Ginger

My Husband’s Projects…..

My husband has been working on a couple of projects for the kids.  Well, one was for him so he wouldn’t have to try stuffing the shed with all the bikes through the winter months.

The first project he did was a bike rack made out of PVC pipe.  Let me tell you that is the slickest thing.  He put a roof on under the deck to weather proof that area so we could store the bikes there.  Kids being kids don’t always get the all important kick stand down…..or they garfed it running into the brick wall because they were trying to ride their mother’s 24 speed which is too big for them.  It was last summer any way…..Now I am lucky if I get to ride my bike.

He found the plan out at Utah Mountain Biking. However this one is built for the gentleman’s truck and since it is PVC it had to be painted. My husband modified the plan slightly to increase the space between the bikes.  We needed more handle bar room and added on 2 more slots for the extra bikes.

Here is a photo of the finished bike rack sans bikes.  We also filled the PVC pipe with sand to make sure it was stable.  We also glued it together thinking the kids might jiggle it loose.

bikerack49.jpgbikerack50.jpg 

The next project had to do with Ancient Rome and Medieval times.  Those are the time periods we are working on and every boy must have a sword.  These are not historical duplicates.  We didn’t go out of our way for that.  But still a sword is a sword.  Every sword owner of multiple swords must have a sword holder.  The still need to be painted and some sanding done but the kids have had a blast playing in the back yard with their swords.  Shields will be following when I can sit and draw out a pattern for the Armorer to cut out.

The Sword-master Himself……..

swordmaster37.jpgswords38.jpg

A closeup of the swords…..

swords39.jpgswords40.jpg

The sword holder (unpainted as of yet, the kids are still deciding)

swordholder35.jpgswordholder36.jpg

Isn’t he just the handiest…….on top of all that skill…..he’s also a mean waffle maker when you find your self growing from a family of 5 to a household of 10 overnight.  We have 5 extra children visiting for the week.  My guy got out both waffle irons and made me enough waffles to feed 8 kids for a few days.  But….that’s a different story.

So you can experience what I am lucky to have, here is a little picture……

wafflebatter30.jpg

More on the waffles later…..along with how we have adjusted going from 3 kids to 8…..It has given me a greater respect for Mother’s and Father’s of large families and the skill it must take to not end up harried,frizzled and frazzled by the end of the day.

October 16, 2007 - Posted by | Just Life | , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Oh yum! Waffles!!! I think couples with large families have a genuine love and calling to it. Plus, I think we as parents adapt to a changing brood. Looking after 8 children is tough, but when all 8 are yours and you are free to discipline them and they know and understand your rules, I believe that makes it a little less frazzling.
    8 random kids won’t necessarily have a defined role within your group, 8 children born to you or raised in your family will. Oiy, ignore the babbling woman, she hasn’t yet had enough caffine. (I know what I mean….I just hope you do too!)

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | October 17, 2007 | Reply

  2. I understand what you are trying to say….Fortunately these are really good kids….:-)

    Comment by gingerporter | October 19, 2007 | Reply

  3. I love the bike rack, showed it to hubby and he was impressed, didn’t say anything about making us one though. 😆

    Great swords, I bet the kids enjoyed playing with them.

    I’m not a waffle person but your bubby is doing a great job making them and he’s being extra sweet too boot.

    Comment by Elaine | October 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

