Ginger

Life Happens……Especially with two boys (Updated!!)

You always hear of things happening but it is usually to other people. Well…my boys have gone and done it…….Baseball is not a front yard game.

The front yard has too many vehicles parked in the driveway to be tossing a baseball back and forth. If you stand the other way…..you then have the windows on the house.

I was talking with my sister and my boys (10 and 11) came inside to tell me something. I immediately knew something was amiss. My 11 year old had tears still hanging off his eyelashes. Every time he tried to tell me he would start crying again.

All of my friends know about my husbands special toy. It is his baby. We dated in this car. This car was the car I saw him driving in as I looked out the window from the computer room. Yes. I admit to noticing the car before the man.

Then one day I met the man. We clicked and 14 years, a mortgage, 3 kids, 2 dogs, 2 parrots later we have a pretty good marriage and relationship. He is truly my best friend.

How does a wife first, mother second tell the man of her life knowing the trouble this will cause that her sons broke out the right side passenger window to his 1957 Hardtop Chevy BelAir?

I will let you know later tonight when we get back from the rec center….Pray for us…..LOL……I am sorry but I laughed…..all I could think was you read about this but it is always someone else…..Not us……

Update to follow when we get home…….:-)

Well….I met the hubby outside of the rec center and proceeded to inform him that the boys were playing ball in the yard and broke a window. He asked if it was the house and I had all ready told him the van was okay.

He looked at me and I simply asked what else was left and told him it was the Chevy but not the windshield. Which was a good thing!!!! He took it well. He didn’t get up set. He said it has a piece of safety glass in it so it shouldn’t have shattered at least.

All is right with the world. The earth is still on its axis and the sky didn’t fall…..:-).

I am relieved as are the boys…..who were waiting for me inside. I gave them the thumbs up which was when they approached their father offering heartfelt apologies. He said we would discuss it when we got home.

Everyone understands that baseball is a backyard ball not a front yard ball….until they forget again. In that case they will be in their fifties before they ever see another baseball let alone handle one……..

October 2, 2007 - Posted by | Accidents, Boys, Child Training, Children, Family, Forgiveness, Growing up, Humor, Marriage, Men, Observances, Toys

8 Comments »

  1. Oh…no!

    Poor guys………my heart is aching for them………and the big guy too!

    Comment by chocolatechic | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks…the boys had me try and call you to ask you to pray for them…LOL. Your line was busy…:-)

    They are still among the living and breathing…..Randy was pretty cool about it.

    Comment by gingerporter | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. Oh, I’m sorry…for ALL of the boys! I’m glad Randy was understanding and didn’t get too upset about it.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  4. Awww, poor guys! 😦

    Comment by Donna | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  5. Thanks Guys…..Everything is cool now….I really need to post that picture….I will try to do that tomorrow….

    Comment by gingerporter | October 2, 2007 | Reply

  6. I knew he was a good dad before but this really proves that Randy considers his family to be more important than a precious car. 🙂 Good for him. Perhaps the boys can all work together to put in the new window when you are able to get it. They can also help clean up the mess that was made.

    Baseballs do a lot of damage when used in the wrong places but harsh words will do even more.

    Comment by Elaine | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  7. The boys actually learned more by their fathers reaction to his prized possession.

    Comment by Dr. Pepper | October 3, 2007 | Reply

  8. I am glad things worked out relatively well! I’d be so happy with my children if they reacted like that! Sincere sadness & showing remorse is a good thing!

    Comment by songbirdy | October 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

