Ginger

Zoo Part 3 ( Yes, I’m sorry…more pictures.)

I did mention in part 1 that we got lost trying to find the Zoo. We somehow managed to get turned around in the Zoo and never made it to the top half. I am not going to admit to being lost in the Zoo, but my husband would tell you so.

Due to our parking situation we entered the Zoo from the bottom entrance. The Zoo is a giant hill. Take my word for it. We ended up leaving the Zoo from the bottom entrance. The rest of the photos are dealing with exiting the zoo and trying to leave D.C.

For my chocolate loving friends, you will be pleased to note, that the Zoo has an M&M vending machine. Next to that is the Dippin’ Dots freeze dried ice cream. I tried that once. It is yummy but very odd eating ice cream that reminds you of styro foam beads.

You will also note the rather tired look on my daughters face. She thought we were lagging behind and she was…..tired!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I just thought this was a pretty path up to someones house. All of the homes on the bottom half of this hill have this type stairway to the owner’s front porch. You can see in the above picture how the yards level out as you walk towards the top part of the hill.

Photobucket

Photobucket

We drove by the National Cathedral on our way out…sorry that was the best picture I could get from the moving car. My husband wouldn’t slow down for me…….

Photobucket

Yes. It’s a pig.

Photobucket

Typical D.C. traffic and parking signs.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Lincoln Memorial as we are heading out of D.C.

Photobucket

Photobucket

If you visit Washington D.C., make sure you have a backup pair of shoes. We walked up hill and down hill several times. We walked so much that my poor son wore holes in the bottom of his shoe. The sole was wearing down but when we arrived at home; he pulled of his shoe and looked at me sadly. I felt horrible. I had no idea he had worn the bottoms down and then our walk just finished off the shoe. Not to mention the hole he wore in his new sock. We went out the very next day and bought the boy some new shoes.

Photobucket

Photobucket

March 28, 2008 - Posted by | Boys, Children, Critters, Daughter, Exercising, Family, Family Fun, Field Trip, Just Life, Observances, Spring, Walking, Wash D.C. Zoo, Wild Animals

7 Comments »

  1. I like the second parking sign picture. 😀

    Comment by birdwhisperer | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. boys sure are rough on shoes aren’t they? I know my Ace is rough on socks as well as his shoes.

    Comment by celticmuse | March 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. Wow- you know you are good when a pic from a moving car turns out so great. LOL

    Poor kid walking the soles off his shoes!!! 🙂

    Comment by donnamichelle | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. Oh- and I forgot-

    I SOOOO want that M&M vending machine!

    That is going on my Christmas list. LOL

    Comment by donnamichelle | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. I loved the vending machines 😀

    Love the stairs but wouldn’t want them due to what they’d be like in snow or ice.

    I feel bad for your son wearing out his shoe and sock like that. Glad you were able to get him a new pair. You need to buy stock in a shoe company so that you’ll get some kind of a return on the investment of buying so many shoes 😆

    Comment by Elaine | March 29, 2008 | Reply

  6. Vending machines with M&M’s?
    Take away that temptation, please …

    That sure must have been a huge walking to put your son’s shoes and sock like that … poor old lad …

    Thank you for visiting. Please come back any time you want.

    Comment by Quintarantino | March 31, 2008 | Reply

  7. I’ll have to look at all the pictures when I can get to Panera Bread, too picture heavy for me to wait on dial up. I saw some of the pictures and I’m glad Randy came and got you. In order to take an additional pair of shoes you might want to see if you can buy one and get the second pair free. Love your blogs.

    Mama Bear

    Comment by woundedlily | March 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

