Ginger

GIMPING a Photo….

The smartest Lady I know figured out how to add a border on my photo using the free photo editing software GIMP. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! You’re instructions made it so simple to follow Donna…. ๐Ÿ™‚ You are the BOMB!!! By the way…….have you looked at the matting and framing? I think the instructions are missing a step…. ๐Ÿ™‚

I finally had a few minutes to sit and play around with the instructions. I chose a photo we had taken at Assateague Island National Park located on the Eastern Shore in Virginia. I adjusted the white balance and used the color enhancing tool. Cropped and scaled the photo. Then followed Donna’s instructions.

This was so simple to do…….Now my friends won’t have to worry about me ever going back to black… ๐Ÿ˜›

Photobucket

Here are two more pictures that were taken on Chincoteague after a bad storm rolled through. The sun was just starting to set. I left one picture as is with just one minor adjustment. The other two were run through the color enhancing and I also tried different colors on the borders. I don’t know that I necessarily like them….? It alters the image and gives it a different feel. You choose….which would you prefer…..

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

As far as the color border goes…..I was just messing with the background color to see if I could figure out how to change it out on my own….. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it is interesting (at least to my eyes) that the different colored borders feel as if they are altering the color in the photo when the three images are exactly the same.

February 26, 2008 - Posted by | Art, Blogs, Computers, Friends, Just Life, Photography, Techie Challenged, Techie Stuff, Toys

7 Comments »

  1. I prefer the black boarder.

    Is there any way that you can resize the pictures to be a bit larger so that we can see more detail of the picture. It is so lovely I want to see more.

    Comment by chocolatechic | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  2. Great photos… I’ve used GIMP a bit myself. It seems relatively easy to use – I need a bit more experience with it.

    Comment by Paul | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  3. I like the o’natural look the best! ๐Ÿ™‚ But, I do like the boarder in the black. Call me simple! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I am thrilled that we are in the white again!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ginger is happy! ๐Ÿ™‚ I will read your blog more often! ๐Ÿ™‚ hee hee

    Comment by warrenswife | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  4. Thank you Ginger! =)

    The black borders look nice on all of them. The way the red border and blue border seems to alter the picture is a interesting effect.

    Comment by Donna | February 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. When we meet again I must tell you about another life experience I had on Chincoteague Island. The story is about my adoption by a family there………..
    Bill

    Wow….you found my blog… ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you enjoy reading…… ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Bill | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  6. Very nice, Ginger. You did a great job. I am going to have to try this soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by appliejuice | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  7. I love your photos they look so real, like I’m actually there experiencing the same thing!!

    Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Comment by Elaine | February 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

