Ginger

No Snow….How Sad….

We were in the middle of a Winter Storm Warning….expecting snow and a little ice. The ice I could do without but the snow…..we are begging for snow.

I have friends who will think we are mighty strange. We love snow. I grew up in Windham Ohio. I know all about snow. Even at my age I still love the snow. I don’t mind driving in the snow. It is however, the other drivers that scare me. Especially living in Northern Virginia. Most of the people that live here do not know how to drive in snow. It is such a transient area with three military bases plus the Pentagon.

I am just as giddy over a good snow as my children. I love the freshness and silence of a snow fall. I love making snow cream. I enjoy sledding down the hill with my kids. We are sad today.

The snow missed us….someone is getting our snow and we really wish you would send it back to us. Typically in our area our good snow comes in the months of January- March. Well, February is slipping away on us so we will have have to hope March will be better.

The only consolation to this winter is that we have had enough below freezing temperatures that we are hoping for a low bug summer.

My husband and I often talk of moving. If you live in an area that receives a lot of snow….would you please let us know? We would move there….My criteria for moving to your snowy area isn’t much mind you. I only require a good hill to sled down. Temperatures that are not too cold. There is no sense in having snow if it is too frigid to play in. We must have four distinct seasons but the summers must not be too humid. We would like a lot of trees. Preferably not too many oak trees though. My son is allergic to oak trees. Please no day mosquitoes. We have the Asian tiger mosquitoes that are out all day. They go to bed and the evening mosquitoes make their appearance. I would prefer a region that does not have tarantulas. I cannot handle an area that has tarantulas. Sorry about most of the midwest. I heard all about tarantula mating season in parts of Colorado. My husband likes to tell me the story of walking to school….Fulbrook High School in California. A friend that was walking with him saw a tarantula and stomped on it. He heard a scream from behind him. He stopped, turned and looked. There was his little brother covered in tarantula. Nope!!! After waking up with the gigantic wood spider that resembled a tarantula…..I am sorry to say I can never live where you live.

We don’t mind wild life. We have guns. An average snow fall of say five to ten feet of snow in a season would be doable. I could not do Oswego, New York. Their snow fall last year was twenty-five feet. That is not fun!!

I would like to have snow in heaven. Imagine having snow in heaven and being able to run and play in the snow and not have to worry about mittens, scarves or hats. How nice it would be to play and run in the snow and not have to worry about frost bite or hypothermia. I am not trying to be irreverant but it would be fun to take sling shot lessons from David. Instead of stones we could throw snow balls.

If you have our snow…please make a snowman for us. We would also like you to go sledding on a really fast hill if you wouldn’t mind. A request has also been made for a snow fort or igloo. Please make plenty of snowballs. We would like you to have a rip roaring snowball fight in our honor. If you make snow cream make an extra batch. You also need piping hot mugs of hot chocolate for the children and tea for me please. Enjoy our snow please…….we will have to enjoy it vicariously through you.

February 22, 2008 - Posted by | Attitude, Boys, Celebrations, Children, Daughter, Family, Family Fun, Forgiveness, Friends, Humor, Just Life, Snow

7 Comments »

  1. I have had plenty of that stuff this year. You know that is a four letter word with me. 4 inches when I woke up this morning.

    Comment by celticmuse | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Muhaha…we actually got some of it. But I do believe that most of it landed toward Michielle’s direction.

    Comment by apuritanlady | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. we were sad too! I always tell my children….the winter is not over until we get through February! Well, I might have to give in this year! 😦
    About where to live…..sounds like quite a dream! 🙂 Close to heaven was what I was thinking about! 🙂 Let me know if you find that place without the mosquitoes!!! We have a hard time with them!

    Comment by warrenswife | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. Well, I have your snow. 6 1/2 inches of it and an ice cover to it. You could have it. The only good thing was that school was cancelled today. I had to go somewhere today and it was like walking on ice cream with that stuff that freezes on ice cream and makes a hard coating. Now, the kids love it. But, it is really hard to make a snow man in that stuff. But, I will try to get them to make one for you tomorrow. lol

    Comment by Bobbie | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. If there was a way, would send you ALL the snow we have.

    I hate to say it, but I am sick of our snow. We have bad snowstorms upon snowstorms.

    If only there was a way to send it all to you guys….

    Oh I really appreciate your willingness to share…..Oh that you could send me your snow….We would be happy campers here… 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by…. I read your stories. I really like that story…but if you could please do me a favor and write faster…. 🙂

    Comment by writersspace | February 23, 2008 | Reply

  6. :p

    I did write more. 🙂 It is on my site now. Chapter 3.

    I wish I could send you my snow. It is getting on my nerves here. 😦

    Comment by writersspace | February 23, 2008 | Reply

  7. I keep telling you to come up here!
    We have mosiquitoes but having a mosquito magnet helps with that a great deal. By coming here you’d solve several other problems as well.

    I want to come…..I am a mosquito magnet….I don’t want to be a magnet for someone else…..It’s bad enough they like me… 😛 Oh…wait! That’s why you want me to come Alaska isn’t it……..What other problems would I solve besides distracting the mosquitoes away from my wonderful friend…… 🙂

    Comment by Elaine | February 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

