Ginger

Husbands and Wives…..Couples Retreat

The trip to Williamsburg was nasty due to the rain. It took us an hour and half just to get 20 minutes down the highway.

The sessions are on the Seven Principles to a Good Marriage. I will post the 7 when I get all 7.

This is a small church group we are with so there are only 12 couples. That has made it a little more intimate as far as the group is concerned. It has been much easier to fellowship. We played the Dating Game.

Surprise, surprise….it was my hubby and I that won!!!! We answered 7 out of 10 questions correctly. Which if you knew how poor a memory my husband has this is a most impressive feat….I am so proud of him!!! Some of the questions were a little tricky.

The couples range in being married from 47 years down to 10 being the earliest.

The first five questions were asked to the men…..I only missed one, or he remembered incorrectly…:-)

  • Where was your first date?

  • What month did you first meet?

  • What is his favorite color to see you wear?

  • What was your most recent anniversary gift?

  • What does she do that lets you know you have annoyed her?

My answer’s were…..

  • Charlie Brown’s….a comedy club

  • June

  • Blue

  • Tea Set (Correct answer was card, flower’s and a stuffed teddy bear. He confused the birthday gift with the anniversary gift. Still not bad.)

  • Elbow in the ribs.

At this point we were tied for second place. It was now the men’s turn to leave the room and the ladies were asked a few questions. We got the hard questions. We actually made the Pastor change one of the questions……but I can’t remember what the question was now…:-(

The ladies questions…….

  • What was the strangest birthday gift you have ever received?

  • Where were you for your first kiss?

  • 2 part…Who approached who first? What was his pick up line?

  • What of his things would you like to throw away but he won’t let you?

  • What is the most annoying thing about him?

Answer’s are…..

  • Vacuum cleaner gag gift from the yard sale I never got, along with the tea set.

  • On the stairs at my apartment after we had gone out for dinner. (Mind you, we had been dating for a year and half before we had our first kiss!!)

  • He asked me out first. All he said was would you like to go out? (Original I know….)

  • Nothing (He said the things in his computer room. I really don’t throw his things away. He all ready knows what he needs to do and he doesn’t collect much so I don’t throw his things away without his knowledge.)

  • Burping/passing gas (He said his snoring. It really is the passing gas thing. He has this theory about spontaneous human combustion if the methane builds…..yeah I know….)

Some of the other responses from the other couples were hilarious. One lady got a toilet seat and there were arguments on the where they first met and first kiss question. I was tickled PINK when they said we won!!!

We won a gift card for dinner for two at Red Lobster.

The other game really surprised the Pastor and the men. Half of the women were taken out and blind folded. We had to stand in the middle of the room with just our right hand extended. As the men walked through the line they could only give us their right hand. We had to pick out our husbands. Their were two of us that went through the line quickly. I was one of them. It wasn’t so difficult for me because my husband was one of only two men who were as big and tall as he is. His hands are easy. Any one that had a hand that didn’t engulf mine was immediately passed over. The wife of the other husband got stuck when she touched my husband’s hand. Her husband was the other tall man with big hands. She did get it right but she had to hold hands twice.

It has been fun. Tomorrow we will finish and I will post the notes on the seminar over the weekend.

My husband really is a very special man and I am truly blessed to have him for my husband. God is wonderful……

How many questions could you and your spouse answer correctly…….without coming to blows….:-)

October 26, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Awards, Bible Study, Celebrations, Friends, Games, Humor, Just Life, Marriage, Men, Obstacles, Rewards, Victory

7 Comments »

  1. Honestly? I think Dh would answer more correctly. Only because he pays more attention to dates and things. But I think we would get most of them right.

    It’s sounds like you had a wonderful weekend that really affirmed your love for each other. Yes, you are blessed to have Randy, but he too is blessed to have you. You guys are a great inspiration.

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. I would be interested in the 7 points. I’ll be looking forward to reading them. Glad you had a good trip and congratulations!

    Comment by woundedlily | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. That was sweet. Sounds fun!

    Comment by APuritanLady | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  4. Congratulations on your win!

    I was going to send Dh an email at work and have him answer the questions for me. And I will answer mine and send them to him. I’ll let you know how we do.

    It sounds like you had a great time at the retreat. I think you and Randy are a great couple! You are blessed to have each other.

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | October 28, 2007 | Reply

  5. I had the husband try to answer these questions too. It was fun.

    Comment by chocolatechic | October 29, 2007 | Reply

  6. Okay Ladies…..How well did your husbands do? My husband reminded me that men do not remember things the way women do so he asked me to be gentle.

    It was fun…..We may even go again next year.

    Comment by gingerporter | October 29, 2007 | Reply

  7. We’ve played the dating game a time or two at Valentine’s banquets. I don’t think that we won but we did quite well. One question that I remember from the first game was what will your husband say is your favorite flower? I said he’ll say it’s a rose. When he was asked he said rose!! I told him later that while I don’t hate roses they’re not my favorite, I love the flowers he or the kids give me best of all!!

    Comment by Elaine | October 29, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

