Ginger

Only With My Family……

My family is known for doing weird things. I must credit this to my husband’s odd sense of humor. You never know what is going to take place….whether it’s jello made in a brain mold with gummy worms for a birthday party, water bottle fights or arguments over the mundane to the serious. One thing it isn’t, is dull.

One of our dinner requirements is a salad before dinner. I don’t use the ice berg lettuce. It is usually the Mediterranean mix or the radicchio with dandelion leaves and some romaine but not just a plain old ice berg lettuce salad. The kids have looked through the salads to try and identify the various leaves. They recognized the dandelion leaves as the weed that thrives in most yards.

Tonight was no different. Monday is pizza night. My two sons asked if they could fix my salad. They thought they were being sneaky and cute of course. They presented my salad to me…..most of which I recognized as grass and dandelion leaves from our front yard. Yes they took my bowl outside and picked through the yard to see what they could come up with…..

It was a pretty salad. One of the weeds I do not recognize so wouldn’t eat….well….I actually wouldn’t eat any of it….I don’t know what neighborhood cat,dog or dear might have walked through that patch of yard. My boys looked so indignant while informing me that they had a most difficult time trying to find enough dandelions at this time of the year. The roots on the grass didn’t look all that appetizing either. It was all in good fun.

I thought I would share my salad.

Photobucket

The other item of interest is my husband. He is a strange bird but I love him. He has the most unique sense of humor. He is attending a hearing at the Supreme Court tomorrow in Washington D.C.. He has written a piece about the particular case that is being brought before the United States Supreme Court at his blog.

He is also your typical man who HATES to wear a tie. He is going to wear his nice black suit with his red,white and blue tye died, 100% cotton, button down collar shirt with a black tie. He will be sporting his rayban sunglasses. The reporters are always willing to put on camera the unkempt men with t’shirts that don’t cover their overhang.

Who knows….they might take one look at him and think they have a live one……wait till he speaks… πŸ™‚

Photobucket

The other two choices are……

Photobucket
Photobucket

Yep, we are an odd bunch over here.

March 17, 2008 - Posted by | Attitude, Boys, Children, Cooking, Education, Family, Guns, Hubby's Blog, Humor, Just Life, Men, Organization, Spring

6 Comments »

  1. Well, I’ll be watching the news to see if he gets the attention of the media πŸ˜‰ I’ll then be able to proclaim to the world that I know his wife πŸ˜†

    I have to admit that I wouldn’t mind being in the gallery for that argument. I read his blog this AM and tried to reply but for some reason my internet connection has been having serious issues today πŸ‘Ώ so my reply never made it. I’ll try again later. Please ask him to post about being there for those of us unable to go but are anxiously waiting for the judgment. I’m on the same side as you all so he doesn’t have to worry about flaming.

    Tomorrow they argue the case….the actual decision won’t come down for at least 4 months.

    Comment by Elaine | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. ROTFLOL!!! That is a splendid salad and so fancy with that Dead Nettle standing up in the center. πŸ˜‰ It’s good to know that you are getting your salad greens. πŸ˜€

    I like your hubby’s shirt. It’s kind of like a power shirt as opposed to a power tie. πŸ˜‰

    Dead nettle….? I was wondering what that was and not knowing I wasn’t going to eat it… πŸ™‚ That’s what he said….no dif in some one wearing a tie that was on the wild side….He is just making it the shirt instead…… πŸ˜›

    Comment by Donna | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. That is a nice looking salad, but I agree with you about not eating it. Those roots don’t look too appetizing!

    I like his choice of outfits! The tie dye shirt w/ tie is GREAT! He looks stunning in the black suit/shirt & red tie! I agree with you about the gun law/right to bear arms. Why does the government have to assume the role of “parent” for everyone!? I’d love to sit in the court and hear the case/argument!

    The boys certainly enjoyed fixing that salad for Me…. πŸ˜› I like my greens rinsed and rootless for the most part……

    He likes the Johnny Cash look….. πŸ˜‰ He is veery excited about going tomorrow….if he wasn’t leaving so early we would tag along…..but he is leaving us at home… 😦 πŸ˜‰

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  4. OH! I forgot to say…
    I haven’t seen you posting much lately. Is everything ok? I miss “hearing” from you, my friend!

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | March 17, 2008 | Reply

  5. wow, Ginger, some salad!!! πŸ™‚ and Some husband!! πŸ™‚ you all crack me up sometimes! I will like to hear how things go at the hearing though! Never a dull moment in the Porter house, huh! Same thing at our house too…..I am just not brave enough to advertise it all I guess! πŸ™‚ hee hee πŸ™‚ God is good to us to give us families that we can enjoy life together with. Simple pleasures bring such joy and laughter! πŸ™‚

    Comment by warrenswife | March 18, 2008 | Reply

  6. you have very creative children thats for sure!!

    Comment by sleepymamma | March 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

