Ginger

Boys and Shoes….Are shoes not as good as they used to be?

Two months ago, I took both of my boys shopping for new shoes. It has only been two months. I’m just not sure if the shoe companies are skimping on the materials they use to make shoes or my boys are just incredibly rough on the wear and tear of their shoes. I would almost wager you that it is a combination of both. My youngest has always been tough on shoes.

I have never seen a boy do what this boy can to a pair of sneakers. As is the tendency when learning new things, shoes are the breaks for skateboards, bicycles, scooters, and of course the all around just plain old kicking things in the yard.

For your viewing pleasure…..these are the feet of my 12 and 10 year old son’s shoes. These shoes are only two months old!!

boysshoes15.jpg

The left feet belong to my 12 year old. The right feet belong to my 10 year old.

A close up if you will….my 12 year old son’s shoes…….

oldshoec10.jpgoldshoesc09.jpg

A close up of the 10 year old son’s shoes……

oldshoesr111.jpgoldshoesr14.jpg

Did I mention that my 12 year old wears a men’s 9 1/2 shoe and my 10 year old wears a men’s 8 1/2? I am not growing small feet here…….

My husband was telling me that he read shoes designed for skateboarders were supposed to last longer and take harsher treatment. Well…..we will certainly see about that!! If you noticed it is the right shoe that shows the greatest abuse. That is the kickoff/pushing foot I am told. We found the Air Speed skate boarding shoes and are going to give them a try.

I don’t know what sort of testing shoe companies use to test for durability and wear and tear. I have two human machines that could probably put any machine they use to shame. If there are any shoe companies that would be interested in taking me up on this offer…we are available 24/7. We would even do it gratis if you can come up with a shoe that could outlast these two.

The new shoes…….ta da!!! The black shoes belong to the 12 year old. The camouflage belong to the 10 year old……….

newshoesc34.jpgnewshoesr33.jpg

We will revisit these feet periodically to show the progression of the shoes. Mark your calendar……will these shoes resemble the above pair in two months? Only time will tell.

I wonder what the average is for replacing boys shoes? I know my husband has to purchase new shoes every three months. He walks the tread off of his shoes. He actually wears holes in the soles due to the amount of walking he tries to get in everyday.

The boys decided they will duc tape the old shoes and wear them for boarding and save the new shoes for the gym……Yeah right!!!

I wonder if steel toed shoes would last longer?

November 3, 2007 - Posted by | Abuse, Boys, Children, Games, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Observances

11 Comments »

  1. I guess you don’t have any shoes to hand down in your house. LOL

    Comment by dietdrpepper | November 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. Actually, we have never been able to do that….:-).

    I might be able to take Colleen’s old shoes now that she is wearing a Ladies 11. But I don’t have to worry about her taking mine anymore…..LOL

    Comment by gingerporter | November 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. WOW! Your boys are really hard on shoes. Forget college, I think you need to start a shoe fund for those boys!

    I am looking forward to the results of your experiment with the skater shoes. My boy isn’t terribly hard on shoes, but he does want a pair of those!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | November 4, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m telling you…..We’ve gotten on Robbie I can’t say how many times over the way he walks and drags his feet. We have lectured on how shoes are not breaks. I really need to go back and add the picture of the bottom of his feet from where he pushes off on the scooter…:-)

    I will definitely let you know…LOL!!!!

    Comment by gingerporter | November 4, 2007 | Reply

  5. My 12 year old son wears a men’s size 13 shoe! If his foot grows anymore, we are going to have trouble finding the kid shoes!

    Comment by jodysgirl94 | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  6. Wow your boys are hard on shoes. I mean my boys shoes end up like that, but it takes them 12 months to achieve the same wear and tear.
    And how big are your childrens feet?! I wear kids sizes! (Just) Colleen wears a ladies 11? How tall are your kids? It’s offical, I am a hobbit with muppet feet. 😆

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | November 5, 2007 | Reply

  7. I will have to look into the skateboarding shoes. Charlie is very rough on his shoes. And his socks too for that matter….

    Comment by hs4hmom | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  8. hello, we found skater sneakers to be very durable and last longr then regular athletic sneakers. any skate shoe with a toe cap of either rubber,leather or suede double stiched.my boys wear 9 1/2 mens and are 13 and 14.they actually prefere skate shoes. dc shoe co. and adios are favorites of my boys.

    Thank You for the info…..so far we are doing well with these shoes. It is also winter and they are not outside as much with their friends. But still they are showing to be mush more durable. I will look for the toe cap you mentioned. Thanks again for the advice…We parents have to do something to keep these boys in shoes that will last longer than 2 months….:-)

    Comment by mike | December 15, 2007 | Reply

  9. i had a pair of airspeed shoes and they wore out right away they are too cheaply made. but than i got heelys and they are lasting a long time they are the strongest shoes i have ever had.

    Comment by THE MAN | June 30, 2008 | Reply

  10. I have purchased Airspeed for the last 3 years for myself and my family and have found they are better quality than most of the branded skate shoes that sell for $65. I dont skate as much as I used to but my sons do and they love the shoes, style and they last forever. Looking to hear back about your experience.. Cool thing is – they now sell Airspeeds on wal-mart.com

    Peace James

    Comment by James Jones | May 14, 2009 | Reply

  11. I realize that this is an old post but,
    adidas Kids Indestrux WERE the best shoe out there for tough kids.
    Alas They took them off the market.
    Then they had the adidas Little Kid/Big Kid Kdx 250 and 350.
    Again, No more.
    I am now at a loss for the great boys tough shoe.
    Anyone??????

    Comment by nashphil | October 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

