Ginger

Tonights Dinner…..(Edited to add missing ingredient)

I tried a new recipe for dinner. We were having chicken and even though I own the “365 Ways to Prepare Chicken” cookbook, chicken gets old. I went to my friend the internet and did a search on chicken and honey. I found a recipe that was tweeked a little. It was so yummy. The next time I make this I will take pictures.

3.5 lbs chicken (I used the chicken breast tenderloin pieces.) I doubled the recipe so here is what I used.

  • 1 cup of honey

  • 1/2 cup of pineapple juice

  • 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard* (missing ingredient)

  • 1 teaspoon of salt

  • 3/4 teaspoon of curry (original calls for 1 teaspoon but my kids are not great fans of curry.)

  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

  • 1/4 red pepper flakes

  • I placed the salt, curry, cinnamon and red pepper flakes in my morter and pestle to break up the red flakes a little more and really blend the spices.

  • Mix everything together.

  • In a baking dish add 4-5 tablespoons of butter and put dish in the oven to melt. I pre-baked the chicken for about 20 minutes in order to pull of the excess water from the chicken so it wouldn’t thin out the honey mixture.

  • I poured off the excess liquid then poured the honey mixture over the chicken and baked for another 30 minutes. I also added the pineapple chunks. I would wait to add the pineapple until about the last 15 minutes. I added the pineapple when I poured the honey over the chicken and it absorbed a lot of the curry. It was still quite delicious. I could even smell it cooking from outside.

  • Depending on the type of chicken you use (bone in) cook for an hour at 375-400.

I served our chicken with basmati rice and a cauliflower/broccoli mix. It was a hit with everyone.

Well…..with the minor exception of the broccoli mix……….

My son’s plate minus the rice……..

Photobucket

My Son………

Photobucket

My son on broccoli and cauliflower…………

Photobucket

Photobucket

Someone doesn’t like his veggies…….

Photobucket

Photobucket

No one would say he doesn’t chew long enough. We are coming up on the 8 minute mark…..Hello….it was broccoli and cauliflower….How long could you possibly need to chew broccoli and cauliflower….

Photobucket

This child has always been my picky eater……but he has improved with age….. 😉

February 27, 2008 - Posted by | Attitude, Boys, Child Training, Children, Cooking, Family, Just Life, Obstacles

6 Comments »

  1. Looks like a good recipe. I will have to try it.

    Comment by fourhisglory | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. He’s such a cutie! Even with an 8 minute chew going on. K4 can chew forever if she doesn’t like something!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. The dish looks and sounds great! I will have to try it. Someone tell the boy that if you DON’T like the taste you swallow quicker. Only to savory the flavor do you chew like that. :LOLOL: Too funny. Life with kids.

    Comment by Ber | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  4. My picky one also can take forever to chew something very simple.

    Comment by Elaine | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. The dish sounds great..have to try it and see the reactions in my house!! 🙂
    About the broccoli and cauliflower…..well, I probably have him beat on the longest time to hold food in ones mouth before swallowing, or in my case spitting it out later. I went to a piano lesson with black eyed peas in my mouth!!! Had to be at least 30 min!!! I know it was gross!!! But, I did it!! Go figure!! 🙂

    Comment by warrenswife | February 29, 2008 | Reply

  6. YOU’ve been tagged! What’s on your desk?

    My blog has the details!

    Oh thanks my friend…..all I can say right now is that it may resemble what your L refers to your desk as the black hole…. 😛

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | March 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

