Ginger

Tuna Fish and Sweet Potatoes

It’s the day before payday and here I sat trying to figure out what I was going to fix for dinner. I wanted something different. I knew I had tuna fish and thought I would do something with the tuna.

I have plenty of egg noodles. I had no mushroom soup. I was low on milk and had run out of powdered milk. I still have ground hamburger but didn’t want to do another hamburger dish…..so off to visit Google.

I thought I would see what is actually in tuna cakes. Tuna cake was typed into the search bar at Google and several recipes came up. I weeded through the recipes that required ingredients that I didn’t have on hand which didn’t leave me much to work with.

I found a recipe for Tuna Fish Cakes made with sweet potatoes. Now, I won’t mislead you into thinking I was wowed by the thought of mixing these particular items together. “YUCK” actually came to mind. I checked a few more recipes that were basically the same and they all had decent reviews. I thought I would give it a try………

I had to take pictures because I really didn’t think anyone would actually believe me. Those I spoke toย  who asked me what I was fixing all said…EEWWWW!!

  • I used 3 cups of mashed sweet potatoes. I took 10 small to medium potatoes and microwaved the potatoes. After removing the potatoes and allowing them to cool for a few minutes, I cut them in half. Using my grapefruit spoon I spooned the warm potatoes out of their skin. My sons were amazed at the ease in which this works with sweet potatoes and wondered if this worked with white potatoes. Sadly….not……that I have found anyway.

Photobucket
Photobucket

Doing the sweet potatoes this way is much easier then trying to peel the potatoes and for fun I included a picture of my itty bitty work space.

  • I used a 12 oz can of tuna in water. This was drained by emptying the contents of the can into a strainer and pressing as much of the liquid as I could press out of the tuna. The tuna looks like mashed up cat food to me and I am sure if we had a cat he/she would have enjoyed today’s recipe. I also added 1 small finely chopped red onion. The recipe calls for spring onions, I just didn’t have any spring onions on hand. I did however have a red onion.

Photobucket
Photobucket

  • The recipe also calls for 2 tsps of lemon juice, salt and pepper and 2 tsp of olive oil. I also added some parsley and Adobo with pepper. If I had some red or green bell pepper I would have added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup mixed. It also needed something to spice it up a little. Some Zing needed to be added. I know this now….the next time (surprised I would make this again?) I would add some cayenne pepper and maybe some Old Bay seasoning, but being allergic to both would require a dose of Benedryl in order to eat dinner. I can’t say that would stop me because it hasn’t stopped me in the past. This recipe needs some Zing added to it….just remember that if you don’t like plain.

Photobucket

That looks yummy! I can see and hear my many friends going…Blech and double blech!! Here it is, all mixed together…. ๐Ÿ™‚ .

  • I used my 3 tablespoon scoop to make my patties. The recipe calls for coating them in corn flour but I was also out of corn flour so I used regular flour. I sprinkled it over the patties while they were spread out on my cutting board. They do look quite pretty…….

Photobucket

  • I cooked my cakes in coconut oil. If I have to fry then at least it will be healthy. Coconut oil is very healthy to fry in. I place the cakes in the electric skillet set at 350 degrees. It took about 5 minutes to brown them on each side. I did give them an extra two minutes because I prefer things a little crispier then what they looked at 5 minutes. That is all there was too it. We had garlic noodles on the side and what was even more amazing was the fact that my children didn’t require ketchup to disguise the taste!! See I am onto you guys…… ๐Ÿ™‚



Photobucket
Photobucket

There you have it. I had to post this. I didn’t think any one would believe that I would actually prepare something quite so strange. That included my husband. He did wonder why I would experiment with something that even I thought was……..well……..yucky!! It received enough positive reviews that I thought I would give it a go.

The one child who doesn’t like tuna fish or sweet potatoes actually liked this dish. That says a lot when it is your 12 year old son.

Next time, more zing!! Yes….I will actually make this again.

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | Boys, Cooking, Curiosity, Family, Food/Recipes, Just Life

10 Comments »

  1. I N T E R E S T I N G ! ! ! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You know I am sure it freezes well. I could mix up a batch and freeze it for when you come and visit again….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Comment by APuritanLady | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  2. Brave woman!! Brave family for trying it!! LOL I may get brave enough to try it too!! LOL It looks kinda like cookies in the pics so maybe my kids will eat it! I LOVE sweet potatoes so anything with that really has to be good!

    Brave family all right….my husband wouldn’t let me fix his lunch. He was afraid I would experiment again….. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Rachel | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  3. You are amazing!! Much more adventurous than I ever will be…but I am so glad that everyone enjoyed your creation!! That always helps when there is a positive response!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement!!

    Yeah…amazing that I would actually go ahead and prepare something that even got a “blech” response out of me….. No problem!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by warrenswife | January 23, 2008 | Reply

  4. Looks……..good…..I think.

    LOL…..even though we ate them…..there is something mentally making me still want to go ewwww at the thought of mixing those two items.

    Comment by chocolatechic | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  5. The end result actually looks quite tasty. I may have to try these.

    Don’t forget to spice them up a little. That was the only thing they needed.

    Comment by fourhisglory | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  6. The end results look good. I might have to give these a try. Did the coconut oil add any flavor to them? We have noticed a distinct coconut flavor when I use coconut oil.

    We are out of sweet potatoes & tuna fish right now…they are on the list for next payday!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | January 24, 2008 | Reply

  7. Ok, Ginger, This is a blog question…not tuna and sweet potatoes! ๐Ÿ™‚
    How do you get words to come after your pictures? I can’t seem to type after I place a picture in the blog.

    Comment by warrenswife | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  8. I got it figured out on the pictures..thanks…check out my website and you’ll see the pictures now! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by warrenswife | January 25, 2008 | Reply

  9. I would never have tried that recipe! You are a brave woman. But I have to say, at the end, they really do look good. What did you serve with them. ๐Ÿ˜€

    You are going to think this is weird….but we have been sitting here trying to figure out what we had……and none of us can remember anything but the tuna?! Ummm…I don’t remember what I served it with…. LOL

    Comment by appliejuice | January 26, 2008 | Reply

  10. I am going to make them next week. Yummo.

    You will have to take pictures and post them for me…..don’t forget to spice them up a little. They are kinda bland as the recipe is written…. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by tessofthebellgrades | January 28, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

