Ginger

Republican Debate on CNN

Last night was the Republican Debate with the You Tube format that was used back in September for the Democratic Debate. The general consensus at our house was that the Republican Debate went much better. There were a few highlights.

There was some booing in the audience a few times…..mostly geared to questions that were answered by Ron Paul and Rudy Gulianni. Fred Thompson and Mike Huckabee probably showed the best. Mitt Romney had a close call on the Bible question. The others didn’t stick out very well in my mind.

One interesting point that didn’t come out until the end of the debate, which Anderson Cooper apologized for. was the “Hillary” plant. A retired Brigadier Army General who is a professed gay man asked about the “Don’t ask. Don’t tell.” policy. The candidates all stated that they didn’t see fit to change that current policy. It was working well and it would be left at that. Surprise, surprise…..as Gomer Pyle would say….the General works for Hillary. He heads up a gay activist group that is campaigning for her. Rumor has it that there were a couple others mixed with the questions. They chose his question because they felt it was a good question. After digging a little deeper…..Poor Hillary.

Speaking of Hillary…..

I believe the question went to Mike Huckabee concerning the Mars Program and space funding. His comment was somewhere along the line of “yes, we would send people to Mars and he would really like Hillary to be the first one to go.” This is a paraphrase of his response but close enough. That earned quite a few chuckles for him. Including the hysterical laughter at our dining room table. Mr Huckabee has Chuck Norris backing him. Apparently Mr. Norris is a Christian and many think that because Mike Huckabee is also a Baptist minister, this has improved his numbers in the polls.

One question that was asked had me sitting here just waiting to see how Mitt Romney was going to pull this one off. Mitt Romney is a Mormon. As a Mormon his beliefs concerning the Bible made this a tricky response. He stumbled all over that question but not quite as badly as Rudy Gulianni. Mormon belief in the Bible is that it is the Bible as far as it is accurately translated. Any one who has had any in depth conversations with the Mormon Missionaries will tell you, that one question regarding the Bible is a sticking point. On WTOP today, the analyst from PolitiCo said he sat there and couldn’t figure out why Romney stumbled on answering that question. He was thinking to himself that maybe Romney had a beef with something in Malachi. It was later that he learned the Mormon Churches doctrinal statement on the Bible. They do not believe that it is the Word of God. Nor do they believe that every thing in this Holy Bible is true. The statement generally used is, “as far as this is translated it could be the Word of God. But only as far as the accuracy. But they don’t feel it is an accurate translation. The question asked….”My question only requires a simple yes or no answer and how you answer will tell me everything I need to know about you as a candidate. (He then held up a copy of the Bible.) Do you believe everything in this book? Is this book the Word of God?” I looked at my husband and said, “this should be interesting.” “How is Romney going to truthfully answer that question without ticking off the Christians and staying true to his Mormon beliefs? If he waffles it could cost him his Mormon contingency?” He squirmed.

The questions mostly dealt with immigration, abortion, torture, military and the powers of the Vice President. There were a few others but I don’t remember all of them. My kids watched the debate and were much more impressed with this one then the Democratic debate in September. We will have to see…….

The Iowa Caucus is in 34 days. There are a few other states that will be having their caucus prior to the big Tuesday in Feb. when the other states will vote. Iowa is an important state to win.

I’m sure if you are a news junkie, you all ready heard a rehashing of the last nights debate. I didn’t go into too many of the responses. If you missed the Democratic debate and didn’t watch last nights (Republican) you really missed out on some good laughs.

Who do I like as a candidate? To be honest with you I am not sure yet. I have some more researching to do……if I had to say right now….it would probably be a toss up between Huckabee and Thompson. I am still undecided.

On another news front…. If you take a stand on vaccines don’t enroll your children in Prince Georges County Maryland. Vaccinations

I have friends who don’t vaccinate. I may not agree with them totally on this subject but I do support their right to do so as a parent. PG Maryland was loosing out on too much money so they had to come up with another way to force these kids back in school.

November 30, 2007 - Posted by | Attitude, Health, Observances, Politics, Presidential Candidates

10 Comments »

  1. I missed that debate, I would have liked to have seen it.

    Comment by Donna | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  2. Romney was actually straightforward, in the debate you mention, by saying the Bible was the “Word of God”. This would be a Mormon’s way of saying it is considered sacred. The question by the person pushing the Bible on the screen at the group of Republican contenders was actually devisive in that religion is not a litmus test, but was presented as such. Did you know Harry Reid is also a Mormon? Do you really think that Reid and Romney can be so different and get their marching orders from the same head of their Church? No, each man, Democrat and Republican, applies his knowledge and experience to how he views the world and what he thinks will make it work best AND they are amazingly different from one another. Their religion does not interfere with their politics, but some people would certainly like to promote this type of mindset re: Romney to promote a “political agenda”. Last I heard we live in a society that is free and promotes how people can worship. The Mormon faith and its congregations are upstanding and devoted to serving mankind. Members belong to different parties and are expected to be contributing members of society. It is too bad so many know so little about something they so readily judge.

    Comment by Anonymous | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  3. Oh it was a good one….even the kids thought it was much better. I was impressed with what they actually got out of the debate. Colleen asked to leave a comment on CNN online since we viewed it over the net. Not having cable can sometimes be frustrating. I am glad we were able to watch it though. You might be able to view it if they have it archived on the website. The kids would like to sit and watch both back to back. I knew I should have posted a reminder that it was coming on….I’m sorry….:-(

    Comment by gingerporter | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  4. Wondering what was Romneys answer to the question.

