Ginger

A Small Set Back….Almost

My children and I have been going to our local rec center and working out. We have been doing swimming all summer and started a youth fitness program. On top of that we are doing pilates. We are all showing the benefits of the different work outs.

The kids have their fitness program every Tuesday and Thursday(5pm). Monday is the home school PE class (2pm). The boys are doing this one. My daughter opted out since she was the only girl in the class. She and I go to the cardio/weight room and work out for the hour the boys are in their class. Monday/Wednesday/Friday we have pilates and there are two other home school families in that class with us (10:30 am). Saturday they have their level 5 swim class (9:45 am).

If you are not tired yet just wait. We are also enrolled, as a family group, in the America on the Move walking program. Everyone has their pedometer and at the end of the day I log in everyones steps. This has sparked a little friendly competition in the family. They really want to beat their dad and my daughter just wants to beat the boys and dad. She said a little friendly competition gets her motivated so that works for her. I am so proud of her. She seems to be really enjoying the gym time. She got me good tonight. I’ll tell that later.

Tonight we did 20 minutes of jumping rope before we went into the gym for their class. That is also another story that is kinda funny if you knew my youngest energizer bunny. While they are in class doing their workouts with the trainer and the other 7 kids I am following along with my card and hitting all the machines.

I was on the hip abductor, which is a machine you lay on your back with this padded bar s under your legs. You are using your hip and pelvic muscles to push the bar down. Silly me set the machine on 12, gave a couple of pushes and that was not enough resistance so I bumped it up to 15. All the time not realizing that the 15 stood for 150 lbs, which was still not a problem. It gave me enough of a work out yet not straining anything. I do 10 reps. It is a little tricky getting off that machine. If your legs are not on top when you release the bar it clangs down pretty loudly.

I looked up as the bar clanged down and in the row in front of me were two younger guys working out. They looked up startled and one “gentleman” said to the other that “fat women should probably loose weight before trying to come in and use these machines. Didn’t they have any idea what they looked like?

They didn’t direct the comment at me just in my vicinity. It was all I could do to hold the tears in. In the three months we have been going this was the first time anyone has ever said anything remotely cruel. The staff and even some of the other patrons have been so encouraging. One of the trainers in training thought that my daughter and I were sister’s. He was telling us what a good job we were doing. I cannot even begin to describe the look of shock on his face when he found out she was only 13. Anyway…………

I finished my weight routine and went onto the cardio to maintain a good cardio workout. It was all I could do as I stood on the treadmill looking at myself in the wall of mirrors ( I hate mirrors!!) to not burst into tears. I closed my eyes while walking on the treadmill for the 15 minutes while I was waiting for the kids.

On the drive home tears kept trying to escape and I stopped at a little store to pick up a paper and stood their staring at all the chocolate bars. I have a friend who firmly believes chocolate will cure what ever ails you and she is right. I really wanted that snickers bar but I didn’t buy it. The kids noticed the change and were wondering what was wrong. I simply said someone said something that wasn’t nice and it hurt Mommies feelings. I could either let it set me back or just try to blow it off.

On these nights we have a light meal. The kids had sandwiches with lean deli meats and my husband and I had fresh sushi…(just the veggie sushi and some spicy tuna sushi). I told my husband what happened and he said I should have said something to the two guys. We are not talking teenagers. The one man was at least in his 30’s and he was showing a younger man how to use the machine.

Tomorrow we have pilates at 10:30 and the kids always want to go and work out for a little afterwards. I don’t want to go back into that room. I know I am going to have to. My goal in doing this was twofold. One to help my children learn healthier behaviors and they are excited. They are really having fun with all of the various ways of exercising that they are learning. The other is I needed to set the example. I needed to show them that you could have fun sweating and making yourself sore and enjoy it while you were doing it….(Yeah right….lol….:-) ) They have seen the results for themselves. My lethargic exerciser (daughter) is finally enjoying herself, especially since we added the Walking program.

I am going to go in there tomorrow and do my workout but where I didn’t give a hoot before I am going to be a little more self conscious and not enjoy it as much as I did. I am also going to be on the look out for those two next week and say something.

It’s hard enough going to a gym and doing a program when you are not considered obese. Obesity brings its own little problems….besides the weight and other health issues. It takes a lot of mental psyching up to walk in to that room all the while thinking the other “smaller” people are watching the fat lady struggle. I kept telling myself that those two idiots were just jerks.

