Ginger

Odds and Ends…..A Rambling sort of day.

I don’t have anything of importance to say today….not that anything I say is really all that important to anyone but me. I view it as me talking to myself….then I can’t be looked at funny when I reply….:-). But for those who do poke their head in my front door and visit….I thought I would just give some highlights.

I have been staying busy. It is amazing how much one can accomplish when angry. My children are not in my good graces right now…..they know this. It will be resolved quickly I am sure of that point.

We have an extended family member who attempted suicide. On top of that my sister hits a deer and totals her vehicle. My sister is having to carry that burden. She is okay though…but this could mean her job, which she cannot afford to loose. If you wouldn’t mind keeping them in your prayers I know they would appreciate it.

My brother hit a deer and totaled my mother’s car. She isn’t happy. No one wants to deal with my mother when she isn’t happy.

My van is visiting the auto Doctor for a replacement steering wheel pump (I think, at least that is all it is, I hope…).

I only need to say IL’s and many thoughts will come to mind…..pray for my FIL.

I was fortunate enough to be invited to visit my Doctor today. When they think you are having a cardiac episode, they will move lots of patients around to accommodate you.

I spent some time being hooked up to the EKG machine. I had been having all the symptoms of a heart attack for about 2 weeks. Popping baby aspirins left and right. Indigestion….yuck!! I haven’t had issues with that since I was pregnant with my daughter 14 years ago. My neck is always in some level of pain….. so I just assumed the neck was normal growing old stuff!!! No heart attack….good cardiogram. False alarm….all though I do think it is funny to watch their faces when they take my blood pressure.

They see a rather robust lady and assume it will be elevated. When it comes back at 82/49 or lower, the looks are priceless. I can gage how low it is by how high their eyebrows rise. I just sit there with a look of “I told you so” on my face. The good news is that my heart looks textbook according to the sticky tabs with the leads that were hooked up to my chest. I have inflammation of the chest muscle. Costochondritis? The paper is still in the truck so I am guessing on the spelling. Here we go with another round of antibiotics. The way it makes your chest and arm hurt (of course mine was all left side) I now have an inkling as to how a possible cardiac episode would feel.

I have visited the blogs of my friends to see if anything new is going on in their lives. Left a word or two, just to say Hi….

I looked at some upside down tomato planters and a friend pointed me to a site that grows potatoes in tires or straw. I wonder how difficult it would be for me to find potatoes to start here soon.

While raking my anger away….I contemplated what seeds I would like to start for the backyard.

I have decided that I would like a moon garden. I all ready have access to a white with red center Rose of Sharon plant. I would like to plant that down my fence line. Create a natural hedge so to speak…..I can’t think of the name of the other flower at the moment, but I do have the seed packet downstairs. They are white flowers that only open at night time. They look somewhat like a morning glory. I would like to plant that flower along the bottom fence line. Now I just need to come up with something for the other side that will not impede the path behind the shed and fence. That would cause a problem for Zeus who uses that path to chase the UPS truck and all school buses.

After raking 1/3 of my backyard, resulting in a leaf pile above my waist, I was no longer angry. Just irritated. I did get quite a bit done…..and it afforded me the cooling down time I needed.

Here I sit listening to the beautiful music I have playing on my blog. I am also making whole wheat pecan pancakes. I am at least attempting to be somewhat productive at 2am.

There is something to be said for music. For me it must be a particular type of music. It must be music that honors God and not the world. It must speak to my soul. It’s soothing and uplifting. That is what I am doing right now….I am allowing the music to get my mind and heart focused on where and what is should be focused on ….. Oh, and let’s not forget the “Be ye angry, and sin not: let not the sun go down upon your wrath” verse that Paul wrote to the Ephesians. I hope to be in bed before the sun comes back up…:-0

There was one song in particular that ripped away at my heart…….

Hymn of Grace

I have found your holy place, where purifying waters flow.

In the river of your grace I plunge my stubborn lifeless soul.

When you lift me I am new. My life reflects the life of you.

I wish that I’d always stay and never stray away.

My mind is always wandering, my spirit wants to stay.

I have found your holy place, where purifying waters flow.

In the river of your grace I plunge my stubborn lifeless soul.

When you lift me I am new. My life reflects the life of you.

How could you forgive a fool who’s broken all the rules?

Yet you have forgiven me because I asked you to.

I have found your holy place, where purifying waters flow.

In the river of your grace I plunge my stubborn lifeless soul.

When you lift me I am new. My life reflects the life of you.