    Comment by chocolatechic | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  5. OH, and in answer to Anonomyous’s statement.

    To me, religion does play a very big role in a persons politics. I, believe that abortion is wrong. Period. That is part of my religion, and it is also a very big part of my politics. Sadly, these things blend.

    Comment by chocolatechic | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  6. I have not watched either debate. Usually they are on cable, which we don’t have, and if they are online they are not easy to view. Now if they would come up here and have one I might be tempted to attend. If we are lucky one candidate from each party may come up but that will be someone who has little if no chance of winning.

    I’m with CC in that a candidate’s beliefs to mean something to me and will affect how I vote. I do not vote for those who’s beliefs are opposed to mine. One who denies God and Christ, no matter what else they believe will not get my vote. I do prioritize what I want to see in a candidate, as I know that the odds of having someone elected who stands for all that is important to me are slim to none at all.

    Comment by Elaine | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  7. I didn’t watch the debate….didn’t know about it. There are many advantages to not watching television and this is one of them….hahahahaha. I suppose it is good to see how a presidential candidate acts/reacts in front of the camera, but most of what I need to know I can find on their websites.

    Many Christian flavors say they believe that The Holy Bible is the inspired words from God Himself. But how many “translations” do we have now? How many translations leave out the saving blood of Christ or verses concerning the Trinity? Some christians believe in a literal 6 day creation, some don’t & mesh evolutionary ideas into their doctrine. Do you really believe that Naaman dipped himself 7 times and was healed of leprosy or that Moses & the Israelites crossed the Red Sea on a dry seabed? If one mormon can say yes, the bible is the Word of God and one mormon can say it isn’t, I don’t find this much different than many christian’s viewpoint of ‘yes, it is the Word of God, but…..’
    BTW, I didn’t know Harry Reid was a mormon. My sympathies to the mormon community….he has done nothing to serve mankind.

    I know where you’re coming from, Ginger, and I’m pretty much right there with you, but sadly, christianity has diluted itself to the point of not seeing eye to eye on the Word of God either.

    And CC, I agree, if your religion doesn’t influence your politics, then your religion ain’t worth holding onto. The Bible is our standard and all things we are to judge through it.

    The burning post debate question = Diamonds or pearls, Mr. Giuliani???

    I’ve read some about PG’s vaccination debacle. Regardless of where you stand on vax, this is a sad day for parenthood. Sheep without a shepherd: “harassed and distressed and dejected and helpless.”

    Comment by Sheri | November 30, 2007 | Reply

  8. IMO religion maketh the man. Everything we do is flavoured by our beliefs. You cannot seperate religion and politics any more than you can seperate religion and science. Many would try. And many will fail.

    I too vote taking that into mind.

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | December 1, 2007 | Reply

  9. Responding to Anonymous…..Finally….

    I had a response for you, Anonymous…..but my husband said it sounded defensive and that wasn’t what I was going for. Romney did well….especially compared to Gulianni who fumbled all over himself over the “Word of God” question. I don’t think that Gov. Romney’s religious beliefs would interfere and that wasn’t the point I so poorly made. Having discussed this with some of my Mormon friends, yes an Independent Fundamental Baptist can have friends of other religious beliefs, even they were watching to see how he answered that question. We, knowing all ready where the Mormon church stands on that particular point, were waiting to see how he would answer the question. It was a sticky question for him and he did stumble a little…not nearly as much as Gulianni. I was watching because if he waffled and gave an answer that didn’t mesh with his beliefs I knew he was just another politician trying to appease the public. Even some of the political analysts didn’t quite understand why that would have been a difficult question for him considering how well he answered the other questions. Yes…I did realize the question being asked was meant to be devisive and actually quite snide. Religion does interfere with politics when you see the number of politicians who have waffled back and forth to gain the religious votes. I vote my beliefs. I am not going to support someone who is pro-choice and a few other things that I disagree with…… There is more I could say….but I am not wanting to start a discussion that could go down hill. If it ends up that Mitt Romney wins the Republican Nomination….He will have my vote. I am not judging him for his beliefs…..just whether or not he could answer it honestly the way he believes. My comment was not intended to be derogatory to Mormon’s in general….but this man is running for the highest public office. If he cannot in truth answer such a question as this…..well.

    Thank you for posting your comment……I appreciate any and all comments as long as they are kept with in the bounds of a friendly discussion.

    Comment by gingerporter | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  10. For any who might be interested….http://thepage.time.com/romney-statement-on-faith-in-america-address/

    Romney Statement on “Faith in America” Address

    Statement from Kevin Madden, Romney for President campaign spokesman:

    “Governor Romney has made a decision to deliver a speech titled “Faith in America.”

    “The governor has been invited to The George Bush Presidential Library in College Station, Texas to deliver this address on Thursday, December 6.

    “This speech is an opportunity for Governor Romney to share his views on religious liberty, the grand tradition religious tolerance has played in the progress of our nation and how the governor’s own faith would inform his Presidency if he were elected.

    “Governor Romney understands that faith is an important issue to many Americans, and he personally feels this moment is the right moment for him to share his views with the nation.”

    “Governor Romney personally made the decision to deliver this speech sometime last week.

    “While identifying a venue for this address, the campaign consulted with President George H.W. Bush’s office last week about Governor Romney’s decision. President Bush was gracious enough to extend an invitation to deliver the speech at the presidential library.

    “The invitation to speak at the presidential library is not an endorsement of Governor Romney’s campaign.

    I would love to be there to hear this speech….I hope it is televised……

    Comment by gingerporter | December 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