The fitness director who is a former ballerina comes in every time we are working out to make a big deal out of the kids. She tells any one who will listen how much she loves the kids and thinks we are just the coolest family because we are doing this together. I am trying to not let one stupid comment prevent me from succeeding this time.

It isn’t going to be easy……………..

September 27, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Child Training, Children, Exercising, Homeschooling, Jerks, Just Life, Observances, Obstacles, Rewards, Victory, Walking, Weightloss

11 Comments »

  1. I’m sorry Ginger, unfortunately there are rude idiots everywhere. I would have said something to them and the fitness director. I’m sure that she doesn’t want her patrons to be dealing with things like that and i”m just as sure that they have said things to others that were hurtful. Honey, God didn’t create you to be a doormat and you need to stop being one. It is ok, to stand up for yourself. You can do it without being hurtful. By saying nothing and staying hurt, you have let satan win, in some ways, you have to learn to stand up for yourself when it is justified. again i”m sorry.

    Comment by celticmuse | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thank You…..I was too stunned and hurt at the time and with my kids with in ear shot I didn’t want to create a scene. If I were truly allowing Satan the victory in this I wouldn’t be going back today.I would be coming up with excuses for us not to be going but we are going. I do plan on mentioning something to the director.I’m not going to say that it isn’t easy and that it still doesn’t bother me but at least I am going back and taking it one day at a time.

    Comment by gingerporter | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. I would have walked up to them and said “Thank you so much for that wonderfully rude comment, you inspire me to keep being better than you 😀 ” and then smile and walk away.

    Lots of Hugs to you Ma! 😀

    Comment by heathertopia | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  4. I am so sorry that those people hurt you.

    You are a beautiful person…inside and out. Don’t let them get you down!

    ((((((Hugs))))))))

    Comment by jodysgirl94 | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thanks Ladies….I did mention it to the staff today and told them I would be looking for the guys. They are regulars. I just felt I needed to do it when I wouldn’t break down in tears. I knew if I got upset so would the kids. The staff there were very unhappy over that and the one lady said when they come back she wanted to know. She would take her work shirt off and go have it out with them. I am capable of graciously putting them in there place and plan on it but yesterday wasn’t the right time.

    I did go back today and it was hard. As I was working out and having a problem with the one machine I almost started to cry and was feeling sorry for myself. With my kids there and seeing their enthusiasm…I just kept going. I will get past this and some one elses narrow minded attitude.

    Comment by gingerporter | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  6. Good for you Ginger! You are doing what you need to do for yourself, your kids and your hubby.

    Don’t let those ‘boys’ keep you from doing what you need to do. They may have a man’s body but obviously not a man’s maturity to keep thoughts to their selves.

    Comment by Elaine | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  7. 😦 How rude! Some people are just mean and shallow. ((((HUGS))))

    Comment by Donna | September 28, 2007 | Reply

  8. Now that was rude of them. I am glad you were able to go back. I think it is awesome what you and your kids are doing. I am hoping to start my kids on the Walk and myself also. I am waiting on a scholarship for the Y. To find out how much it is and then we are started. I actually can’t wait. I hope we have as much fun as you have been having. It sounds like even with the nasty rude comment you are back at it and it hasn’t interupted your progress which is great.

    Comment by Bobbie | September 29, 2007 | Reply

  9. {{{hug}}}

    Comment by songbirdy | September 30, 2007 | Reply

  10. I admire you for sticking to your exercise program. I know so many women who refuse to go to the gym because they are worried about what others might think (or say). Congrats to you and the kids for making so much progress!

    Comment by Melanie | October 1, 2007 | Reply

  11. You are skinny compared to me and an inspiration. I never understood why my parents use to say: “Rocks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.” The truth is words to hurt.
    It takes courage and guts to continue in a program where you are not the “perfect” size. Many times people say things in total ignorance without thinking. In fact, our society and the tv programs we watch endorse “say what you think.”
    My dad use to tell me, “A lady doesn’t have to use common words to put someone in place. She can do it with the help of Webster.”
    I’m sure I’m guilty of speaking before thinking. May God grant you the wisdom to know what to say if you see them again. At least you have courage and that is great! GOd created you and loves you – go out and continue to inspire!

    Comment by Woundedlily | October 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

