Ginger

Forgiveness……I guess this is Part I

There are times in our lives, at least in mine, that it is difficult to forgive. I have been battling this issue of forgiveness. I have been asking myself many questions regarding forgiveness and done some extensive Bible reading on forgiveness. It has taken me down several different paths and been very enlightening. I have struggled with trying to write this down. I thought I would finally attempt to share some of what I have learned.

I learned that it is easier to forgive when I am the only target. It is also easier to forgive when not being daily inundated with malicious hurtful behavior. There are times that I just didn’t have the forgiveness in my heart and I had to have God put the forgiveness there for me. If you want to know more about the ability to forgive and what God can do then read the ABOUT ME page.

Forgiveness is usually accompanied by repentance. Not everyone you may have to forgive is going to repent and accept the forgiveness you are offering. In fact, don’t be surprised if your forgiveness is thrown back in your face with another bout of vile malicious diatribe. You still need to forgive.

What can make forgiveness so difficult to dish out? When you are not the target but those that you love dearly. I am the target 99% of the time. My beloved ones have become the target and that makes me angry. Raging angry not just upset. Grab your Roget’s Thesaurus and search for anger. You can come up with quite a list of synonyms that would describe how I have been feeling over the past year. It has been building and building. When we allow the anger to build up inside, it is like the wooden block game of Jenga. When the wrong block is pulled the tower comes tumbling down. Anger has a way of doing that to a person….allowing the anger to fester and build will cause a massive explosion or a crumbling tower.

It’s easy to justify our anger. It’s also easy to justify being unforgiving. The anger that festers never hurts the one who has caused the anger. When we carry the anger inside it becomes a living, breathing, monster. It feeds and grows. It is consuming. There resides in all of us a potentially destructive angry beast. There is only one tried and true way of eliminating that beast. Don’t feed it. Forgive.

It’s always easy to tell someone they have to forgive. I have found as a Christian, that the attitude towards forgiveness is slightly different from the rest of the world. Oh yes, we are supposed to forgive anything and always turn the other cheek.

I hate to burst that little bubble; but forgiveness doesn’t mean we are to be doormats for abusive people. Nor does forgiveness automatically mean restoration and reconciliation are to be offered, for R&R to take place there must be true repentance present.

Up to this point I am expounding upon a purely stated opinion based on my experiences and several lessons learned.

I would like to offer up a few verses on forgiveness and some very profound (at least to me) statements that I ran across……I will finish this later or I should say see part 2.

March 10, 2008 - Posted by | Anger, Attitude, Faith, Family, Forgiveness, Just Life, Observances, Obstacles

3 Comments »

  1. (((((Ginger)))))
    It isn’t easy but the way it makes us feel when we do it is much like a huge weight being lifted off our shoulders. There is nothing like it anywhere.

    Comment by Elaine | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for sharing, you know that I am dealing with the same topic myself. God really does want us to forgive so that we can have peace in our heart! 🙂

    Comment by warrenswife | March 11, 2008 | Reply

  3. Forgiveness probably comes in stages. The more you understand the pain and the injustice, the more often you might need to forgive. You might find you are okay, but something comes and triggers your emotions and you need to take it once again to God and ask Him to help you with forgiving. Because you have been so unjustly hurt and now it has involved those you love, the process becomes more severe for you.

    As I grow older, and I am older than you, I realize that people are they way they are for a reason. I have empathy for those I have forgiven for they have not experienced the joy and the fullness of living an obedient life before God. They are the ones who have missed out. Unless they too, have sought forgiveness and asked for forgiveness from those they have wronged they lack the peace we have.

    It takes alot of energy to remain unforgiving toward someone. I know you are frustrated as it does not seem like there is an end to the actions of the one who is hurting you and your family.

    It takes a child of God to step up to the plate, and be the bigger person, so to speak. I’m glad God is working in your life. You are a wonderful person, as well as a great Mom and wife. Don’t allow anyone to take away the joy you have in these areas.

    Mama Bear

    Comment by Woundedlily | March 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

