Ginger

A Long Week……Part 1

This has been a long week for me. It started out by arguing with HST+. It has a steep learning curve and my brain is partially fried right now. I did manage to get through a few things and am slowly starting to understand. (Sort Of…..)

I then get a phone call from a friend asking me to help her son with his book report. At first is was one, no problem. I had to refresh my memory with the book. No problem. Then he gets here and I find out we are actually correcting two other reports and the one book report is actually two book reports done on the one book….not a problem. THEN…there is the last book report. He hasn’t even read the book yet. This should be interesting. Still not a problem….I love his mother as one of my dearest friends. She is an awesome lady who just happens to have 8 kids. Two sets of twins. It is one of the older twins that I am helping. He is such a goofy but sweet kid. He sort of lives in his own little world at times. He is also 16. Anyway….we corrected the two reports and got part 1 of the third report done. Then something happened.

My niece showed up.

He tells her that he remembers when she was little….”Hello!” He is only 2 years older than her……:) There went the concentration and his attention right out the window. I had to ban the girls from the upstairs to get him to concentrate. He will be back on Monday to finish part 2 of the third report and start reading the other book. My house is not quite as chaotic as his..so I offered to let him stay here and read. “WE” are reading The Merchant of Venice. This should be fun. It’s been awhile since I read that one……so it will be a refresher for me.

On top of all of that….another friend has a birthday this weekend. Saturday to be exact. She was “concerned” that her husband hadn’t called me yet to finalize the details. I didn’t know he was supposed to finalize details with me….I didn’t even know I had a part in any of the details accept for offering to make her CC’s famous chocolate cake (with a few ammendments….:)) No….apparently I was supposed to do the cooking for the party also…..Now I have a friend who is angry that her husband can’t get it right on her birthday. “HELLOOOO”, I told her she was expecting too much from him when he didn’t know what she wanted to begin with….this pacified her somewhat.

Here I am on the house phone talking with her, calming her down. The husband used taking the trash out as an excuse to call me on his cell phone….I have the house phone on one ear and MY cell phone on the other ear listening to the wife rant in the one and the husband asking me to help him salvage what he messed up on, somehow not realizing what exactly it is he did wrong…….

Are you still with me……?

She hangs up…..Finally!! He is off to the grocery store…..I told him to just pick up whatever he wanted fixed and we could either do it at my house or do it at their apartment. You can’t have a grill at their apartment. Sooooooo. He calls me from the store to tell me that he got a package of steaks, but wasn’t sure what exactly the type of meat it was….if it was soso or good steak. It was okay steak….until I marinaded it. It was fantastic steak the next day when I cooked it…..:) He also got a large package of hot dogs for all the kids.

I guess he forgot that he should probably have something else…or they would just be eating steak and cake. Hey….that would have worked for me…..:)

I had been so busy with the book report that I didn’t think to ask what he was having as a side dish. I should have really paid attention to that on Friday. Saturday saw me in the usually horrendous traffic for the weekend here, trying to get to the store and back home in time to start his steak on my grill. He was in class so he couldn’t cook….or help. He wasn’t supposed to be out of class until 4. He got home early and was told to call me about some chicken. I didn’t know about any chicken….and he was off to the pool to swim with his wife. Okay….I am picky about how steaks are cooked anyway…..so I didn’t say much.

Back to the side dishes…….I ran out to the local stuffmart to grab some more almond flavoring for the ganache filling for the cake. I also needed some garlic seasoning for the potatoes. I nuke them first to pre-cook. I then cut them in half and baste them with a butter, garlic and herb seasoning with some sea salt and a dash of parmesan cheese. I cook them on the grill untill the skins are nice and crunchy and the white part is a nice golden brown. They are yummy this way. It was my idea to just do the roasted potatoes and mac’n cheese for the kids. I could have bought or made some potatoe salad or macaroni salad…..but they are such picky eaters……If you haven’t figured it out….I am either a walking piece of carpet that says doormat or just a good friend. I know I am whining a little but this was not the week for me to have to do so many other things and nooooo since she looks on me as a surrogate mother/sister I couldn’t let her down. I really don’t mind doing things like this for them….It was just a little overwhelming on this particular week. I also had a selfish ulterior motive….;) My friend doesn’t cook that well…..and we happen to like my cooking and I knew if I cooked it? It would be good…yes…that was humility….:)

Back to the store if you are still hanging in here……
I only live five minutes from stuff mart. It took me 58 minutes to get home….When I got home I handed the potatoes to hubby and asked him to scrub in between him putting up my new curtains…..Hopefully our dog will leave these alone. He has gotten used to the piano being in front of the window so maybe the curtains won’t bother him anymore. Having a great pyrenees has not been dull.

