Ginger

Temples

My children and I have been enrolled in our local rec center. We have done swimming all summer and not wanting to loose those skills, we are continuing through the fall. We have also been doing the Youth Fitness and Strength Training classes along with Pilates.

I have watched the change in myself and my children. We are a little trimmer and very excited about what we are doing. I have slimmed down a little and have a little more flexibility myself.

As a Christian Homeschooling Mom alot of the things we do we apply a spiritual lesson to. If we can teach our children spiritual things and give it a life application it seems to stick with them. That is the best way to have children memorize scripture. It truly helps if we can show them how these verses have a life application. They then become a living breathing verse.

I was talking to my husband and that always means trouble for him….:-). It is never a simple question. Those are the kind we like. I asked him if he ever thought about temples. Yes, I got a rather dumbfounded look from him. He told me that he had never really spent much time contemplating temples.

The world is filled with temples. Temples built of stone, brick, mortar and wood. We have read and seen pictures of the temples of the Mayans and Aztecs and of the grizzly sacrifices made there. There are beautiful temples all through India, China and Japan, many still in use today.

There is only one temple ever recorded that had the living God, Jehovah, who would descend down from heaven onto the mercy seat. God told Moses when he (Moses) built the Tabernacle in the wilderness that He would meet with him (Moses) in the Holy of Holies between the cherubim on the mercy seat.

Exo 25:22 And there I will meet with thee, and I will commune with thee from above the mercy seat, from between the two cherubims which are upon the ark of the testimony, of all things which I will give thee in commandment unto the children of Israel.

Many scholars believe that when the ark which was the mercy seat disappeared God no longer came down to the temple. Most of what we read in scripture will support this truth. The last time the ark was in the temple was under the reign of the boy King Josiah who led a spiritual revival in Israel.

2Chronicles 35:1-3 Moreover Josiah kept a passover unto the LORD in Jerusalem: and they killed the passover on the fourteenth day of the first month. (2) And he set the priests in their charges, and encouraged them to the service of the house of the LORD, (3) And said unto the Levites that taught all Israel, which were holy unto the LORD, Put the holy ark in the house which Solomon the son of David king of Israel did build; it shall not be a burden upon your shoulders: serve now the LORD your God, and his people Israel,

Twenty two years after King Josiah died, Judah fell to Babylon and the Ark disappeared. There are several theories on where and what happened to the Ark.

*The Ark was destroyed by Babylon when the Temple was burned to the ground or it was captured and taken back, melted down for the gold.

*This theory states that Jeremiah, having been told by God, took the Ark and hid it in caves beneath the Temple Mount now known as Solomon’s Quarry. The other theory which is the strongest is that Jeremiah warned by God hid the Ark in caves near Mt. Nebo which is now modern day Jordan. This theory is supposed to be supported by verses found in the Apocrypha, 2Maccabees 2:4-5.

*Another theory is that the Ark was translated or raptured, being taken up into Heaven to prevent it from falling into the hands of the Chaldeans (Babylon). This theory is based on a reference to the Ark in Revelation 11:15.

What of the Temple today and where does God reside? There are differing beliefs even among Christians today but basically we can all agree that we are now the Temple. If we have accepted Christ into our hearts we now have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. We are now the Temple. Not one made of stone, brick and mortar. A living breathing Temple.

John 14:23 Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him.

John 14:16-17 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever: (17) Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.

My grandmother told me stories of an uncle in our family. I never had the priviledge of meeting him but I did get to hear him preach. She remembers him as a little girl watching him stand on a stump in the field down in the holler preaching to the other boys while they were working in the garden. She always referred to him as Uncle Bass. Uncle Bass became a preacher. Every time he wrote a new book he would send my grandmother a copy inscribed from “Uncle Bass.” I do not have any of those books but I do have a few of Uncle Bass’s sermons on audio. One of my favorites is one that he preached on the Holy Spirit. Why I bring this up is because Uncle Bass did not like people referring to the Holy Spirit as “It.” He is a he a him, part of the Trinity. We can see from the above verses that Christ, the Son of God, said the Father would send a Comforter and He would dwell in us. Not an it.

