Ginger

Cinnamon Burgers with Garlic Seasoning No Less…:)

My sister was visiting this weekend. We have a special relationship now. It hasn’t always been this way. It was due more to our ages and separation than us just not getting along.

I am 10 years older than her. When we were 15 and 5 respectively, we were put in foster homes. They couldn’t find one that would take both of us so we were separated. It was quite some time before I was able to visit or see her. Neither of us had great foster homes and I would have to say hers was the worst. We eventually got back in contact when she was 13-14 years old. Her new foster family allowed me to come and spend weekends visiting with her and even allowed me to stay a weekend once while they went out of town.

She would have been about 16 I believe when I was able to get custody of her. That was an interesting year. It would have been better for all if our mother had not undermined my authority with her….but you live and learn.

We were both pregnant at the same time with out daughters. Her daughter was born in September and mine in November. Cherokee moans about her cousin, Colleen (my daughter) being 2 months younger and a foot taller. They may be a little closer in height now. I think Cherokee actually comes up to Colleen’s chin. I come up to my daughter’s chin so that isn’t saying much.

She has another daughter that is closer to my second son. (3rd child) This one is all tomboy. She likes to play with the boys. She has quite the snappy wit. It goes with her red hair.

Over the years we have grown closer and I really enjoy our time together. She has that rare ability to make me laugh. She thinks I am smart….which of course all younger siblings should think the oldest is smart. We generally are……:)

Before she went home Monday, our youngest sister called to see what time they thought they would be leaving my house. Our youngest sister, her two children and our mother live with Peaches. (That isn’t her real name but she has been called that since birth. She looked like a ripe Georgia peach, all peachy and fuzzy….) Peaches told her to go ahead and start dinner, when she was done, just put a plate aside for her and the girls.

She gets off the phone and tells me that sometimes it isn’t worth the hassle of asking Mom or Ris to fix or help with dinner. She firmly believes that sometimes Mom will “burn” dinner just so Peaches won’t ask her to cook. This is not always the case, but sometimes. Mom’s attention to detail is quickly fading due to her age and health problems. She doesn’t always focus on what she is supposed to be doing.

This one particular evening, Peaches didn’t feel like cooking dinner. She told Mom that if she would mix the hamburger and the seasoning, make the patties, Cherokee could cook dinner.

They use a lot of garlic seasoning. You’ve probably seen or have in your pantry the big bottle with the garlic and dried parsley. Peaches had saved an empty container, scrubbed it out, and mixed cinnamon and sugar in the container. Removing the old label of course.

She was sitting on her couch and smelled cinnamon. We are all familiar with the smell of cinnamon when it is cooking. It is one of those scents that is easy to pick out.

She walks into the kitchen and looks at Mom asking,”Do I smell cinnamon?” Mom growled, “Don’t ask!” Peaches reaches over and pinches off a piece of hamburger that was all ready done….”Ohhhh,Yuck!” Pulling both containers down from the cabinet, she holds them up in front of Mom. “I can see how you would mix up the reddish brown cinnamon with the white and green bespeckled garlic! They are so close in color…”

Mom said that when she realized what she had done she tried to doctor the hamburger up by adding the extra garlic seasoning. Ummmm, it didn’t work.

I had to ask……”Did you actually eat them?” She replied,”Yes….when you’re hungry enough you’ll eat anything. I couldn’t let them go to waste. But those were the sweetest hamburgers I’ve ever had!”

You can take it on her authority…..cinnamon sugar burgers do not go well with lettuce, mayo, pickles and onions!!! No matter how much garlic you try to add……they will still taste like cinnamon.

August 8, 2007 - Posted by | Family, Food/Recipes, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Observances

7 Comments »

  1. ewwww, yuck, I think I would have tossed them and made mom pay for dinner out at mcd’s

    Comment by celticmuse | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. OK, now I better understand our conversation last night 😆 Not sure I would have been able to eat those burgers. Sure is funny though. And here I was thinking that you’d made these burgers on a whim or something.

    Comment by Elaine | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. They couldn’t no one had any money…..lol. hey…now they know what doesn’t work as hamburger seasoning….at least not half a jug……

    Comment by gingerporter | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. EWWW! That sounds gross! I don’t think we would have been able to eat the cinnamon burgers. Dh would have sprung for dinner off the $1 menu at Wendys.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | August 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. Mmmmm… :p

    But it does make me 😆 And we would have likely eaten them here too. Not much else to do, can’t waste bad food!

    Comment by songbirdy | August 9, 2007 | Reply

  6. Actually this concoction is VERY good. I am now on the internet trying to find a recipe similar to one that my sister made (now deceased) back in ’69. She called it Chinese Beef and consisted of hamburger, browned, mushroooms (canned), snow peas, and water chestnuts. Her seasoning is what I am looking for. I know that the recipe contained ginger, cinnamon and garlic. May just have to experiment. However, over rice, this make an excellent quick and easy dish and is VERY tasty.

    Comment by Gail | July 13, 2008 | Reply

  7. Well I have to reply to this… Ive made cinnimon burgers and they were divine! I loved them as my family did! I think that you added way to much… try it again and add less then whatever it was that you added! The taste is suppose to be faint, but still there!
    Keep trying….. Youll love them i swear!

    Sheena

    Comment by Raypold | June 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