Here I am weighing my Ghiradelli semi sweet chocolate chips. I have my vanilla out and remembered that one of the people coming to my friends house is severely nuts, allergic I mean. Hmmmm….that means I cannot use the pure almond extract in the ganache. Kahlua….Kahlua works….I mean the cake all ready has espresso powder in it…..what’s a little more coffee flavor…….:)

It was at this point I remembered the one thing I absolutely went out to get……….? I forgot!! I am now doing a frantic search on the internet for whipping cream substitutions. I decided to check out the ever faithful WTOP.com (Local news, traffic and weather every 8 on the 8  ) Traffic land cameras……Did you know that the beltway, I95, Woodrow Wilson Bridge, the Chesapeake Bay bridge are all on camera….? Oh yes….if you are truly bored and want to feel sorry for me…..go look some day…Mon-Fri between 4 and 7pm. Who knows….you might actually see my car sitting there somewhere along that stretch of highway………

There is a break in traffic so I run back out to get whipping cream. I opted not to use the substitutions……left my house at 3:28 and pulled back into my driveway at 4:02. That was pretty good for a Saturday….at least in our neck of the woods. I left hubby scrubbing potatoes….and nuking them. He didn’t realize that it takes 10 minutes to do 6 potatoes and sometimes you have to add an extra five if they are large. We had 12 potatoes to do. He tells me they are in the oven staying warm…..So…me being me….must check the potatoes.

They were still hard……….all I could think was they are not done….and started to laugh. My hubby, being the smart man that he is looks at me funny….I guess it wasn’t a normal laugh? I don’t know……He says, “the potatoes are still hot.” “Yes, I know that” grimacing I replied. “They are also not done.” “They’re not?” “No……they are still hard,” as I am gingerly squeezing each potato. I just turned around and looked at him. I had to ask……”Did you feel them before taking them out of the microwave?” “NO…” he replied. “Why not?” Do you know what he had the nerve to tell me…..?

“Of course not!!…They were too hot!”

I could tell just from looking at his face that we both had the same thought running through our heads. Yep!! Hot potato, hot potato…..Needless to say….we both started laughing. That lightened the mood a little……we did get all of the food cooked and delivered with only one minor incident.

I burnt my belly.

I burnt my belly from the heat of the grill roasting potatoes, cooking hot dogs and 16 steaks. Go figure.

I forgot to mention that this week started out by sitting with my sister at the emergency room with my niece for 8 hours….I’ll just save that one for tomorrow…..I ended up with a major migraine from all that cooking in the heat and not drinking enough….I finally was able to get up around noon on Sunday…..but since I slept so much….here I sit at 2am.

Everything came together like it was supposed to and the food was a big hit….I soothed feathers and ruffled heads…..just a normal day around here……..

Wow…..did you actually make it all the way through…….? You deserve a piece of chocolate overdose cake…..I will send you mine….:)

August 6, 2007 - Posted by | Allergy, Celebrations, Family, Food/Recipes, Friends, Humor, Just Life, Marriage, Men, Observances, Sanity, Teenagers

10 Comments »

  1. of course I made it through…….and I have already had my cake thanks to you. Will be posting that when I get a chance, probably later this week, it is crazy here this week. Love you, the cake was fabulous. Oh yes, the dvd’s were an even bigger hit, Cami and Noah love them almost s much as their father.

    Comment by celticmuse | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. What a week & day you had! I can’t imagine running out so many times for items I had forgotten. Your traffic is horrid~!

    I’d love a piece of cake, it sounds delicious!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Next time make a LIST. 😆

    Truly I do appreciate what you went through and I think that you’re not a doormat but a very good friend who sometimes has a hard time telling friends that she’s too busy to help them. But that is what makes you a special friend – your willingness to make sacrifices for those you care about.

    I’m glad that the party was a success. Having a burned belly is not a good thing.

    Take care and know that I think of you often and pray for you regularly. (((((Ginger)))))

    Comment by Anonymous | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. My! And I thought my week had been crazy! Bless you for all you went through!

    Comment by APuritanLady | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  5. Beth…we are making another cake…want me to mail you a piece? 🙂

    Anon…I am thinking this is Elaine…Yes…I should have made a list….

    That doesn’t even begin to explain the rest of the week….lol

    Comment by gingerporter | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  6. Oh, you don’t need to mail me a piece of cake, I am sure it would be absolutely delicious & quite melted by the time it was delivered. Next time we are up North you can make me my own cake…I’ll share of course!

    You are such a sweet, generous, loving friend! I am so thankful that we have been able to meet & visit.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  7. I could you know….I actually express mailed Michielle two pieces with some Robin Hood Dvd’s she wanted.

    After having her wisdom teeth pulled she felt she needed some really good chocolate.

    Comment by gingerporter | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  8. Yes, Ginger that was me, 🙄 I don’t know what happened I must have had Google Reader up and not open WP. So how did you know it was me??

    Comment by Elaine | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. When a comment is left you would see the persons name and IP number. If you click on the IP number it gives some basic info that if you know the person you can figure out who it is. It gave me the info on your internet provider. But only basic stuff like location…..That made it very easy..:)

    Comment by gingerporter | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  10. 😆

    Um.. 😆

    You’re a sweet heart!

    Comment by songbirdy | August 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

