me….

(I) “I like to cook Aunt Ginger. I cook really good oatmeal but I don’t do grits. Grits are nasty….”

(G)”I don’t think so….I happen to like grits..!”

(I)”That looks almost like stew.  I really like stew.  Someday I am going to learn how to make stew.”

(G)”Yes, it does sort of look like a stew.  It will be nice and thick to eat over the rice.”

(I)”When I learn how to make stew I will have to cook it for you……..weelll maybe.”

(G)”Ohhh, that would be so nice.  Are you going to come visit me when you know how to make stew and prepare it for me?”

(I)”Well, maybe. If you are still alive when I learn how to make it….You are in your 40’s you know.  You might be dead all ready!”

He is standing at the stove watching me while my daughter is sitting at the computer just rollinnggg.  She looks at me and said, “Oh Daddy gonna love this one!!!”

He will enjoy it after her log cabin remark to him……..

It’s so funny to see how younger kids look at age…..I bet when (I) hits 40 he will look at it alot differently and maybe I will need to remind him of this conversation…….

June 25, 2007 - Posted by | Boys, Celebrations, Children, Decluttering, Food/Recipes, Friends, Growing up, Humor, Just Life

5 Comments »

  1. hehehe…Don’t ya just love the lil ones

    Comment by kimhsmom | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  2. Too Cute!

    My daughter is going to grow up and move in with me and be my sister when she grows up.

    Its nice to think that I won’t be growing any older 😀

    Whereas my son likes to talk about my white hairs to strangers. Something like, “Mommy says they make her look smart and extinguished (distinguished) but I know it just makes her old!”

    Comment by songbirdy | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. Ha Ha, that is funny! I love it when the kid make comments about age, they are so clueless about it. K4 thinks her “daddy is old, like maybe 57″…he is only 38!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  4. 😆
    What a hoot.
    You mean that being in your 40s makes you old!!! And here I thought that I was just getting started with my life. 😀

    Comment by Elaine | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  5. We want pictures…hint, hint…

    Comment by apuritanlady | June 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

