Ginger

Tell-tale Signs……

I am lamenting the loss of winter. Yes, I know I am crazy for saying so. We wanted snow; snow didn’t come, at all. The most we received this year was 4 inches? We wanted feet. I hope those who received all the lovely white stuff we felt cheated out of enjoyed the frolicking, sledding and snowball fights.

I walked out on my deck this afternoon; my trees had budded overnight. I have been stealthily watching the maples and the dogwoods. My maples have started before my dogwoods which has not always been the case. My backyard consists of red oak, white oak, tulip poplar, maple and dogwood trees. The dogwood is usually the first to bloom and the first to drop its leaves. I have one white oak that is quite stubborn. When fall arrives and the leaves begin to wither and drop, this one tree will not part with all of its leaves. The bottom half of this tree will retain the dry, brittle, brown leaves until the new buds force them to fall. Then it is raking time again. Those leaves are tenacious.

I was not prepared for how quickly they are budding. It literally seemed liked it was overnight. The naked trees seem to be in a hurry to dress for spring. I don’t really mind spring finally making an appearance if it had just left the mosquitoes at bay a little longer. There was no need to invite them quite so early. The mosquitoes are feasting on my poor children. Soon they will brave their imminent demise and attempt a landing upon me. I will viciously swat at them all the while yelling “Die! Die! You blood sucking pests!! Take that!!” as I squash and swat. They love me, they really do. I shall take as many of them out as I can. It is time to purchase my annual supply of mosquito dunks.

Spring has finally sprung……………

My view as I look across my yard at the many maple trees in bud……….

Photobucket


Photobucket

Photobucket

The poor oak tree desperately hanging on to the last vestiges of fall and winter…..The maples branches are close enough to poke through the oak branches. The little spots of red are not from the oak tree.

Photobucket

I still cling to the hope of one final snow storm before bidding winter a fond farewell. I  feel it would be some what premature of me to say “adieu”.

Is spring making its presence known in your part of the world?

March 6, 2008 - Posted by | Attitude, Celebrations, Friends, Gardening, Growing up, Just Life, Snow, Spring

5 Comments »

  1. No. harumph!

    Sorry….;-)

    Comment by chocolatechic | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  2. Yep, the azalea’s are budding as well as the daffodils and tulips. But we are down south…not much winter here!

    I can imagine….by the time our bushes start blooming you will be heading into summer……:-)

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow, spring sure did spang (or is that sprung) up your way. I think you have more trees budding than I do in my yard. =) Maybe you will get a deep snow, you never know! Sometimes one comes when you are least expecting it. =)

    It’s really not uncommon for us to get snow all the way up to the end of March….. the kids are kind of hoping for a late snow….. 😛

    Comment by Donna | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  4. The temps up here may be showing that spring is near but I just don’t believe it at this point. I’m still expecting 1-3 more storms to come through and just really mess things up. Right now I’ve got an small pond and ice rink in my driveway at the same time.

    Comment by Elaine | March 6, 2008 | Reply

  5. Well, since we are in a winter storm watch spring is very far away. I would gladly trade you my snow for your spring, I’m sick of this stuff and snow is a four letter swear word in my book. Stop complaining, many of us would love to see spring. I really think that if you and the boys want snow you need to move to Ohio. Tell your husband to start looking for a job up here as I’m not moving anytime soon.

    Comment by celticmuse | March 7, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