The line that mentions the mind wandering and wishing that we always stayed…..how true is that for many of us? How many times do we allow life to curve us away from where our spirit wants to stay. It’s not always an abrupt curve in the road. Sometimes the curve is so gentle and subtle. It isn’t until our eyes have lost sight of the Lord that we realize how far away we stumbled. Yet…all that is needed for forgiveness is simply asking for forgiveness.

It’s the constant drips in life not the gushing water that tends to bring us down the most. At least I have found that to be true in my life. We should always try to be on guard for those drips and not allow them to wear away at the rock we are to cling to. I forget sometimes that I have two houses that need constant maintenance and shoring up. I know that we are more apt to inspect our physical house and seal up the cracks. Keep the gutters cleaned out. Patch the roof when needed or replace it all together. How often do we forget to administer the same care to our spiritual house…….Our sin nature will actually cause us to justify the cracks in the foundation and the broken windows. The cracks occur when, as the song stated, our mind wanders……How difficult it is to keep our mind where it needs to be…You know…….the mind only wanders where the eyes turn. I guess the best question to be asked would be where are the eyes looking? Towards the Lord? or Towards the world?

By the way, that song is the third one on the play list if you should decide to jump ahead.

I apologize for the poor post….I just felt like rambling …all though I probably ramble more often then naught.

If you stayed this long you really need to go and treat yourself to a donut or a piece of chocolate. Yes…chocolate is a wonderful reward.

Have a wonderful day my friends and watch out for that curve in the road…….I am not one that can view the scenery and drive at the same time. I don’t know why it is….but where my eyes happen to be tends to be where I am steering. You may read into that what you will…..but I have learned that my eyes must remain straight…not looking to the left, nor to the right. Those ditches can do a lot of damage…………..

January 9, 2008 - Posted by | Abuse, Accidents, Attitude, Awards, Bible Study, Boys, Celebrations, Children, Christian Music, Curiosity, Daughter, Decluttering, Exercising, Faith, Family, Gardening, Health, Humor, Just Life, Observances, Obstacles, Organization, Relationships, Rewards, Satire, Songs, Teenagers, Thankfull, Toys |

8 Comments »

  1. Hugs!`

    Comment by chocolatechic | January 9, 2008 | Reply

  2. Just wanted to give ya a ((((HUG)))

    Comment by Bobbie | January 9, 2008 | Reply

  3. (((((Ginger)))))

    I’m praying for your FIL and that you will hear from him soon.

    Comment by sumijoti | January 9, 2008 | Reply

  4. When you’re up late you do think deep. I like that because you cause me to think, though it might be better if I were thinking these same things at night rather than in the AM when I’m trying to put everything together that I have to do for the day.

    (((Ginger))) Know that you are in my prayers and thoughts. Glad that you were able to get work done in your irritation, I have to do that some days as well otherwise I just might take it all out on the kids & hubby – not a good thing to do that much better that the yard gets raked, snow gets shoveled, house gets cleaned or the dog gets walked.

    Thanks Elaine…LOL….I think the uplate deep thinking part happens because it is so quiet. I remembered someone saying once that when our lives are so noisy that God can’t get through, best to make that time yourself then for God to have to make the time for you…..

    It has been productive and I feel better. There is alot to be said about accomplishments even if it is such a mundane task as cleaning out dresser drawers. Best to make the irritations productive and getting things done rather than taking it out on everyone else….:-).

    Sorry that I do this to you when you are trying to put things together……I’ll hold off for today…:-)

    Comment by Elaine | January 10, 2008 | Reply

  5. Ginger I have never heard of Costochondritis. You did great with the spelling, I was able to look it up (because you spelled it right). I hope you are feeling better. ((hugs))

    Thanks Donna….I hadn’t heard of it either. I briefly glanced at the paper while sitting in the truck. I guess my memory isn’t as bad a I was thinking…..I do feel better,thank you…. 🙂

    Comment by Donna | January 13, 2008 | Reply

  6. My goodness, I have been searching for this song for the longest time (Hymn of Grace). My dear, can you tell me what album this is from and any other info you may have? There is no info on the net.
    Most gratfully,
    Gaylen
    ps. enjoyed your post

    Comment by Gaylen | May 13, 2010 | Reply

    • Please be patient…I am trying to find it! For the life of me, I can’t even remember where I heard it from…I think it was a friend. I am waiting for her to get back in town then will check.

      Thank you!

      Comment by gingerporter | May 14, 2010 | Reply

  7. I found it!!! Woo Hoo…well the album anyway. Still can’t find the artist performing it…

    It’s on amazon…3rd track down if you only want that song.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0010GRIH6?ie=UTF8&child=B0010GLFPC

    Comment by gingerporter | May 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

