Ginger

My Sister’s Birthday…..

Happy Birthday Peaches……I even managed it in Orange ……:-).

3girls31.jpg

Left to right….Laurissa (25)….I was an 18 year old freshman in Bible College when she was born. Peaches (34) ….I was 12 when she was born.  Last but not least….Me (43). We share the same mother…different father’s. I am wearing her 2-3 inch healed boots.  My feet really hurt.  I wanted to be tall….she is normally taller than I.  I believe I might mention that in another place…possibly a few times…..;-)

My sister is 34 years old today. Her poor husband thought she was going to be 40 to which she replied she would like to get to 35 first…….LOL. That wasn’t a bright move on his part.

I met my sister the first time when she was about 7 months old. I only wish I had some earlier pictures of her. She was mostly bald with fuzz. She was peachy colored and fuzzy…hence the name Peaches. That isn’t her real name but she is only known by Peaches unless she tells you her real name. It would be a couple of years before I met her again. She was 2 1/2 when next I saw her.

She hadn’t changed too much accept she had a little more hair….but it was so blonde you couldn’t see it. She still looked bald. Sorry girl…but you were a fuzzy bald kid. Now you know where your daughter got her lack of hair from. She wasn’t a bad annoying little sister like some could be. I had one of those back in Ohio….she would wet the bed all the time. I don’t have a problem with that….unless you have to share the bed with her and you weren’t aloud to bathe in the morning….I would sneak out of bed and sleep in the floor.

Due to circumstances out of our control we were separated at the ages of 5 and 15. In case you don’t know it I am the oldest….well older than her by 10 years give or take….We were put in foster homes and since they couldn’t find one that would take both of us they separated us. It would be nearly 10 years before I saw her again. Her first two foster homes were not good. That is her story to tell. The last home she was lived at invited me to be a part of her life. We were able to reconnect.

She wanted to leave so she and our mother convinced me to apply for custody of her. I became her legal guardian at 26. She was a rebellious teenager……Due again to circumstances out of our control…we parted ways again. Our relationship off and on has been distant.

Until the past….ohhhh….5 years or so I would guess. She may know better than I….we are close now. When she ran away from home….she came here….when she threatens her children….she brings them here…..when she needs help with her daughter’s homework….she calls here….When she wants to rant about life in general…..she calls here…..When she just wants to talk on the way home from work or during her break….she calls here.

She is bright, taller than me, loving, taller than me, funny and oh….she is taller than me. I have often thought she was better than me in so many ways….she is the pretty one. I just look younger…(Had to get that one in…hehehe)

I am blessed to have her in my life….she is one of very few people that can make me laugh….when I really need to laugh….she can do it.

As much as I hated doing it….I gave her what she wanted for her birthday….I strenuously objected to this but I did it anyway. I gave her two shower heads. Yep…of all the things she could have asked for she wanted two shower heads. You know….the kind that are removable…..that have the long hose attached. I did also make her a lovely chocolate cake. She wanted a 1980’s theme birthday party….which she had….It was interesting. She had fun….

Happy Birthday Peaches…..Hope your day goes well and you see blessings for the next year. If you want to leave her a Happy Birthday, she is located under the “Family” category.

She is the only fruit listed……….;-)

December 3, 2007 - Posted by | Blogs, Celebrations, Family, Friends, Thankfull

7 Comments »

  1. You are so silly….a good big sister as well.

    Comment by Elaine | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  2. It is one of those silly days….you know. It’s a birthday…silliness is a requirement around here….:-)

    Comment by gingerporter | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. You know you do all resemble each other greatly, and I can tell that you’ve lost weight in this photo, You look great sweetheart.

    Comment by celticmuse | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. You are a “GREAT” Big Sis!!!! You just had to make me cry on my Birthday didn’t ya. I wouldn’t have u any other way. You and your family have blessed my life and family in so many ways. Just know that I Love You and Thank You!!!!!

    Comment by peachiestpigpen | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  5. Ahhh shucks you’re worth everything….you have no idea how much I love you Honey……

    Comment by gingerporter | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  6. The family resemblence is strong in the three of you. (My sisters and I don’t look alike even though we have the same mother. My other sister, who has the same father, we look alike.)

    I love the playful banter you have with each other. That’s the best thing about sisters. It sounds like a wonderful birthday.

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | December 3, 2007 | Reply

  7. Lovely picture, Ginger! You look GREAT!

    It sounds like you had a lovely time celebrating Peaches’ Birthday!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | December 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

