Ginger

“America on the Move” Walking Update

We have almost completed our first week of the “America on the Move” walking program.

My children have developed a healthy attitude of a little “friendly competition” going on with their father. I thought it would be fun to post a weekly update on our progress.

This program allows you to pick the trail you wish to walk. Me being the adventurous soul that I am, chose the Iditarod Trail. This isn’t the longest trail but neither is it the shortest. It runs 1,131 miles and requires a baseline of at least 6,230 steps per day to complete in 42 days.

We officially began our journey on September 25th in Anchorage Alaska. To date we have made it to Finger Lakes. We have logged a total of 159,240 steps which is approximately 80 miles.

In just these few short days my children have asked to wear their pedometers all year round. Even after completing this trail. They would like to try another trail.

This program also offers the “Million Step” club for kids that wish to participate. That was all I needed to say and now my children have decided that this is something they want to try for.

I have all ready begun to see changes in attitude regarding their activity level. My daughter is going out of her way to do more activities to boost her step count. If you knew my “indoor only type girl, lethargic exercising” daughter you would understand the achievement this is for her.

My sons are trying to enlist their friends in the neighborhood to participate in this program. I think that is awesome until I found out they volunteered Mom to supply the pedometers for them. I am actually considering it for one little boy though. Please pray for this little boy. My 10 and 11 year old have been witnessing to him and are really the only kids that have befriended him. He is extremely overweight….dangerously so. He is a very sweet kid. His activity level has greatly picked up since my boys have him come here to play ball or ride scooter’s. I am hoping they will have a positive effect on him.

Next week we have plans to do some nature hikes through our local National Forest. The kids are excited about this and have been coming up with all kinds of “excuses” to go for a walk. Tonight my husband and I went out and played football. We tossed the ball around and I must say I was a little pleased with myself.

This 43 year old mother was able to impress a few 11-12 year olds with her ability to drop kick a football. Not to mention my beautiful spiral throws. My son got his moms skill….:-).

This is not only generating a healthier lifestyle and activity level but is creating more family time for us now that my husband and I have an obligation to not let the 3 squirts out walk us……..

September 29, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Awards, Boys, Child Training, Children, Evangelists, Exercising, Family, Fitness, Growing up, Obstacles, Rewards, Walking, Weightloss

5 Comments »

  1. Ginger that is wonderful. And football, I haven’t tossed a football since well, my teenage years. I love hearing about your walk. It is giving me motivation. Something that I haven’t told anyone is that I have emphasyma and well, I am afraid to exercise. I keep saying well, with my empah, I just can’t do it. And it is so mild of it could be considered almost nothing but, I have been letting that be my crutch. But, this is so motivating to me. Thanks

    Comment by Bobbie | September 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. Haven’t read it all but….

    You were in Anchorage and didn’t call or allow me the opportunity to meet the 5 of you? 😕

    I am now officially offended and it will take lots of chocolate and coffee to appease me. :humph:
    :backturned: :looksaway: :noseinair:

    Comment by Elaine | September 29, 2007 | Reply

  3. You know that the above comment was a joke, right?

    I knew that you were doing a program but thought I’d be a bit ornery today. 😆

    Comment by Elaine | September 30, 2007 | Reply

  4. LOL…Yes I knew you were joking…..I was even expecting you to say something like that….:-)

    I thought it was really cute. We are up passed Rohn now….LOL. We will try to stop and see you on the way back…;-)

    Comment by gingerporter | September 30, 2007 | Reply

  5. Bobbie….walking is the best way to increase you lung capacity. If you can get on at the Y tell one of the trainer’s what is going on and what you can do. Also talk to your Doctor about it. You want to make sure when you start this that you will be able to maintain what you are doing in a healthy way for you….I’m proud of you. Make sure you let the doctor know you are trying to increase you fitness but have concerns about the emphysema.

    Comment by gingerporter | September 30, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

