Ginger

A Day Out Part I…..(Warning Picture Heavy)

I am starting this story backwards only because that is the order in which I am gimping the pictures. You will actually see the ride home before you see the exhibits. I know…it’s like skipping to the back of the book. In this case …the beginning is the more exciting part. Unless you count riding on an escalator that is over 400 ft long. Don’t they look exhausted….!! We were so tired we came home ate a very light dinner and were in bed by 8:30. Even the big guy who doesn’t normally make it to bed before midnight and gets up at 4:30 was tired.

By the way….the metro pictures are not very good. Lighting was poor and they are slightly grainy images. It really is hard to take pictures on a moving escalator when your heart is racing…(just a little)

Photobucket

This is the escalator at the Rosslyn Metro stop. It is over 400 ft long and goes down 11 stories. According to the Station Manager it is not the longest escalator in the Metro. There are three others on the Red Line that are bigger. It takes 2:25:91 minutes to ride the escalator one way. Remember that…. 🙂 That was our first look……going up!!

Photobucket

Charlie was the first to brave that step. I don’ know if there is any one out there like I am. When it comes to stepping onto an escalator, I pause and watch that first step. I look even funnier stepping off….at least that is what my family told me yesterday as each one ran ahead so they could step off first and laugh at me while I sort of hopped/jumped off.

Going Up…up….up

Photobucket

Oh look!! We are still going up….and looking back (which isn’t a good thing.)..

Photobucket

Almost there!!! Yes we are still going up…..I can see the light!!!

Photobucket

Don’t look back when you are going up…..It will make you dizzy.

Photobucket

Oh look!!! Now we are going down!!! I was only able to take two pictures on the ride down. Trying to take pictures on the ride up messed with my head.

Photobucket

Some people are so impatient!! They are unwilling to take a 2:25 minute ride. They will just start walking down so make sure you stay to the right….with some people that is your military right!!


Photobucket

This was just a small portion of our day. One of the many things we learned was about Metro Etiquette. They will even announce it over the loud speaker. If you are not going to walk up the escalators please stay to the right so that those who are in a hurry may race past you. Yes, that is what many folk do. They will not allow the stairs to gently carry you away.

I would have not believed it had I not seen it for myself. But….in the Metro Tunnel, at the last stop before entering Virginia, is the welcome to Virginia sign. In the tunnel. On the wall.

Photobucket

We were ever so happy to be home. I do feel a Metro Field Trip coming on…..It’s like going to a park and staring at the roller coasters. You try the smaller one first and work your way up. I just can’t stand knowing there are bigger and better escalators out there needing conquered.

Red Line…..Here we come!!!

January 17, 2008 - Posted by | Attitude, Boys, Celebrations, Children, Curiosity, Daughter, Education, Exercising, Family, Family Fun, Field Trip, Homeschooling, Just Life, Obstacles, Photography, Sanity, Walking

7 Comments »

  1. Wow! The longest escalator I have ever been on that I can remember was at an aquarium in Chattanooga. Not sure how long it is though.

    Comment by fourhisglory | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. How fun! I wanna take that field trip with you!

    Jessica we rode on that escalator at the Chattanooga aquarium last summer. It is a long one, the kids loved it!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. I couldn’t tell you the longest escalator that I’ve been on as I think most have been the same as you’ll see in most stores. Perhaps the one at the airport is longer 😕

    I wouldn’t be able to take the pictures going down either, have to hand the camera to hubby for those as I’d be fearful of falling – fear of heights don’t you know.

    I guess that if you’re using that escalator daily you would just want to get off of it and to your final destination.

    Comment by Elaine | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. What fun!!! I must say, that I would have been having a hard time taking pictures and hanging on the rail!!! I have a fear of heights too! But, it looks great in the pictures! 🙂

    Comment by warrenswife | January 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. Wow.. I have never seen an escalator like that before.
    Very nice pictures.

    Comment by sleepymamma | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  6. Wow!! That looks cool!

    Comment by APuritanLady | January 21, 2008 | Reply

  7. I’m afraid I would get dizzy. I’m glad you had fun.

    Comment by Woundedlily | January 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

