Ginger

We have a Bird…..

Actually we have two birds…..this one is a new addition to our family. He is an African Timneh Gray. He is quite a character but with the name of Loki what could one expect.

He all ready has dinner time down. He knows when we eat and likes to join us. Do not leave him out.

We neglected to get him for dinner one night and he could tell it was something he would like so he flew over to the pot and decided to check it out. The pan had been sitting there so it had cooled off. he doesn’t like the floret part of the broccoli. That he throws at you….He seems to only like the stem part.

I removed him from the pan and he sat on my arm flicking broccoli at me…:-)

loki55.jpg

We haven’t had mashed potatoes in over two months. My family loves mashed potatoes especially my daughter so I limit how often and how much we have when I do make them. Apparently Loki luuuvvss mashed potatoes. Did I forget to mention that he likes to be spoon fed. He really likes to be spoon fed. He will pick my spoon or fork up and throw it at me so I will feed him. I am not sure who is training whom…..

loki66.jpgloki67.jpg

He buried his beak as far up as he could and had a ball. Of course I should have ducked…….

loki68.jpg

I’m not sure how much he actually ate and how much I ended up wearing…..I went to put the spoon down and Loki ran down my arm chasing the spoon. He grabbed it out of my hand, dragged it back up to my shoulder and proceeded to eat. I’m a good birdy momma.

Of course after all that he had to have a drink. We have started fixing him his own glass of ice water. It isn’t good for birds to eat after humans due to the bacteria we have in our mouths. He ran down my arm got himself a drink and started dragging ice back up to my shoulder to munch on. My husband keeps laughing and wondering if Loki ever gets “little birdy brain freeze.”

loki69.jpg

That’s a nightly dinner at our house unless we have company. Loki and Maxi are locked up so they won’t fly over to us….We do still fix them a bowl but most people wouldn’t appreciate having a free range bird sharing dinner or wanting to check their plate out to see if they have any thing different from the rest of us. All though tonight I was only able to finish my green beans and half a piece of chicken. Guess who stole the other half…….

Loki and Maxi will have to live with us till we die. We could never send them to another home. Those two would go into culture shock and not many would allow them to free range. Maxi likes to get down and walk through the house to see what is going on. She will also fly around looking for my daughter. Especially if she hasn’t gotten up yet. Loki is still getting his wings. His take offs are getting better and he is finally starting to land a little better. He hasn’t flown into the chair or wall in over a week. With birds you must have care though. When I am cooking Loki has to be locked into his cage. It is too dangerous having a bird flying around with the stove on. The bathroom door always remains closed since no one in my house knows how to close the lid on the toilet. Yuck. Birds have drowned in bathrooms.

There is a lot of responsibility being a pet owner but even more so with birds. I thought you might enjoy a peak into dinner at our house.

September 19, 2007 - Posted by | Children, Critters, Family, Humor, Just Life

6 Comments »

  1. You are a braver woman than I. The men in this house know that they can have birds here over my dead body.

    Loki sure does love you.

    Comment by Elaine | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  2. Looks like you are having a grand time with your new birdie.

    Personally, birds are one of the things that I am deathly afraid of. I can’t go out my door if there is one on my porch.

    But, I think it is neat what yours do, I never imagined they could do that sorta thing. You know interact like that.

    Have fun with your birdies.

    Comment by Bobbie | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  3. Ginger your bird is a hoot! No pun intended, but he certainly is a cutie-pie the way he interacts with you. 🙂 I can see from your dinner-time story why people love their birds so much. 🙂

    Comment by Donna | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  4. I wanna meet your Loki! Maxi is fun, the kids love playing with her.
    You are such a good Birdie Momma!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  5. Nice birdy photos, Ginger. I will not let Denali see them though; she is not allowed to “free range”. lol

    Comment by Sheri | September 20, 2007 | Reply

  6. I think at this point a bird is the only thing we don’t have one of- LOL

    Glad to know I can visit yours and not have to bring one home. Thanks for sharing!

    Too bad my mother’s birds aren’t so well behaved- I should send her your blog addy so she can get some helpful hints!

    HUGS!

    Comment by donnamichelle | September 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

