Ginger

Today is Special……

Today is special for two reasons……….

Reason #1……It’s my birthday.  I am 44 today.

Reason #2……Today is the National Day of Prayer.

Growing In Grace online magazine is sponsoring a 20 day Prayer Challenge. Check it out and sign up if you would like.  My daughter and I have both signed up and will also be including the boys.

The magazine is an online Christian magazine for young girls.  I like what I have read so far.  If you have daughters, check it out.

Have a great day….My husband has taken the day off and the kids and I will be doing something ( not sure what???).  We are going to piano this afternoon but not for piano.  We are going to be lazy and just have some fellowship.  I know my friend and her children did something special for me today so we are going to be lazy and just have some fun.

I also share this day with my Uncle Buddy and my adopted mom and sister Wounded Lilly. Those who know her drop by and leave her some cheer for the day…..it would tickle her pink.  Her link is in my sidebar under family!!!

My birth or actually my naming caused an uproar in my family.  My great uncle was born on May 1st as was my Uncle.  Since my great uncle died at 16 from Leukemia, my grandmother named my uncle after her beloved brother.  When I was born on May 1st, she expected my mother to name me something along the same line as my two uncles.  They shared the name of Don….well my mother had other ideas.  She loved Fred Astaire and Ginger Rodgers.  She named me Ginger.

It is not my nickname. It is plain and simple. Just Ginger.  You wouldn’t believe the number of people out in the world who cannot spell Ginger.  I have seen it spelled with a “J”.  I could almost understand that one because the “g” has the “j” sound.  I really don’t get it though…….

I had to grow into my name.  I didn’t like it for the longest time.  I am a Ginger.  It suits me.  I couldn’t imagine my name being anything but Ginger. It does make it difficult to find any type of fob with my name.  It is also difficult to find “Colleen”, which is my daughter’s name.

I guess that makes us even more unique.

“Happy Birthday” to me, from me.  My children fixed eggs for me this morning.  My neighbor brought over a BIG bowl of home made guacamole just for me… 🙂 My sister left me the most touching birthday wish on her blog…Peachiest Pig Pen…(The link is under family if you want to read it.) My daughter left me a message on her blog.

I’ve had lots of well wishes this morning, including a wake up call with 6 kids singing to me and my lovely friends from a couple of forums I am on have sent me lots of well wishes to day.  I am truly blessed.

Thank you to all my friends and especially my family for wanting to make this day special for me.

May 1, 2008 - Posted by | Just Life

7 Comments »

  1. Happy Birthday Ginger!!

    Comment by seeker86 | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM!!! ❤

    I will start baking your cookies when your gifties get here, then I can mail them to you all at once 😀

    G~is for your gentle nature
    I~is for intelligence
    N~is for nurturing heart
    G~is for your generosity you have shown me
    E~is for encouraging words you have shared with me
    R~is for the reward your friendship has been to me ❤

    I love you Ma!!

    Ahhhh…that was so sweet….<3 You and my sister have both brought me to tears today. Thank you so much….(((Daughter of mine)))

    Comment by heathertopia | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. Happy Birthday, Ginger! Your days sounds really special!

    I agree with Heather’s dedication to you. It suits you! You are a very special friend. I am so thankful we have had the opportunity to meet & visit. (((Ginger)))

    Comment by missplacedalaskan | May 1, 2008 | Reply

  4. Happy birthday Ginger! You are a special person and friend! 🙂 I hope that you had a wonderful day! I think that the Ginger Acrostic is very suited to you too! I couldn’t have said it any better! ((Ginger))

    Comment by warrenswife | May 2, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks for announcing GGM! We appreciate all your support and comments!

    The Prayer Challenge actually wasn’t hosted by GGM. My friend Miss Kylie and I were running that and it started YESTERDAY!! You can check it out here: http://aponderingheart.com/blog/?p=429

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, btw, I hope it was a splendid day!

    Blessings!
    Miss Jocelyn
    http://aponderingheart.com
    http://growingingraceonline.com

    Comment by Miss Jocelyn | May 2, 2008 | Reply

  6. 😯
    I thought for sure I had replied to this post. 😳
    I completely agree w/what Heather posted except you’re not my “ma” more like slightly older sister 😉 I hope that you had a wonderful day.

    That’s okay….I think you posted on the other group. Thank you…..Yes…I think of you more as a sister instead of a daughter…. 😉

    Comment by Elaine | May 6, 2008 | Reply

  7. Well, sorry it has taken me so long to get around to reading and catching up on blogs, but I hope you had a special day. I would have liked to wish you happy birthday in person, but, as you know, while you were fellowshipping at my house, I had fallen asleep…on the wrong bus….and my wife had to come get me. I hope it was a happier day for you than it was for me! 🙂

    Comment by Blogmaster | May 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

