Ginger

The Day has Ended….

The day has ended.  I sat here this evening trying to catch up with my friends lives.  I always enjoy reading what they are up to.  These are wonderful ladies.

I like reading about what they are cooking or cleaning.  Some have organizational skills that I am in true envy over.  I know we are not supposed to envy so I will admire from afar.  They are witty and insightful.  Many are crafty.

They have each blessed my life in some small way that it would be too numerous to name.  These are ladies that I can count on for prayer and uplifting.  Ladies who will shed a tear with you and send a hug.  They laugh at me and with me….usually for good reason.

I was told tonight that I lead a very interesting life.  My life as a whole has been interesting.  The best parts of my life are when I have stepped back and aloud God to be in control and not tried to control my life all by myself.  That is usually when I get myself in trouble.

Why do we, in our puny little minds, think we know better than a sovereign God who loved us down through the corridor of time?  We buck at what He wants for our lives.  I know I have at times. 

We really are children in God’s eyes.  Many times we act like children.  Rebellious. Stubborn.  Prideful. Arrogant. Really sounds like some toddlers and teenagers I have run across.  I am only talking about adults here.

We really are no different than our own children.  How many times have you said to your own children, “If you just listened the first time?” “I tell you these things for a reason and don’t need to explain myself.”  You just need to do what I tell you because I do know better.”

Doesn’t God tell us the same thing?  Maybe I need to step back and examine my own life the next time I am lecturing my  children on their behaviour.  What am I saying to God in my heart when He is trying to say the same thing to me?

Just an end of the day reflection, nothing more………….

November 6, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Blogs, Child Training, Children, Christianity, Friends, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Relationships

4 Comments »

  1. Reflections at the end of the day….this is usually my favorite time to get some alone time w/my Lord.

    The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handiwork. Day unto day uttereth speech, and night unto night sheweth knowledge. There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard. Psalm 19: 1-3

    Comment by Sheri | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wonderful post! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

    Comment by jodysgirl94 | November 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. It is always a good thing to reflect on our lives and allow God to strengthen our hearts.
    I just wondered where did you find a quiet spot in your ever hectic life.

    Comment by woundedlily | November 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. I on more than one occassion have caught myself sharing scripture and character training with a child of mine and realizing I was just as much in need of the reminding. One time I was visiting a youth service and felt like the entire message was for ME and I am far from a YOUTH at least by the numbers. =) God’s word is true across the ages.

    Comment by Charlene | November 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