That sermon was preached by Dr. B.R. Lakin or Uncle Bass as my grandmother called him. You will be blessed if you can find it. But Uncle Bass was right. We have a living part of the Trinity, part of the Godhead living in us….part of God. We are the living Temple now. Wow….

1Corinthians 3:16-17 Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you? (17) If any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy; for the temple of God is holy, which temple ye are.

2Corinthians 6:16 And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

Ephesians 2:19-22 Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God; (20) And are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Jesus Christ himself being the chief corner stone; (21) In whom all the building fitly framed together groweth unto a holy temple in the Lord: (22) In whom ye also are builded together for a habitation of God through the Spirit.

Paul reminds us that we are the Temple, our bodies have the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. He is living in us convicting, converting, controlling and counseling.

My Temple has needed a little work. It has fallen into a little disrepair. The upkeep on my Temple hasn’t been what it should be….not just my physical Temple but my Spiritual Temple. My body, mind and heart have needed some girding up. I am trying to rebuild the outward supports but taking care to remove inside that which offends the Indwelling Holy Spirit, the Comforter.

I am taking this opportunity to teach my children about their Temple. I don’t want them to exercise and try to be as healthy as they can for the world but for that which abides in us. Not everyone is going to have a Temple that will walk around with 6 pac abs. Paul suffered infirmities. Moses stuttered. Timothy had ulcers. I have another friend who has a debilitating disease that leaves her very ability to walk and move around filled with pain. God can use us still even when our physical Temple is broken a little or alot. We still must have a care. Our hearts must remain drawn to Him who saved us. Our Temple is all of us….mind, body, heart and soul. Each part must be tended….which part of my Temple have I neglected to care for?

I ‘m not going to tell you….;-). I do know that in order to keep my Temple the way it should be so that I will be found pleasing unto the Lord will be to stay in His Word daily. To be in contact daily through prayer and supplication. To feed it through His Word and fellowship with like minded believers and the foolishness of preaching which God chooses to use. While working on the internal structure of my Temple I will also be working on the foundation.

Is your Temple in good repair…..doing this with my children has caused me to reflect on many things in my life……My Temple needs a little help, there are some obstacles needing to be removed……I would encourage you to examine yours and see where the holes need to be patched before the roof caves in………This isn’t anything I didn’t know…..but now I really know…….

In case you are wondering….no one nows where the Ark of the Covenant is located.

September 18, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Bible Study, Celebrations, Children, Christianity, Faith, Family, Gardening, Growing up, Homeschooling, Observances, Obstacles, Religion, Victory, Weightloss

3 Comments »

  1. First to your last comment – God knows where it is and that is enough for me. I’m no Indiana Jones just dieing to find the Ark. And one day I too will know where it is and what happened to it…if I’m not so over whelmed by sitting at the feet of Jesus listening to Him and praising Him.

    You are so right about the Temple. We are the Temple if we believe the Scriptures. He dwells in us not a building.

    I too have neglected His Temple w/in me and need to get back at keeping it in much better shape. I’m ashamed that He has such a messy, almost trashed, place to call home.

    Personally I’m glad that at the time when I get to Heaven I’ll be given a glorified and perfect body that no one will be ashamed of.

    Comment by Elaine | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. Amen Elaine!!!!! Can’t wait for the glorified body…..Just figured I’d better take care of this one till I get that one…..:-)

    Comment by gingerporter | September 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. I read the same understanding as you on this subject of temples. My father and I were talking about this several years ago after I lost the majority of my weight. He wanted me to write a book about eating healthy as a Christian with the emphasis on the fact that as Christians we should make choices to live the healthiest lives out of respect for the body/temple that we have been gifted by God.

    I am glad you’ve been enjoying success, and must say I need to do some more work myself!

    Comment by songbirdy | September 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

