Ginger

You Did What!? (Edited for the rest of the story…..)

There are moments I have to sit back and ponder……..children. I look at my three children and they are so different. Personality, looks, humor, likes and dislikes, interests etc. It is no different than any other parent looking at their children. The question begs to be asked though………

Am I the only parent that asks what planet their child came from……? I guess the better question or statement should be that they did not get that from me!!

I was talking to a friend tonight and we were discussing her closing date on her new house and the delivery date of another friend. She was saying that I couldn’t come to Ohio if it was close to the other friend being ready to “pop out her baby”. My three children are sitting at the table eating popcorn and listening in on the conversation (I always have the phone on speaker.). They began to laugh hysterically.

My 10 year old son was beside himself he was laughing so hard. My 14 year old daughter is sitting at the table just shaking her head in disbelief. I walked around the table to look at the 12 year old. He was clutching his face, to be more precise, his nose.

The rest of the conversation went down hill after that…………………..

I looked at my 12 year old and was immediately suspicious. You know what happens when Mom becomes suspicious. The eyes start to slightly narrow as you look around to see what is amiss. I looked at my 10 year old who was trying to breathe. “What just happened here?” I asked.

My eyes are darting back and forth between the two boys. I knew my 12 year old had probably just done something really ………oh, out of the ordinary for him.

The 12 year old just looks up at me, “Mom? Do you know how Daddy always says ‘Stupid should hurt and really stupid should really hurt?’ Well, he’s right! Really stupid really hurts!”

“Charlie, what did you just do?” I asked. Robbie is still laughing and trying to tell me but he just cannot get it out.

Charlie had a can of Coke sitting in front of him that had a straw protruding from the can. I am wondering if he maybe accidentally jabbed himself with the straw.

Oh, if it were just that simple……….

“(edited addition) I wanted to see if I could blow bubbles in my coke using the straw and my nose.  That didn’t work so…..I thought I would try to drink from my nose!” replied Charlie. ” I put the straw in my nose and held the other nostril…..then I just sucked it in. That really burns!”

“Charlie, you do know that coca cola can be used to clean a toilet along with stripping oil from concrete, Right?” I stared at him rather dumbfounded still trying to figure out what in this world or any other world would have possessed my son to try to drink his coca cola through his nose!

He looks up at me out of the most amazing blue eyes and with such an innocent look, grinning and replied……”Hmmm. I guess I don’t need the water to rinse my nose out then. My nasal passage must be pretty clean after blowing the rest of the soda out!”

I just stood there staring at him all the while shaking my head. I handed him more tissues while the 10 year old was still laughing. I warned him that I was going to tell his father and he just sat there grinning at me.

He learned two valuable lessons. The only substance that gets injected into the nasal passage is his Flonase. The second lesson learned is that Dad is correct.

“Stupid hurts. Really stupid, really hurts!”

I guess if I had to choose though….trying to drink through his nose with a straw beats sticking a bean up his nose and having it sprout. Try explaining that one when the doctor pulls the bean out of the sinus cavity. “Well Doctor…..I knew he stuck the bean up in his nose. But I just figured he blew it out!” In case you are wondering if I made that one up? Nope….the boy who did that will be 30 on his birthday. To this day, at every family gathering you will hear that story. Knowing my Mother…..she probably still has that now dried up bean sprout hidden away in some box.

If I hadn’t given birth to him……I would really have to wonder……


February 17, 2008 - Posted by | Boys, Children, Curiosity, Education, Growing up, Humor, Just Life, Observances

5 Comments »

  1. OH MY GOODNESS!!

    Glad my kids have never tried that one!!
    Hope the sinuses are ok.

    You know……I never would have thought that one of mine would have tried that either. Yes, he is fine……

    Comment by Elaine | February 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. The longer I taught middle school the more amazed I am that any males make it to 18. I wrote about some of the things my students have done a couple of weeks ago.

    I have to agree…… 😛 I had to go over and read your post on that one. Great post…:-)

    Comment by TheDeeZone | February 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Ouch!! What a lesson!!

    I’m glad that he is okay. 🙂

    Comment by Donna | February 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. On the brighter side of things we needed the laugh, even though it was at his expense.

    Yes….It has been somewhat of a bittersweet weekend…………..I have laughed so hard I couldn’t breathe. I have cried so much….the loss of a child. There is nothing one can say……….

    Comment by celticmuse | February 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. I had to use that line with my son this week…the stupid should hurt and really stupid should really hurt. This time is was definitely the really stupid should really hurt…and it did!

    Yes…Stupid really does hurt …… sorry he had to learn that the hard way, but I think with boys it may be the only way to learn.

    Comment by APuritanLady | February 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

