Ginger

Dudley has to Go…He peed on my bed again…:-( Edited to finish story

It is ironic that I am posting this considering the phone call I had the other day. My friend CC has known about the trials we have had with our one dog. During our conversation we discussed Dudley again and I told her how well the kids had been doing in keeping him crated.

Dudley is a Pomeranian. He is a beautiful dog. He has the coloring of a red fox. He just doesn’t get it. He has urinated on my bed twice. He has defecated in my husbands shoes. His other favorite place is the laundry room on the dirty clothes. He has urinated on my books.

You can take him outside on the leash to potty and he will go potty. He will also walk into the house then go potty again.

We were getting ready for bed, lo and behold….Dudley has struck again. He urinated on my $150 burgundy, velvet comforter. Which went through the comforter onto the tempurpedic foam piece that covers the mattress. We have a queen size bed.

He has to go…..I can’t stand this anymore. It is going to break the kids heart. This is their dog. They love him and I am going to be the cruel person in getting rid of the dog.

This breaks my heart because part of me feels like I am being cruel to the kids. Dudley is such a loving puppy (4 years old) but I can’t take having my bed peed on again. I don’t know how I am going to clean the foam covering. I am to the point that I am probably going to have to through it out. I needed that because of the fibromyalgia in my hips. It is so painful to lay down on the regular mattress.

Someone out there please tell me that my kids will not be damaged psychologically over this and hate their mother for the rest of their lives. This has been an ongoing battle for 4 years.

I am going to have my sister pick him up tomorrow and take him out to my mother’s. Dudley is one of her dogs pups. Foxie is so old. Dudley is the only one left that resembles Foxie.

This is so hard to do…….

My BIL came by and picked up Dudley.  The kids are crying.  Charlie won’t talk to anyone. He’s closed up in his room.  Mom suggested emailing the Dogwhiperer and seeing if he had any ideas on what could be done to break Dudley and she would work on him.

They bathed him and played with him until Jeff got here…..We are all crying….It is breaking my heart to see them so upset but I tried and tried………………

Dudley went to my mom’s. My mom cried. She also doesn’t care if a dog pees or poohs all over her house. The kids were fine by the next day. We go out and see him. A week later my son came to me and said he was glad we gave Dudley to Grandma. She really needed him. He was also glad because we had done everything we could think of including consulting with Dog trainers and Pom owners. He even said himself it was a relief not wondering what Dudley had peed on next. All in all it was okay and the kids are fine.

November 11, 2007 - Posted by | Children, Critters, Dogs, Growing up, Heartbreak, Pets

14 Comments »

  1. You do what you have to do. The children should understand they are not babies anymore. If he can’t be an outside only dog then he must be a gone dog. This is what would happen here. This dog is acting out, in the wrong way. do you have any idea what he had to do to poop in your dh’s shoes, jump on a bed and go, it just isn’t what dogs typically do.

    Oh, speaking of dogs, presently Keiko is finally having her pups. So far a black and white party girl, a dark grey sable male, and a grey sable with socks female. We had one born dead the sack broke in utero.

    Comment by Ber | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks Ber….My mom keeps saying that we must have done something to make the dog mad. We haven’t. He gets to do what he wants….so I just don’t get it.

    Congrats on the puppies!!!!

    Comment by gingerporter | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. Honey, dogs don’t get mad. That’s a human emotion. This is a dominance/territorial thing. It could probably be fixed with a lot of hard work, but honestly I don’t think he’s worth it. I’m sorry. But you can’t have such a destructive animal in the house. And I agree that your kids are old enough to be able to understand this. And if he’s going to your mom’s it’s not like you’re sending him to a shelter. You all can still see him (I assume). And if not, again, he is not going to a shelter with an uncertain future.

    Comment by hs4hmom | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hugs to you and your kids. We gave away our male dog last July for many of the same reasons. The dogs were heart broken at first but then quickly realized hoe much ‘nicer’ it was here without the chaos and destruction.

    Don’t worry about the kids. They’ll be sad at first but it won’t cause any life long damage.

