Ginger

Taking a Time Out…..

We’ve had to take a time out to take care of some much needed family issues.

These issues had some influence on the whole decluttering dash. Hmmmm….Yes it was a dash. A mad dash!!!

I am still sorting books……my goodness we could open up our own small community library with the amount of books we posses. I could get rid of anything accept my books.

I am a little odd in that I love to pick up a book. Flip thru the pages. Sniff…yes I said sniff the book. There is just something about the scent of books.

Whether they be new books or much older books that carry around age. I like smells. Well, maybe not really odd. There are some smells that make one just want to inhale as deep as they can and commit that scent to memory. I want to fill my lungs as full as they will go and just hold it there.

Scents are like a memory. Smelling is one of the strongest triggers for a memory. Some can be pleasant others rather repugnant.

When I grocery shop, I will pick up each item of produce and give it a good long (quiet) sniff. I have been known to sniff a few peppers, and I think we all enjoy fruit. My kids think I am weird……we will just have to wait and see which one of them starts doing this when they are on their own and shopping. One of them will….it’s a given.

My favorite things to smell……..

Lilacs….

Lilly of the Valley…..

The roses my husband brought home this week (they have the loveliest scent)…..

Coconut…….I don’t know what it is about coconut. That has to be one of my favorites. I have coconut body wash, shampoo and body cream. It’s a smell associated with something that tastes good…..

Honeysuckle………..(I have to pause here for a moment and pay tribute to honeysuckle. It reminds me of sunshine……:)) This is my husbands favorite….I try to find honeysuckle scented soaps and such….It isn’t easy…..

Wisteria….

Cut grass….especially the cut grass that has a little wild onion mixed in…..

Dirt……My husband thinks I am really strange on that one…..but I love the smell of fresh black moist dirt. It is such an earthy smell……;)

Freshly cut wood……Especially pine or cedar…..

The smell of a fireplace…….

Old Spice….it’s so manly….yet simple……

Mountain air….

Rain moving in….After the rain….

Clean laundry….

A Baby………….nothing is sweeter than a baby after a bath….

Lavender Earl Grey Tea……the aroma while steeping is heavenly…..the lavender and bergamott scents mixing…hmmmmm…..

Fresh linen sheets placed on a bed…..

The scent of my husband (after he’s showered…..:))….not post yard work please………

Leather….

The marsh smell that hits you in the face while driving across the causeway to the beach….

Waffle Ice cream cones being freshly made at the Island Creamery…….

Ocean….

My husband interjected with Bacon….this is the guy whose allergies start acting up and he has olfactory hallucinations of smelling cooked bacon….and he thinks my dirt is strange….Donuts…He loves the smell of donuts. He also likes the “barbisol and kools” from the barber shop at Quantico. He remembers his father taking him there when he was younger than the boys. I should just take them over to the base…Charlie could get his flat top he so likes…:)

Back to me….lol

This is a really weird one….but in Biology, I actually liked the formaldehyde ….of course I got stuck doing all the dissections so…..That was kinda fun….;)

I do not like the smell of fertilizer…..It’s takes some getting used to…

Getting into an elevator with someone who doesn’t prescribe to underarm hygiene…..I’ve almost vomited in an elevator once when that happened….

Dirt being baked in an oven….don’t ask…it’s one of my mother’s things…..

Paper Mills………self explanatory….:(

I’m sure I could think of more…..there are a few I cannot enter….

I thought of another one…..wet dog!! Sweaty dog smell from when a dog has been outside in the heat playing……..:(

Soooo…what do you like/dislike smelling…….?

July 2, 2007 - Posted by | Celebrations, Children, Food/Recipes, Gardening, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Observances

4 Comments »

  1. I’m not fond of wet dog, or cat, either.
    I do not like to smell myself after working out but if it’s hubby that’s been working out….. 😉

    I love the smell of dill, especially when it’s in spaghetti sauce or on salmon that is in the oven.

    Freshly baked bread or cookies.

    Apple pie.

    Many of the same things as you like plus I’m with your hubby in that I love the smell of bacon.

    Comment by Elaine | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. Ginger I like to smell of books and good soil too. I suppose my favorite scents are from leaves that grow on various plants in the yard. We have Carolina allspice bushes growing wild in the woods and their leaves smell so nice! I also like the smell of the leaves from these plants Monarda bee balm, rosemary, and spearmint.

    I don’t like perfumes or the smells from places such as the bath and body shop or from products such as hair spray.

    Happy Book Sorting! 😉
    Donna

    Comment by Donna | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. You listed most of my favorites. I agree with the fertilizer, it does take getting used to…but it comes with the territory here.

    Comment by APuritanLady | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hmm, what do I dislike…

    Laundry that didn’t get put out to dry quick enough…

    Cat Litter findings…

    That’s enough of that list!

    I love Gardenia in the floral scents. I love the smell of children after a bath. I love the smell of line dried laundry. The house after I’ve cleaned the floors (eucalyptus).

    And of course, many, many others!

    Comment by songbirdy | July 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

