Ginger

No Grand-Daddy Long Legs…..

We’ve lived in our home for nine years. Every summer when you would go out back on the deck you could look under the eaves and see it covered with Grand-daddy Long Legs.

One summer we were in quite a drought. My husband and I were out back talking and I had placed a glass of ice water on the railing. A grand-daddy long leg climbed down, wrapped his legs around my cup and started drinking the condensation from the side of the glass. So we went in and found little bottle caps and placed them on the railing for the spiders to get a drink. I took pictures and will need to find them so I can post a few.

This year I have noticed that there are absolutely no grand-daddy long legs hanging around anywhere. I haven’t seen any in the front of the house nor the back.

My fear of spiders is legendary to my family so for me to go looking for spiders is beyond their belief of any thing I would actually do…..Spider hunting isn’t one of them.

I actually did a search on spiders. I have some friends who would seriously be impressed by that little bit of info. I learned that they are also known as “Harvestmen” due to the time of year they are usually present. They are not actually considered spiders…..could a fooled me.

They are missing and I don’t know why. That is the one piece of information I have not been able to locate. Any one have any ideas on where my missing daddy-long-legs have disappeared to?

Here is a link if you are interested in looking into these dare I say fascinating little Opiliones.

September 11, 2007 - Posted by | Critters, Curiosity, Humor, Just Life, Observances, Wild Animals

3 Comments »

  1. Cool, I would love to see pictures!

    Comment by APuritanLady | September 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. OK
    I have no idea why you’re not seeing the Opiliones around your place. I’ve seen a few up here but not too many.

    Keep us updated as to what you learn.

    Comment by Elaine | September 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. I as well as my neighbors have noticed that since around the first of July the daddy long leg population has disappeared!I don’t like them so it is wonderful news to me but It does bother me that they just left! The wasp population is gone as well.I wondered if birds and larger insects may be eating them in preparation for a brutal winter.I have read that this can happen to other species.I live in Georgia so a brutal winter is almost comical,but with the way our world is now-I will not be surprised! Let me know if anyone knows what is going on with the Harvestmen!

    Comment by Anonymous | August 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