    Comment by scramsdell | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. I sincerely doubt your children will hate you for this. No one wants dog pee in their bed or clothes or books. They’ll naturally be sad, but they really should understand. Chances are, they’d do the same as you if they were the adult homeowner.

    Comment by Donna | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  6. I agree with hr4hmom, it is a dominance/territorial thing. Apparently Dudley thinks he is the “Alpha Dog” when it should be you. I had a Jack Russel that I adopted and he peed all over the Christmas presents under the tree. When he lifted his leg on the leg of my bed and took off the finish, I took him back to the place where I adopted him.

    Dudley will be just fine with your mother. Maybe you can get the kids a hampster!

    Comment by 4urpets | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  7. I have to agree w/the others on this issue, yes they’ll be sad, and that’s ok, but they’ll probably be able to see Dudley again and they are old enough to realize that having mom upset about having to sleep on a bed that the dog had done such a thing to isn’t pleasant. If my dogs had done this and my kids were pitching fits about the dog leaving I’d have them sleep in the bed, probably before washing the comforter and then have them pay for the cleaning, professionally, or replacement of the comforter.

    My former roommate, pre-marriage, had cats and if she forgot to make sure my bedroom door was shut before she left the apartment on of them would urinate on my bedding which would cost me $10 to wash – after the second time this happened a I told my roommate that she needed to pay me for this. About a month later she moved out to a condo her dad bought for her.

    Sorry you are going through this. Dudley will be better off at Mom’s and you’ll be a happier mom for your kids.

    Comment by Elaine | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  8. It’s not the second time, but the third that he’s peed on the bed. The first time G. found it when she got into bed. He narrowly escaped with his life that time.

    It’s not that he’s angry with us, he had steak scraps and icecream last night.

    The dog is just stupid. I really wonder if he has a brain at all. He will literally scratch at the back door to come inside, and then find some place to go to the bathroom. When we leave the house for any length of time, we’ll leave the downstairs door open, but he still goes inside.

    Comment by capitalggeek | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  9. Your children will not be damaged.

    This isn’t the first time that you have given him a second and third chance.

    Comment by chocolatechic | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  10. Hugs for you Ginger. You probably need them more than your DC. You will all be fine and maybe the dog will do better in another environment.
    I got rid of a dog for the same reason….he was a sweet & fun dog, but I’m not having that in my home.

    Comment by Sheri | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  11. Ginger, I love Cesar Millan. I’m sure he could tell your mom what to do, she just has to be willing to do it. I’m actually reading his newest book right now.

    Comment by hs4hmom | November 11, 2007 | Reply

  12. Aww honey, they will get over it. It’s just new and raw right now. And don’t let them use it against you. Allow them some time to grieve but put a limit on it. They can still see the dog every now and then.

    We had a very destructive dog we had to get rid of. We gave her to a young girl who was convinced she could help this dog to become an obidient pet. My little one was devestated. But the older two didn’t even realise the dog was gone. They continued to feed her at night for two whole weeks. We said nothing, we wanted to see how long it would take. So my kids weren’t very attatched to the dog, except for my little guy who still does ask every now and then were Sfirty is. (It’s name was Squirt but he couldn’t say squirt it came out sfirt, and so Sfirt stuck) But even at five, he understands why Sfirty had to go.

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  13. It would be faster if your mom bought Cesar Milan’s book than wait for a reply from him. I am sure he is so busy, he may not reply.

    Your kids will be fine. They are just sad because the dog isn’t there. Lucky you don’t have to go through a death of a dog…now that’s really sad.

    Thank You for the comment….You are correct. It would probably be quicker. We have gone through a death and Yes, it’s like loosing one of your children. It is even worse when you know someone killed the animal on purpose just for spite and hate fullness.

    Comment by 4urpets | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  14. Yes, we are in the same situation right now. I want to get rid of our golden so bad. My 10yr old is devasted,but the dog has peed on mu new Pottery Barn rugs over and over,plus, the dog isnt’ getting his exercise that he needs. My son said before we got the dog he would take him for walks everyday. That lasted probably a week or so. So the dog is just better off w/a active family. It will break my heart but my son will get over it. I told him we’d get him a lizard.

    Comment by Liz | December 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

