Ginger

Late at Night…..

I really enjoy the quiet time late at night when everyone is in bed. The dog has finally chosen his place to lay down…(read under the table all most on top of my feet…:)) and the bird has fluffed herself up and is asleep in her little corner of her cage.

I will quite often go to this blog and pull it up just to listen to the song she has linked. I cannot listen to that song with out my eyes welling up in tears. That song has carried me thru so much in my life. It is even more poignant when you know the story behind the song.

In case you don’t know the story behind “It Is Well With My Soul” allow me to share it with you……As you read the story, click on the link above (open in a new tab) then allow the song to play in the background as you read………..

Perhaps no other Gospel song has proven what the longevity of a scripturally based song can be, as has “It Is Well With My Soul.” Yet it was written over 100 years ago in 1873.

I’ll relay the story of it’s writing as it was told to me back in the early 1940’s by George C. Stebbins, an associate of D.L. Moody and a man who knew both Horatio Spafford and Philip P. Bliss, the writers of this song.

“Mr. Spafford was a well-known Christian lawyer, in Chicago, who also had great holdings in real estate in the fast growing frontier town. He had been led into a deeper dedication of his life and wealth to the Lord through his association with D.L. Moody and Henry Moorehouse, the English Bible teacher who had come to Chicago and had preached seven sermons on John 3:16. In 1871 the great tragedy of fire struck Chicago and in a matter of a few hours much of Mr. Spafford’s real estate holdings were nothing but ashes. This proved a real test for him, but little did he know there would be a far greater testing for him in the not-too-distant future,

“After the fire, most of young Chicago lay in ruins. The first building erected on the ashes was a building built by Mr. Moody called the North Side Tabernacle. It was at this place that Mr. Spafford kept himself occupied in helping those whose loss in actual money was not as great as his; but, like the widow who gave all, they had lost all. He was fortunate for he still had his law practice, his family, and also has some equity left.

“In November of 1873, some two years after the fire, many of the schools in Chicago had not yet been rebuilt and so Mr. Spafford decided that he would take his family to England where his children could enroll in an English Academy and not be held back in their education.

“Just before they were to leave, a last minute business development made it necessary for Mr. Spafford to remain in Chicago and to send his wife and children on ahead. He would come later, on another ship.

“The Spafford family arrived safely in New York and boarded the ship Villa de Havre. Soon they were on their way to England, but in mid-ocean there was a collision between their ship and an English sailing ship. The Villa de Havre floundered and sank, taking with her to the bottom of the ocean most of those on board, including the Spafford’s four daughters. Mrs. Spafford was found barely conscious but clinging to a piece of wreckage. While aboard the rescue ship which was taking her and the other survivors to England, she was able to draft a short message which was sent to her husband in Chicago. It read, “Saved, alone.”

“When Mr. Spafford received this message, the tragedy of the fire seemed but nothing in comparison to what this cablegram implied. Money and burned buildings could be replaced but his children were gone! It was through these clouds of darkness and despair that there shone, into the heart of Horatio G. Spafford, the bright light of God’s promise. God would not forsake him in the trying hour no matter what the circumstances. Peace like a river or sorrows like sea billows — with God all is well!

“Captured by this thought, Mr. Spafford quickly penned the words of the song that soon would herald its way through the Christian church and encourage multitudes. It would continue doing so for over a hundred years. When he finished writing the words, Mr. Spafford took the poem over to a friend and neighbor who also lived on May Street. His name was Philip P. Bliss, and the composer who gave the words a most fitting melody– one that has kept the message of the song alive and vibrant all of these years.” ……Alfred B Smith

**********************************************************

“It Is Well With My Soul”

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

*********************************************************

Sometimes I have to stop and remind myself of who is in control…..no matter what the world throws at us….He is always there in control.  All He asks is that we trust Him.  When we yield our lives totally and completely, not holding anything back….It will always be well with our soul. This song has seen me through some of the darkest days of my life……Yes…there are times that I sing the last verse the most….Lord hast the day when my faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll; The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend, Even so, it is well with my soul…….

I am so grateful that as a little girl, I walked forward in an old fashioned tent meeting and met my Lord. My sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more…..It is well with my soul. 

*The story of Horatio Spafford was taken from “Alfred B Smith’s Treasury of Hymn Histories”.  Living Hymns

 

July 26, 2007 - Posted by | Bible Study, Books, Celebrations, Faith, Just Life, Music, Observances, Religion, Songs

2 Comments »

  1. I agree that is a very special hymn. There are those who feel they have no meaning to day but I’m glad that there are many who don’t believe that to be true and so keep them alive.

    Comment by Elaine | July 26, 2007 | Reply

  2. That hymn has always been dear to me as well. Thanks for the post, G.

    Comment by apuritanlady | July 26, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

