Ginger

My Life as I know It ….part 2

I am sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you my friends.  Those of you who were impatient and called, I thank you.

I went behind my husbands back on this.  That was wrong.  Especially knowing that I have all ready caused great irritation because I have not been very attentive.  I compounded his bad mood by doing this.

I did feel justified, but it was still wrong…..No, the axe hasn’t fallen yet because we have had some company and he really thought I was trying to have my friends run interference which really hadn’t crossed my mind until he mentioned it.

As most of you know, we had to get rid of our little Pomeranian, Dudley. If you don’t know what happened with Dudley, please click on his name and you will know it all.

Thursday night I had to drive out to my mother’s to drop some items off.  When I saw Dudley I was so surprised.  He had lost a lot of weight.  Mom had to take him to see the Vet and the Doctor told mom that he was starving himself.  My sister also told me that every time I would come to visit, he would get out and run after the truck.  My sister would have to get in her car to chase him down.  Then he would just sit in the window for days waiting for me to come back.

Zeus, our Pyrenees, was also missing Dudley.  I think that is why he was pulling his fur out.  My husband doesn’t think so.  My son was depressed over Dudley being gone.

My husband hates this little dog.  I must admit that he has not been my favorite either.  He has done enough to make my life miserable.

I couldn’t stand seeing him like that and hearing that he was running away and trying to track down the truck.  I brought him home.  I arrived home at 2am.  When I walked in the door, Zeus looked up.  When he saw Dudley he got so excited.  He hunched down on his two front paws and started to jump in the air.  He is bigger than I am and there is not enough room for him to be doing this.  They started chasing each other around the kitchen.  The two dogs almost took out the Christmas tree.  I finally made them go out side.  Those two dogs played in the back yard until 4 in the morning.

My son has been working on trying to break Dudley of his bad habits.  I need a bigger crate for him.

I am sure there will be some sitting there thinking….”That’s what all the drama is about?!”  Yes, it may not seem like much but it is a big deal.

I know that by bringing him home I forfeit any rights to complain about anything he does.  I only brought this onto myself.  It has all ready been pointed out to me that by doing this I am also not teaching my son that life is full of hard knocks and he is going to have to learn how to deal with it.  

My husband has every right to be “miffed” with me…..Now you know….Yes, it is serious.

December 23, 2007 - Posted by | Accidents, Attitude, Boys, Children, Critters, Daughter, Depression, Dogs, Family, Forgiveness, Friends, Just Life, Loneliness, Marriage, Observances, Pets, Relationships

8 Comments »

  1. I would probably do the same thing, Ginger. I don’t think that I could have lived with myself knowing that the dog missed us so much that he was making himself ill and that my remaining dog was missing his friend. I would have brought the dog home and explained it all to hubby. Yes, sometimes we have to provide lessons for our children and sometimes we have to show them mercy and grace.

    I agree and thanks for the kind words…..hopefully I can help the boys. We’ve been down this road before….I do understand why he is so angry with me….and that isn’t the only reason. Pray for that stupid dog. If the kids and I can’t break him…..he will find himself gone for good and I won’t be able to get him back this time.

    Comment by Elaine | December 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. I would have brought him home too.

    I wonder if you could get a bigger crate, and crate him not only at night, but every time you all leave.

    Thanks CC…..I am going to get a bigger crate. I talked to someone who gave me some ideas to try….We will see how that works.

    Comment by chocolatechic | December 24, 2007 | Reply

  3. I”m so sorry that you are still in trouble with your husband, and I’m very sorry that he thought you were trying to put him off. I know that you wouldn’t consciously do this but I can see why the husband thought you might have. I didn’t mean that statement to be so harsh, I just wanted to point out that life is hard and sometimes you must learn to deal with this. It is hard to decide when to be graceful and when you need to stand the line. Although with your husband upset, I might have had to stand the line. I hope he can come to terms with this soon as well as Dudley, getting his act together quickly. Have a great Christmas!!!!! My love to all of you.

    It didn’t come out harsh and you were correct. He will get over being mad at me…..It is really all my fault anyway…..as usual.

    Comment by celticmuse | December 24, 2007 | Reply

  4. I’m sorry that Randy is upset with you over this. I pray that it will all be resolved quickly for you.
    I probably would have brought the dog home too, but he would have to live in his crate unless someone was directly responsible for him all the time.
    I’ll be praying, you have such a huge, loving heart!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | December 24, 2007 | Reply

  5. I couldn’t have left him behind either. I actually would have hid the dog until I hugged my hubby and asked him how much he loved me? Explained the situation, told him how much I loved him, asked him to help build a crate, and to help set up some ground rules. Then I would tell him again how much he means to you (not the dog – hubby!!)

    It will be fine.

    Comment by dietdrpepper | December 25, 2007 | Reply

  6. Merry Christmas Ginger. I hope it all works out with the dog and there is peace and harmony again!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | December 25, 2007 | Reply

  7. I would not have brought the dog back without first speaking to my husband, because that is what our arrangement is with each other. I feel certain, knowing you both, that had you approached him with the situation, obtained a large crate, worked out an arrangement with the kids in the care of the dog, and had satisfied all that needed to be done first, he would have agreed. He loves animals and wouldn’t want to be responsible for Dudley’s demise. After getting approval I then would return and get the dog. One of our dogs became depressed and they put him on an anti-depressant for dogs. The dog became much better and then got hit by a car.

    On impulse, and without being able to get in touch with my hubby, I probably would be wanting to do the same as you. Ask him if you had made suitable arrangments in the home, would he have allowed Dudley back. With all the problems you’ve had with Dudley, in the past, I hope all will work out okay.

    You are so much like me, you have a compassionate heart. That is why you are such a good Baby Bear. Just a note from Mama Bear.

    Comment by woundedlily | December 25, 2007 | Reply

  8. Ginger, I would have done the same thing. I would have brought him home and just dealt with the wrath so to speak. There was no way you could leave him there and let him be depressed like that. You did a good thing and it sounds as though you have a plan. Hoping it will all work out for you.

    Comment by Bobbie | December 27, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

