Ginger

The Season for Thanksgiving…..

It’s that time of the year again…..Thanksgiving. I can remember as a “young” girl when Thanksgiving was all about the Pilgrims journey and survival at Plymouth. That was the focus while in school. In case you are not in the know….I am 43 years young. I have to be young with a 14,12 and 10 year old running around my house.

There are actually two Thanksgivings recorded in our history but I can only remember being taught about the Plymouth Thanksgiving. There is one that even predates the Plymouth settlement and that is in Berkley Hundred in Virginia. I will not give a history lesson right now but it is food to search out.

Thanksgiving has become linked to shopping. Most of what I have heard has to do with what time the person plans on getting up to be in line for that big shopping day. I don’t doubt that there are those who may actually take the time out to consider what they may have to be thankful for….but our society in general seems to only focus on being thankful this one time in the year. Shouldn’t we be thankful everyday? Shouldn’t we be as thankful each day as we are during this season?

I am thankful for what God has provided for my family. I am thankful for the health we have and that my husband is able to provide for us in a manner that allows me to be at home raising our children. Am I thankful everyday? Do I lift my eyes towards heaven everyday and thank my Lord for the bounty we enjoy and even the sorrow we suffer through?

No……I don’t….I would like to think that I always have the spirit of thankfulness. But I am lacking in that area. We say grace during mealtimes…3 times a day. Thanking God for what He has done for us today. Bringing my husband to and from work safely. For the food that God has provided. We thank Him for the many blessings we have. Do we really mean it or has it just become a ritual that we do each meal time because we just do it?

We started something a few years ago that I am loathe to admit that the past couple of years we “hesitated” doing…..I know it makes no sense and I cannot elaborate on the reasons why we stopped but I decided I was going to reinstate the practice of our “Thankful Journal.”

We never have just a simple family dinner. Our home pretty much has an open door policy. If you don’t have family in the area or are single, what ever the case may be…you are most welcome to drop in. Especially now that we can actually sit at the table. We bought a new table that will hold up to 16. I have been known to fill the table and the couches.

I created a thankful journal and the only requirement to having dinner with us was your willingness to fill out a piece of paper. It goes in our thankful journal for Thanksgiving. The following year, we would pullout the journal from last years Thanksgiving and read aloud what everyone wrote. It was neat to read what previous guests had written and to also see the changes in what the children would write down.

My thinking is that instead of this being pulled out and done once a year….maybe we should take the time at the end of each day and have every person jot a line in the journal. When Thanksgiving roles back around we would be able to sit and read the things we have been thankful for through out the year good and bad.


Eph 5:20 Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

Mathew Henry’s commentary says this:

We are appointed to sing psalms, etc., for the expression of our thankfulness to God; but, though we are not always singing, we should never want a disposition for this duty, as we never want matter for it. We must continue it throughout the whole course of our lives; and we should give thanks for all things; not only for spiritual blessings enjoyed, and eternal ones expected (for what of the former we have in hand, and for what of the other we have in hope), but for temporal mercies too; not only for our comforts, but also for our sanctified afflictions; not only for what immediately concerns ourselves, but for the instances of God’s kindness and favour to others also. It is our duty in every thing to give thanks unto God and the Father, to God as the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ and our Father in him, in whose name we are to offer up all our prayers, and praises, and spiritual services, that they may be acceptable to God.

We are supposed to be thankful for our comforts and our afflictions…….not just for the good times and what we have. For the bad times even if those mean illness, death, loss of home and hearth. We are still to be thankful.

Col 3:17 And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

1Th 5:18 In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

In everything we are to give thanks….some things are not always easy to be thankful for but God still wants us to be thankful for those events.

This wasn’t an easy year for our family. It created so much turmoil and fear not just for me but our children. My husband had to deal with some very difficult family matters that have a been a continued strain for our entire marriage. The only reason we are together is because of the wonderful grace of God. Just to clarify….our problems were due to an outside issue with another family member. Some are aware of what we have dealt with but with out spilling the beans I don’t want anyone getting the wrong impression about this problem or my husband.

There were times I tried to be thankful for what was taking place and other times I wanted to be angry and show that anger and be and do in the flesh that which wouldn’t have been Christ like. With three younger pairs of eyes watching….my husband and I had to walk a fine line in how we presented the issues to our children. After 14 years it has been resolved as best it can be and it has had an amazing impact on our marriage. We are stronger and closer then we have ever been. There is even a light hearted bantering and playfulness in our interaction with each other.

I have so much to be thankful for….the closeness my husband and I now share. I am even thankful for the tears we both shed for his family. The separation hasn’t been easy but it was necessary for the children. I am thankful for the most amazing, Christian husband…..let me tell you…once God gets a hold of someone there is no going back….I have more to be thankful about but I will save it for another post….I have much to ponder and my heart is full.

November 21, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Celebrations, Faith, Family, Friends, Heartbreak, Holidays, Just Life, Marriage, Observances, Obstacles, Relationships, Thankfull, Victory

3 Comments »

  1. Ginger,

    What a pleasure to have another solid Christian believer stumble by and visit our Blog. We are honored.

    I appreciate your writings and commentary from a conservative Christian point of view. I will add your Blog to our Blog roll. Thanks for putting ours on your roll. I will also subscribe to your blog so I will know when you post something new.

    I am not sure about why the number shows above my blog name name — but it appears the number could be the inadvertent “title” of one of your sidebar widgets. You might check that. Some days I feel that number could be my age! 😉

    Like your choice of music.. Shirley and I have a difficult time finding good old-time Christian hymns. We listen regularly to Rejoice in The Lord from Pensacola Christian College on Sunday nights via satellite.

    Keep up the service for our Savior.. There are lost souls out there waiting to hear the simple Gospel of Jesus Christ and we believers are their only hope.

    In Christ eternally,

    ExP(Jack)

    Comment by expreacherman | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  2. You have been a source of inspiration for many, Ginger, and I among them.

    (((((Ginger)))))

    Comment by Elaine | November 21, 2007 | Reply

  3. I always enjoy reading what you have written concerning spiritual matters and that of the Lord. I am so glad that your family is doing so well with all you have been through this past year. God bless!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | November 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

